Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 12:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Puppy can't use Xircom RBM56G Cardbus Modem
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
sanjoeel

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 11:08    Post subject:  Puppy can't use Xircom RBM56G Cardbus Modem  

Hi everyone. First, let me say that I am pretty much a linux noob. But, I am learning fast and currently use Ubuntu as my sole desktop OS, so I'm not a TOTAL noob hahaha. Laughing I am trying to revive my old IBM Thinkpad 380XD and it's sole purpose will be a dial-up web surfer. It's for my mom, and she can only get dial-up where she lives (middle of nowhere). At the suggestion of the good folks over at the ubuntu forums I have installed Puppy on this dinosaur. I do want to say that it was a very painless install and the OS seems to run very fast and looks great. However, I can't get it to dial up. I have a Xircom RBM56G Cardbus modem. Can you guys please help me get this set up to dial-up to the net? I (and especially my mom) would be very grateful. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmm

Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 12:53    Post subject:  

Sanjoeel,

I can't help you with this one other than say that your modem should work with Puppy. See the following thread.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=18068

I have a similar modem REM56G-100. I just used the modem wizard selected /dev/ttyS3, and used Gkdial to set up a connection (connection name, phone number, user name, password).

I hope this helps.

Regards,

mmm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sanjoeel

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 15:55    Post subject:  

Thanks, mmm. I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. I have run the wiz and tried every port, even the ones that don't detect a modem, and still nothing. This is driving me crazy. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 18:21    Post subject:  

I have a RBM56G and after chosing ttyS1 it dials up. As mentioned on other thread, it does have couple quirks but no problem after fresh install via the wizard.

I wonder if you are having some problem with PCMCIA cardbus rather than the card, assuming you know the card to be good. Have you tried any other PCMCIA cards? I used to have an ancient P-1 AST laptop with an unusual pcmcia bus. Puppy with 2.4 kernel didnt support it and Barry never got around to compiling support into the 2.4 kernel though it was available. DamnSmall had version with support compiled into it. I was just never real fond of Damn Small. Puppy with 2.6 kernel had pcmcia support, but for whatever reason the video chip then caused problems. Screen getting faded so upgraded to a "modern" P-2 laptop where everything works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sanjoeel

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 23:44    Post subject:  

Well, I ran Damn Small and can't dial up either. It's possible that there's a problem with the card or the cardbus. Is there a way to determine this? . It worked in the past with no problems. Is there anyway I can test it or something? When I try to dial up I don't even hear it trying to establish a connection, and the little green lights don't light up. I have not tried any other cards yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2007, 01:10    Post subject:  

Check if the PCMCIA system recognises your device with these 2 commands -

cardctl status
cardctl ident

Also try resetting the PCMCIA interface, as explained here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=31707#31707

And I see some vague references on the web that the Xircom RBM56G is supported by the serial_cs module. I suggest you run "lsmod" to see if this module is loaded. If not, try to manually load it with "modprobe serial_cs".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sanjoeel

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2007, 01:35    Post subject:    

Thanks a lot mate, I'll check on it tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sanjoeel

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2007, 09:59    Post subject:  

Sorry it took so long to get back to this. OK, after resetting the PCMCIA interface it sees the card: cardctl status output:
Socket 0:
no card
Socket 1:
3.3V CardBus card
function 0: [ready]

Then I loaded the serial_cs module.

re-ran the connection wizard and it detected a modem at ttyS2
added my connection and used PAP, SUCCESS!
I am connected to the net via dial up. THANK YOU GUYS. Puppy is great! My mom has a laptop to surf with! Thanks again for everyones' help, especially tempestuous!
-Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0542s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]