Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 19:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
grub boot manager
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
newuser
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2005, 18:00    Post_subject:  grub boot manager  

getting 1.02 to work fine using my cdrom as a boot, but i wanted to install it to my harddrive to boot without a cdrom. i dont have the expenses to buy a new cdrom. i dont see the grub boot manager when i begin loading puppy, i just see a big puppy logo, and the files loading when i turn on my machine.

the user/password problems seems to be solved in 1.02, not sure why or how, but it is now working, great thanks.

help with harddrive install?
Back to top
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2005, 18:10    Post_subject:  

<< not too familiar with 1.0.2 >>

BUT, in 1.0.1 if you click the start menu and go to setup, there's an install puppy harddrive option . Is this option in 1.0.2 ?

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2005, 19:37    Post_subject:  

Yes, I just did this. The hard drive install gives you an option of installing grub. There is also an option in start-->setup to manually configure grub, if you wish.

Grub is for the hard drive install. It is not an option off the cd itself.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
newuser
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2005, 01:20    Post_subject:  

so after i install it to the harddrive, it will boot without a CD everytime am i right? it's just like windows?
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2005, 02:07    Post_subject:  

Yes.

Puppy has two options on the HD install. Option 2 will allow a boot from HD whilst option 1 still requires a floppy boot disk.

Option 2 will also set up the Grub boot loader which allows the booting from HD just like Windows (a pre-Puppy Operating System and retirement system for Bill Gates)

Hope that answers your question Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
newuser
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2005, 17:25    Post_subject:  

i have tried option 1: loading with a floppy.

when puppy tries to make a boot disk, it does not create a autoexec.bat file. from what ive read from the puppy prompt, it is supposed to.

using the boot disk to load hasnt work thus far.
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2005, 19:46    Post_subject:  

When working on 1.0.2, I focussed my attention on Option 2 installation, and I don't think that I even tested Option 1.

Note, due to the size of the new kernel, there is no longer an autoexec.bat file, as there is no room for command.com on the floppy.
config.sys is used instead to directly launch tiny.exe (the boot loader), totally bypassing command.com.

So, Option 1 is not using Grub at all.

Probably this whole situation will be done away with, now that we have Grub, and we will use Grub to create a boot floppy -- so not need a dos and tiny.exe system at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 00:00    Post_subject: Using GRUB to make a boot flopppy  

BarryK wrote:

Probably this whole situation will be done away with, now that we have Grub, and we will use Grub to create a boot floppy -- so not need a dos and tiny.exe system at all.


Very interesting for me. I didn't know grub can create a floppy disk.

I'm glad you choose to use grub over lilo. Wonder if it would be good to make a grub section on the forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 08:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Windows (a pre-Puppy Operating System and retirement system for Bill Gates)


Lobster

Are these your words, do I cite you if I use them elsewhere?

babbs
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 09:01    Post_subject:  

Cool

There are worse things in the world then crypto-geeks with money. Certainly you can cite me - I am not responsible in mind body or speech (documentary evidence on request)

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 09:49    Post_subject: Re: Using GRUB to make a boot flopppy  

Bruce B wrote:
BarryK wrote:

Probably this whole situation will be done away with, now that we have Grub, and we will use Grub to create a boot floppy -- so not need a dos and tiny.exe system at all.


Very interesting for me. I didn't know grub can create a floppy disk.

I'm glad you choose to use grub over lilo. Wonder if it would be good to make a grub section on the forum.


This is a new area for me also.
Grubconfig has option of creating a boot floppy, so I tried it, it worked -- but at the time I didn't follow through and find out just what got put onto the floppy.
I intend to come back to it for a closer scrutiny.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 11:43    Post_subject: I'll do some R&D  

I justed searched Google for +grub +floppy - there is a lot out there on the subject.

I'll try and save you a little time by doing some preliminary work and post what I learned, links and etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 20:38    Post_subject:  

Yes, but I think Grubconfig has done it all for us.
Just need to execute Grubconfig from the install scripts.
-- I already made a slight modification to Grubconfig, it accepts a partiton on the commandline,
grub /dev/hda2
which makes it that much easier.
...and there is a menu option in Grubconfig to create a Grub boot floppy, as well as install grub to h.d.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 20:43    Post_subject:  

Bruce B,
If you want to, or anyone else, you could try the install-to-hard-drive script Option-2 and at the end where it calls Grubconfig and you choose the "automatic install" menu option, I think it does ask if you want to create a boot floppy -- find out how that works.

If it does, maybe we would have to call Grubconfig twice, first time to install Grub to h.d., second time to install to floppy. Both would be optional -- or rather it would have to at least one of them, or both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kmoffat

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 00:37    Post_subject:  

I have a hard drive with several linux distros running from a grub boot, and would like to add puppy to my existing /boot/grub/menu.lst file. What would the proper boot stanza consist of? (I ran the hard disk install, and created a boot floppy, not installing grub)


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0965s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0264s) ][ GZIP on ]