Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 06:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How can I use my Lucent Winmodem?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Ubu
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2005, 20:20    Post_subject:  How can I use my Lucent Winmodem?  

How do I get Puppy to use my Netcomm (Lucent Winmodem).

I booted Puppy 1.0.2 Mozilla ok.
I went back to WinXP and downloaded the ltmodem-8.26a9-k2.4.29.tar.gz from ibiblio onto my harddrive.

What do I do now to get puppy to use it ?
Do I have to do a re-compiling type process and make a whole new version of Puppy, or can I just use the package divided window app., pupget, dotpup, sorry can't remember the exact name, to somehow dynamically load in the LTmodem driver?
I tried this but it didn't seem to work, do I have to do some kind of uncompress, gzip, type shell command procedure on the file before I use the package app?
Back to top
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 06:05    Post_subject:  

Use TKzip from the start/utilities menu.

This will unzip and write the files to the appropriate place with a mouse click .
There are instruction ( text) files included in the tarball that will tell you what you need. You don't have to recompile puppy afterwards. All of the dotpup and pupget packages are already working in puppy.

It's a while since I installed this modem driver, but I don't recall having any problems with it.


Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 09:48    Post_subject:  

Okay, you have downloaded the .tar.gz file.
Now run the PupGet package manager, choose to install a package, then choose "local" as that's where it is ...should be smooth sailing to install it.
Then reboot, then run the Modem Wizard.
...this is all explained somewhere..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Ubu
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2005, 06:50    Post_subject:  

Oh I think I didn't reboot. That's probably it.
I'll try that and see how I go.
I didn't see the TKzip app. there either, thanks for the info.
Back to top
Ubu
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2005, 23:36    Post_subject:  

Still not working out.
- I ran Pupget, I select ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6, click add.

- Pupget says you have chosen to install these pkgs in Puppy
ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6 and gives choice of ibiblio & local & ?? buttons.
I click LOCAL button.

- Navigate Pupget to the directory where I prevously downloaded ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6.tar.gz to.
/mnt/home/data/downloads/Puppy Bootable Linux OS

- Pupget doesn't list any .gz files in the directory. It only lists
Installing Linux_files/
Installing X Server and KDE_files
The Linux commandline_files
ltmodem-8.26a9-k2.4.29/
Package_management_files
Puppy_unleashed_files/

- Despite Pupget not listing the ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6 file, I clicked OK anyway.
Pupget poped up a red LOCAL PKG ERROR.
Error: file ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6.tar.gz is not in folder /mnt/home/data/downloads/Puppy Bootable Linux OS/.

- Uxplor shows /mnt/home/data/downloads/Puppy Bootable Linux OS/ folder does contain the file
ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6.tar.gz 4 755 0 0 214762

- I gave up again. I removed ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6 package listing from Pupget.

- Booted up WinXP again.

Any idea what I need to do differently to get Pupget to recognise the ltmodem-2.6.alk.7-k2.6.tar.gz file ?
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 03:26    Post_subject:  

The error is probably because you are putting spaces in the directory name.

The script, and many other Linux apps, don't like spaces.
Use underscores "_".

This is a habit you need to get out of when using Linux.
It's mentioned in the FAQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Ubu
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 20:53    Post_subject:  

Ok I'll remove any spaces and try again.
I'll read the FAQ too.
I guess I was misled, as Uxplor appears happy with spaces.
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 22:39    Post_subject:  

Also install the lucent modem package for the 2.4.29 kernel, which is what Puppy uses, not the one with "k2.6" in its name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0525s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]