Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 08:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Reliable PCMCIA NIC for Puppy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
sksouth

Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 23:49    Post subject:  Reliable PCMCIA NIC for Puppy?
Subject description: Seeking NIC recommendation
 

I just tried Puppy on an old 600MHz Compaq Presario notebook - boy does it make that old hardware look good! No more Windows95 for that baby. However it looks like the onboard NIC is toast. Can anybody recommend a currently-available PCMCIA NIC that should work in Puppy without too much trouble?

Thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jul 2007, 04:23    Post subject: Re: Reliable PCMCIA NIC for Puppy?
Subject description: Seeking NIC recommendation
 

Ok, I dusted off some of my old PCMCIA ethernet cards to see which still work in an updated variant of Puppy 2.14. You'll probably have problems finding a new PCMCIA NIC as they are basically history. Here's what I recommend instead - check eBay for one of the following PCMCIA cards that I've just tested and work:

- 3Com 3CCFE575CT 10/100 LAN CardBus. The network-wizard doesn't detect this automatically, but choose to load module '3c59x', then DHCP and the card works perfectly. Make sure you get the adapter cable (dongle) along with the card.

- DELL 3CCFE575CT-D Fast Ethernet 10/100 BASE-TX. Re-badged 3Com 3CCFE575CT (as above)

- 3Com 3CCFE574BT Megahertz 10/100 LAN PC Card. The network-wizard detects this automatically and loads module '3c574_cs'. Just click DHCP and the card works perfectly. Make sure you get the adapter cable (dongle) along with the card.

- 3Com 3CXFE574BT Megahertz 10/100 LAN PC Card with XJACK connector. The network-wizard detects this automatically and loads module '3c574_cs'. Just click DHCP and the card works perfectly. This card has a special connector that pops out - doesn't need an adapter cable (dongle).

These cards were quite common around 2000 so you should be able to find one cheap on eBay.

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sksouth

Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2007, 15:44    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info! Sorry bout the delay, thought I had this forum set to notify.

Looks like there are plenty of 3coms on eBay, I'll try one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SuperStuff

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 09:42    Post subject:  Version 3.00
Subject description: 3Com Fast Ethernet 10/100 Base-Tx
 

I'm having trouble finding the 3c59x module on the list in Puppy Linux 3.00 to load for a 3Com Fast Ethernet 10/100 Base-TX PCMCIA card. Do some network modules get deleted as they move up in version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SuperStuff

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 23:19    Post subject:  
Subject description: Bootmanager module add
 

Played with Pup more tonight. I found the answer to my own question. Just go into Menu-System-Bootmanager configure boot-up. Click on add a new module and 3C59x was on the list. Cool! Cool

Sorry found another way. Just open Puppy Set-up. Second from the top is configure startup of puppy which brings you into the bootmanager as well. I'll have to figure out what all the different modules are next since all of them can't be for network set-up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gtparks

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 11:55    Post subject: Re: Bootmanager module add
Subject description: Looking for 3c59x.ko module
 

Many thanks -- I found what appeared to be a missing 3c59x module using your technique. Now I can DHCP to my DSL ISP.

I'm breathing new life into an old TOSHIBA Tecra 550CDT laptop w/ just 64MB ram and a 4 GB disk using Puppy 3.02. Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SuperStuff

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2008, 15:17    Post subject:  Cool  

Cool. Haven't been on this forum in awhile. I'm glad I posted something that could help someone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0514s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]