Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 19:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LighthousePup "Testing the Water" 215Beta4 ISO 182MB
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [92 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2007, 19:35    Post subject: Re: sound play back  

willhunt wrote:
It starts when the driver loads as a high freq kinda hum then no matter
player I use it sounds like stuttering mice on crank:(
np problem in other machines just the one with the intel 8x?? driver
but that's my fastest machine Sad it looks great and
I really like it and I'm sure it's a minor glitch that can be fixed since it
worked on the other machines it must be in my hardware right?

I'm not sure. Anybody seen this problem before? I don't have any Intel machines to test on. willlhunt, can you pm me the entire /tmp/xerrs.log from that machine? Or post as an attachment. I'd like to see if there are any relevant errors/warnings. I'd do it after a fresh reboot and playing of those stuttering mice Wink

Also please type in a terminal and post output:
Code:
depmod
modprobe -l sound*
modprobe -l snd*
modprobe --show-depends snd-intel8x0
cat "/var/log/messages" | grep 'snd'

The last two lines are a guess. I'm trying to see if we have all the necessary kernel modules loaded on that machine. Hope I'm not barking up the wrong tree here.
Oh, make sure the MAD MPEG Decoder Plugin is disabled in XMMS Preferences | Audio Plugins. When testing on that machine make sure XMMS is closed and not listed in the Process List (click on CPU graph next to date on IceWM taskbar.) If xmms-... is running select it and click Hang Up in gPS Process List, repeating until xmms is all gone. I'd start with the file types in in /usr/share/audio.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2007, 02:59    Post subject:  

I was mistaken sound plays fine till dilo starts then problem arises will investagate more closely here is the output you
requested
Code:

sh-3.00# depmod
sh-3.00# modprobe -l sound*
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/soundcore.ko
sh-3.00# modprobe -l snd*
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd-page-alloc.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd-timer.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd-pcm.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/oss/snd-mixer-oss.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/oss/snd-pcm-oss.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/seq/snd-seq-device.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/seq/snd-seq.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/seq/snd-seq-midi-event.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/seq/oss/snd-seq-oss.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-bus.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-codec.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.ko
sh-3.00# modprobe --show-depends snd-intel8x0
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd-page-alloc.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/soundcore.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd-timer.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/core/snd-pcm.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-bus.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-codec.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.18.1/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.ko
sh-3.00# cat "/var/log/messages" | grep 'snd'
sh-3.00#

_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dWLkR


Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2007, 11:44    Post subject: doesn´t work in VMware (player) - resolution prob...  

hi there!

1st of all - the screenshots look cool - seemingly a promising puppy derivate!

i wanted to test this derivate by myself - using vmware player - i´ve tested several puppy derivates this way before - but this one doesn´t work - i can´t choose a resolution of my like... i use XVESA of course...

here are 2 screenshots:







what to do?

tia!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2007, 18:49    Post subject:  

I got the same thing as dWLkR in vmware right down to the screen shots.
When I tried it as a Live CD booting the PC , I selected VESA and was given no provision to set the screen resolution The displayed text was huge and would not fit on my monitor. I looked at the XORG configuration file and it showed my 19" monitor as being 300 X 380 mm. Since I don't know how to convert 1024X768 to mm specs I gave up for now. I could not find anything to set the screen resolution so for now, the CD is just so much trash. ANY SUGGESTIONS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 488
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2007, 00:04    Post subject: lighthouse puppy & xvesa
Subject description: xvesa not working in Lighthouse Puppy
 

First - kudos on this great release!!

Yeah i am not able to use Xvesa....the resolution looks to be about 150 x 100 (!!!) 'Shocked' and i can't get around easily....i managed to locate the 1024 x 768 button and clicked it, but it did not reset the resolution. This happens on two different machines, one is a PII (or equivalent) w/ 268 mb RAM, the other is a PIII equivalent w/ just onder 400 mb RAM. It does work well with Xorg, however! Except i can't get it to do the multisession CD. My unit is a little funny that way so unless others have this problem, fuggetaboutit. This optorite CD-RW is not generally recognized in Linux but i am happy to say that the newer puppies are able to burn regular CDs -- including Lighthouse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2007, 20:49    Post subject: Xvesa broken in Lighthouse Beta4  

dWLkR, 8-bit, Subito Piano,
Embarassed Reproduced here too. Thank you for pointing out this problem. Don't use Xvesa with Beta4. I will try to fix this or work around before next release.

If you have chosen Xvesa, press Ctrl+Alt+BackSpace. Then type 'xorgwizard' and select Xorg. If still no luck, reboot with lighthouse CD typing 'ram' at the prompt.

I'm afraid I have no experience with Multisession CD/DVD in Lighthouse nor Puppy. Ditto Vmware, Qemu. Sorry about that.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2007, 03:33    Post subject:  

It turns out just to be bad hardware thanks for all your help taz
_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet

Last edited by willhunt on Sat 18 Aug 2007, 15:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2007, 04:18    Post subject:  

Hi taoc, just to report with my problem with auto det of my enet card/chipset. I retried the other bootup intructions as in the opening
screen but none of these would work for me, so I reverted to the
instructions of previous versions of puppy with this instruction --
on the command line - so be quick to type!

" puyppy vga=785 pfix=ram " yes! this instruction did the trick!

Maybe you need to add this as an extra on your update?

and yes GQVIEW now works !

Cheers

Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2007, 17:47    Post subject: Net detection, dhcpcd, PCM volume, Xvesa  

Tui,
Thanks for the update, I'm not sure how 'vga=785' would affect the net connection, but, yes 'pfix=ram' starts fresh anew completely in ram, without the pup_save file. Glad it worked for you! Smile

As indicated on the bootup screen, just hit an arrow key to pause on it. In Lighthouse, you can simply type 'ram' at the prompt to boot entirely in RAM. For other boot options, type 'lhp <options here>'. In Puppy you need to type 'puppy <options here>' e.g., 'puppy pfix=ram'. (without the ' ' of course.)

Possibly related issue, a friend here has a Dell with a Tulip lan card that sometimes won't remember the net settings on reboot/shutdown. I'm working a fix for that. Has something to do with dhcpcd I think.

Willhunt,
Try adjusting PCM by right-clicking AudioVideo icon | Open Volume Mixer | Click Mixer icon toward right side of taskbar, then move pcm slider on zmixer.

Subito Piano, et al,
I'm working on Xvesa but haven't found a solution yet...
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Last edited by tazoc on Wed 25 Jul 2007, 07:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2007, 22:36    Post subject:  Xvesa interim fix  

dWLkR, 8-bit, Subito Piano,
I think I've solved the Xvesa problem. In fact I'm in Xvesa now composing this reply.
Interim fix:
Edit ~/.xinitrc from command line or Terminal by typing:
Code:
mp /root/.xinitrc

Comment out line starting with 'xrandr -s' and the two lines before it (should be lines # 10, 11, 12) like this:
Code:
#XRANDRINDEX=`expr 0`
#[ -f /etc/xrandrindex ] && XRANDRINDEX="`cat /etc/xrandrindex`"
#xrandr -s "`expr $XRANDRINDEX + 1`" ; usleep 100000 && xrandr -s $XRANDRINDEX

then save the changes to .xinitrc (Ctrl+A | F2 | Ctrl X)
then type:
Code:
rm -f /etc/videomode
Then re-run xorgwizard, choosing Xvesa and the resolution choice dialog should be back!

Straight from LiveCD boot you can also choose Xvesa, then press Ctrl+Alt+R to launch terminal. If you can find the prompt in that 'keyhole window', then type xrandr [Enter]
Then pick a resolution SZ# e.g. 6 or 7 (higher is larger) from the list and type:
Code:
xrandr -s <SZ> [Enter]
Then you should have the real estate use a graphical text editor and edit /root/.xinitrc as above so that things will work better on restarting X.

In addition to improving on this fix, there are a few other issues with Xvesa in Lighthouse (Conky flickers a bit, shadows should be disabled) that I'm working on for the next release.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 488
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jul 2007, 12:33    Post subject: Flash Player 9
Subject description: can't install Flash Player 9
 

Hi! Checking out Lighthouse some more. I like the XMM System (even if it is almost just eyecandy). Glad you are not dropping it.

I tried to install flashplayer 9 and got the following error. Thought you might like to know for the next beta:

./flashplayer-installer: line 76: [: `)' expected, found 2

ERROR: Your glibc library is older than 2.2.
Please update your glibc library.

sh-3.00#

Actually, can flash player 9 be included in the next release?? Or does it not work in SeaMonkey, and that is why you are working on the Opera and Firefox squash files? My vote would be to include a default browser preconfigured to use Flash...

Anyway, it's a cool work-in-progress! Keep it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 25 Jul 2007, 07:22    Post subject: Re: Flash Player 9
Subject description: can't install Flash Player 9
 

Subito Piano wrote:
Hi! Checking out Lighthouse some more. I like the XMM System (even if it is almost just eyecandy). Glad you are not dropping it.

Thanks Smile It's good to know XMMS works for you. Sometimes the MAD MPEG Decoder and CoverViewer Plug-ins act up, but it's still great. I think Audacious is promising, what little time I've spent with it. But for now XMMS is it.
Quote:
I tried to install flashplayer 9 and got the following error. Thought you might like to know for the next beta:

./flashplayer-installer: line 76: [: `)' expected, found 2

ERROR: Your glibc library is older than 2.2.
Please update your glibc library.
Check SeaMonkey's Help | About Plug-ins. For me, in Lighthouse SeaMonkey Flash 9 works right off without installing anything:

www.lhpup.org/gallery/displayimage.php?pos=-31 (Click to enlarge)
Ignore the Shockwave indicator and install prompt. AFAIK, Shockwave requires MS Windows or Macintosh. The Flash indicator below that is what to look for. Hopefully it will indicate the installed version when pointing at 'About' toward the right side. www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome
Quote:
Actually, can flash player 9 be included in the next release?? Or does it not work in SeaMonkey, and that is why you are working on the Opera and Firefox squash files? My vote would be to include a default browser preconfigured to use Flash...

Anyway, it's a cool work-in-progress! Keep it up.

I appreciate that! Well Opera is often requested on the forum, I use FireFox often, so it's natural that they would be in an SFS extension for LighthousePup. Flash is still problematic at quite a few websites, particularly with video, but at least the browsers recognize it and no longer crash for me anyway. Video seems to be working at more sites lately. I've just uploaded a Mariner SFS with FireFox and Opera 9.22 with Flash 9, OpenOffice 2.2 Full, CUPS Printing and more at www.lhpup.org/download.htm
(Edit 7/25 Note: This was SFS built for Lighthouse and does not function well in Puppy apart from Lighthouse. See Puppy v2.15CE: www.puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy215Downloads -- bottom of page for SFS files designed for official Puppy.)
Let us know if your SeaMonkey really doesn't have Flash or if I can help further.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darrelljon


Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 548

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jul 2007, 08:53    Post subject:  

Do you think you could host a Lighthouse Mariner ISO or are there instructions anywhere on how I could make one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jul 2007, 11:50    Post subject:  

darrelljon wrote:
Do you think you could host a Lighthouse Mariner ISO or are there instructions anywhere on how I could make one?
Perhaps your question stems from the fact that wget doesn't work, it seems to be disabled on tazoc's server. However, if you start Seamonkey and enter the URL

http://lhpup.org/beta/lhp215/lighthouse215SeaM_beta4.iso

you will get a dialog box. Choose "Save it to disk" and specify where to put it, click OK, and Bob's yer uncle.

HTH,
SHS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jul 2007, 12:23    Post subject: Lighthouse Mariner ISO  

Hi darrelljon,
Good question! I thought about combining Lighthouse Base ISO with the Mariner SFS but since Lighthouse is still Beta, I'd rather keep them separate downloads for the time being. The other concern is bandwidth. The combined ISO would be about 182+252=434 MB and you'd still need to manually copy the Mariner SFS file from the CD-ROM or mounted ISO onto your savefile partition (where the pup_save.2fs is) and reboot.

Lighthouse and I think Puppy include Isomaster, you can use to open the base Lighthouse ISO, add in the Mariner SFS and then save this as your custom Mariner ISO.

Both LighthousePup Beta 4 and Mariner SFS are available at www.lhpup.org/download.htm
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [92 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1074s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]