Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 08:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Use setvol to control the sound card
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sat 10 Sep 2005, 23:33    Post subject:  Use setvol to control the sound card  

Puppy work well with my NVidia on-board sound card but when he comes up *ALL* the sound options activate. Mike, Radio, TV, Line-in and it's a noisy mess. Is there a sound input controller in Puppy so I can disable all the noise?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 11 Sep 2005, 01:41    Post subject:  

setvol
Back to top
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun 11 Sep 2005, 02:34    Post subject: A little cornfused  

Won't "setvol" turn the entire thing down/off?

I want sound; just not the radio, mike and TV parts.
Winblows has a bunch of sliders and disable checkboxes for all that. I was hoping for something like that in Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 11 Sep 2005, 02:44    Post subject:  

If you are using fvwm95 (default Puppy) double click on the speaker icon bottom right.

Hope that is the sort of control you require Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Sep 2005, 10:28    Post subject:  

There are two audio mixers in the Multimedia menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sun 11 Sep 2005, 13:47    Post subject:  

type setvol

so you might put something like this in rc.local

setvol 6 0 0
setvol 7 0 0
setvol 0 80 80

which sets line-in and mic to 0 and mixer vol to 80%

or you can install aumix ... it can save/restore volume levels ... you can't run it from rc.local unless you setup and export PATH and LD_LIBRARY_PATH first ... it will run ok from /etc/profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0467s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]