Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 10:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wiki Bug: Mozilla crashes when editing the wiki
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 03:12    Post_subject:  Wiki Bug: Mozilla crashes when editing the wiki  

I have been aware of this for some time - it is now getting annoying and I need it confirmed.

I am using Mozilla and editing the wiki
Using the left arrow key (and sometimes the right) after the smallest edits causes Mozilla to close, shut down,
edits lost.

I have also seen it caused by the delete key. Mostly it is the left arrow key. It seems to be occuring only in the wiki, so I am confident it is a wiki bug and not a Mozilla bug.

Has anyone else noticed this?
Does it happen with Firefox?
Opera?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4775
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 03:47    Post_subject: Remove the editing buttons  

The Wiki can do without the editing buttons, after all, it is a Wiki (where formatting is easily done by hand).

In PHP, it is just a matter of removing the Javascript loading lines, and the textarea box will be, well, a plain textarea box Embarassed

Whoever has admin access to the Wikka directory can do that.

(Hey, having some PHP scripting skill is not bad, after all Wink )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 05:21    Post_subject:  

Shocked

What I mean is when editing code by hand and using the left arrow key to move back across a hand edited piece of text - Mozilla shuts down. If I move using the mouse (my work-around) this does not happen

That is basic editing Smile Sorry if I was unclear Embarassed

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 07:01    Post_subject:  

I cannot edit the WiKi with Mozilla.

Some lines are visible in the first line on over the other (looks garbaged), then there follow some normal lines, and then there are missing the last lines.

I use the Opera(PupGet) instead, works fine.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 08:31    Post_subject:  

Ah yes that reminds me . . .

In Opera (this may be due to strident use of standards by Opera) the wiki does not exhibit the symbols that can be used for editing (at least that is the case in the Opera version available as a Pupget) - is it also true in version 8?

It means that you will not in Opera see symbols to indent text
bold / italic etc - you have to do this by hand . . .

However the bad display is more serious - what is happening?

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 09:41    Post_subject:  

Lobster, can you try it using the Mozilla in 1.0.5alpha2?
Let me know if the crash still happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 11:46    Post_subject:  

Lobster, I used the old opera from Puppy 1.0.4.

Buttons?
I did'nt look for them, I'm too used to <b>bold</b> and so on Wink

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 11:46    Post_subject:  

Smile
. . . and I thought it was the wiki - it no longer seems to be happening in 1.0.5 alpha r2
- good news. Smile

However the other bug in Mozilla which I have noticed (and others do not seem to have) is still there but it is reduced.

This is what happens in Mozilla 1.0.5 alpha r2. If you click and drag (to resize) Mozilla from the bottom right handle, taking care to click right in the corner - no problem. If you do the same thing but in a bit (to duplicate this effect move out from the center down to the corner - when the icon changes, click and drag. If no jumping upwards occurs (the bug) try again moving in a bit further. If you find the wrong spot (which is the right spot to see the error) the top of mozilla will move up (expand) without you having done anything but click.

I seem to be the only one experiencing this - and I have only just noticed it in 1.0.5 alpha r2 (as it is more subtle). In 1.0.4 I did not bother even trying to click and drag from the bottom right resize handle unless by accident . . .

I am gonna try this on another computer, just to make sure it is not peculiar to this computers graphic chip.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 11:53    Post_subject:  

just tried Mozilla from 1.0.5 alpha2, and everything works ok.

All Text is displayed correctly, the edit-buttons work, and I can use the cursor.keys in the textarea.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 11:57    Post_subject:  

Lobster, I think the resize-algorithm of Mozilla is somewhat buggy (and damned slow).

So I use the Window-Handles of Icewm to resize.

Extremely fast (as the window-content is not visible during resize, just the border), and works stable.

This is nothing Puppy-specific, I also know this behaviour from Mozilla 1.7 rc2 on Linux Mandrake.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 12:01    Post_subject:  

Smile Just in case anyone is unaware of the edit buttons in the wiki enclosed is a pic.

Double click to open a wiki page (registered users should find the page opens to edit instantly)
Highlight a bit of text make it bold by clicking on bold . . .
click at the beginning of text and indent to move it in etc . . .
example.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   75.64 KB
 Viewed   923 Time(s)

example.jpg


_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 12:28    Post_subject:  

OK in 105 Alpha r2 on a different computer with a different graphic chip. Still experiencing problems with that bottom right click and drag handle but they are different. Clicking and dragging now - in the right spot means the resize is not smooth. It sort of judders about. Workable certainly but not smooth.
_________________
Puppy WIKI

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 15:17    Post_subject:  

it could be xkb that is doing that
i notice my caps lock/num lock indicator lights don't work properly

and when i edit the wiki, i have to be careful deleting characters, because the auto-repeat does not stop when you release the key ... it stops when you run out of delete characters in the buffer ... and the deletions and moving the cursor left/right with the arrow keys are also slow

i don't think 1.0.3 had this problem
in any case, my keyboard does not work properly with 1.0.4+

see: http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1380
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppian_guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 09:05    Post_subject:  

1.0.3 had this problem too
I use 1.0.3 Smile

Would it be that some hotkeys in Mozilla are conflicting with puppy? Just my guess...
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 09:16    Post_subject:  

Lobster, I just can't get your window-resizing bug.
I've been moving the mouse around in the corner, trying it as you explain, but it works, and is smooth.

Yes, xkb... need to upgrade GTK to a later version that doesn't have the xkb bug, then will be able to turn off xkb support when start X. I should target that one for 1.0.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0730s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]