Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 10:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I save my network config so it comes up at boot?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
ray
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 04:13    Post subject:  How do I save my network config so it comes up at boot?  

dear all, I want to ask that after I finish to set the ip, netmask,gateway(not DHCP)....How to save it,I want that after reboot the computer and I do not set it again.
I am using version 1.0.3
thanks all Sad
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 09:57    Post subject:  

You add the necessary commands to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file.

For example, in my case, I want to assign an IP of 192.168.1.98 to my computer, using a netmask of 255.255.255.0 and my router's address is 192.168.1.1

I add the following commands to rc.local
Code:

ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.98 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add -net default gw 192.168.1.1


You can find the commands specific to your set-up under /etc. The file is called <device>mode, where <device> is your network device. For example: eth0mode or eth1mode or wlan0mode, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 06:26    Post subject:  

it is ok now
thanks so much Exclamation
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10665
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 13:02    Post subject:  

What did you do that made it work? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 13:38    Post subject:  

My guess is that he did as I suggested. I don't think it requires more explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0414s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]