Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 02:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
ATI Radeon X1950 Pro
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 239
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2007, 20:29    Post_subject:  ATI Radeon X1950 Pro  

I saw a description of how to use an ATI card with puppy, but it seems old. Will it still work with Puppy 2.17?

If not, is there any way to get ATI's drivers working with Puppy? I've tried with 3 different distros now, and ATI's drivers never have worked for me at all.

Thanks, anyone who can help.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2007, 21:35    Post_subject:  

See:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=20463
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 239
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 Aug 2007, 17:43    Post_subject:  

Thanks.
_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 239
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2007, 08:53    Post_subject:  

Well, that didn't really work.

For some reason, I can only get to 1400x1050 on an LCD with a native res of 1680x1250, so am I doing something wrong?

The .pet said it installed fine, so I manually edited the Xorg.conf file and set my res to my LCD's native, but when xwindows tries to start, I see "No Signal" and the moniter gives up and sleeps.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2007, 20:16    Post_subject:  

Sorry I really don't know. The main reason for using the fglrx driver is for accelerated 3d graphics (games). The Xorgwizard should have displayed the available resolutions when you first setup puppy. I don't know if the resolution problem is a limitation of Xorg 7.0 or fglrx or if there's some setting yet to be found. You might try running amdcccle. I think I made a menu entry for it or you can just open a terminal and type amdcccle. Then click on Display Manager. There may be some settings there you can try.



P.S. At one time the fglrx driver only supported 16bit color. Don't know if that's still the case. Works for me with 24bit color. Ati is notorious for it's linux drivers. ATI=poop Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 239
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 28 Aug 2007, 17:30    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Ati is notorious for it's linux drivers. ATI=poop Smile


I'll agree there. I've given up completely now. Sending it back for an
eVGA GeForce 8600GTS. I know that'll be much less of a headache, because my machine, pre-ATI, had a 6200 from XFX.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 239
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2007, 18:57    Post_subject:  

Got my NVIDIA, and running at a fine 1680x1250 native res. Nice!

Only one problem. I had to use xvesa to get it to this res. Xorg wouldn't do it. Does that mean I can't use the proprietary NVIDIA drivers? Looks good, anyway. Thanks Ezpup dev.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0509s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]