Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 10:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puplet with Bootees v1.0.2 50 meg Opera based Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2005, 04:03    Post subject:  Puplet with Bootees v1.0.2 50 meg Opera based Puppy  

Cool

You know Puppy is kewl.

John Murga I hope will be announcing his new Opera Puppy with Perl very soon. You can find a link from the wiki (news and new 1.0.2 Release) so I hope he will forgive me for this post.

Smile

Otherwise Lobster on the barbie tonight (no crude jokes at the back please - wait a minute . . . )

Puplet (Codename for the Opera 1.0.2) has extensive bootees. A splash screen comes up and you can boot - choosing if you are gonna save to HD or leave the HD untouched (normally Puppy saves its set-up in Pup001)

You can also Boot with ACPI support

ACPI (short for "Advanced Configuration and Power Interface") is a standard that defines power and configuration management interfaces between an operating system and the BIOS. It is meant to supersede the older APM standard (for power management) and provide a generic interface for recognition and configuration of hardware devices

You can boot from floppy
or skip CDRom boot and boot from next device

Next comes the Giant Penguin (Lock up Tux) It is big and a very pleasing background image (Unless you are scared by big birds that eat more fish than you do).

Opera works fine. Perl support - well if you need that check it out and report back. I dunno how that works Sad - Something to do with CGI and a web design language. The default WP is Textmaker. Default spreadsheet is ABS (John was working on another interesting spreadsheet but . . .)

This version of Puppy is ideal for a lot of people. Those who want to boot puppy from a 50 meg business card. Those who want the tiniest download by modem. Those not wishing to disturb another users HD. Those wishing to use Opera. Those wanting Perl. Those wishing to try if their system will work with ACPI. Those needing a choice of boot options.

I am sorry if I have missed anything (but I was so excited at the release of a new Pup)

I know Barry is thinking about a Boot menu for 1.0.3 and incorporating this in the splash screen is very nice . . .

Show some respect. We are not worthy! We are not worthy! (well you might be - but I certainly am not)

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2005, 08:25    Post subject:  

Apparently, when you choose "not to save to the HD" (I forget the exact wording of the boot screen Embarassed ) at boot it does not even look for a pup001, which is good for getting around problems with a corrupt pup001. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2005, 12:31    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Apparently, when you choose "not to save to the HD" (I forget the exact wording of the boot screen Embarassed ) at boot it does not even look for a pup001, which is good for getting around problems with a corrupt pup001. Smile


It's also good for installing to hard drive, when you have the annoying situation of pup001 being in the partition that you want to install to... which means that the partition is in use and Puppy can't install to it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rhino


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 262
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 May 2005, 21:46    Post subject:  

How would you boot it and tell it to put pup001 on sda1? What if pup001 was already there? It didn't look I suppose, because I got the default puplet startup screen (which looks great!) and not any of my customizations from puppy1.02-mozilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0501s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]