Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 17:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Set Time (for setting puppy's clock)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 10:31    Post subject:  Set Time (for setting puppy's clock)  

Somewhere else in this board someone asked for it.

It is a modified sample from "xdialog".
The original produced several errors on puppy, for example setting the "--utc" -option and running hwclock in busybox.

Mark
set-time-for-puppy.pup
Description 
pup

 Download 
Filename  set-time-for-puppy.pup 
Filesize  5.08 KB 
Downloaded  2773 Time(s) 

Last edited by MU on Wed 02 Nov 2005, 07:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:00    Post subject:  

Excellent - G2 did tell me how to do this from the command line but this is much easier
Hope Barry incorporates it into puppy - very tiny script

Thanks MU - can I call you 'M' for short?

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:19    Post subject:  

Lobster,

you can say "Mark" , M or MU as you like.
MU are just my initials (Mark Ulrich)

>Hope Barry incorporates it into puppy - very tiny script

Please check it first - I don't know exactly what this --utc -option is I threw out.
I hope this will not result in wrong timesettings in other countries.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:32    Post subject:  

Sorry forgot to mention Mark
- it works on my machine

My clock has been 1 hour back for ages and ran your program and it seemed to work OK - rebooted and still OK (in fact turned off machine - time is still OK)

- does it work on the BIOS?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:43    Post subject: Just tested - seems to work ok for me..  

set date+time util works. Great!

"Gute Arbeit, MU"

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:48    Post subject:  

I think so, "hwclock" should mean "HardWare-Clock".

If you type "man hwclock" you will get a closer explanation of the mechanism.

The script uses
hwclock --set --date="9/6/2005 10:12:56"
(sets the hardwareclock)
and then
hwclock --hctosys
(sets the systemtime from the hardwareclock)

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:49    Post subject:  

Danke Peter,

Dich kenn ich doch aus dem wxBasic-Board? Smile

Gre, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 11:55    Post subject:  

--utc probably sets your clock to utc (gmt)

Windows boxes usually have the hardware clock set to local time, not utc, so probably most Puppy users would be using local time, not utc

i have a program that sets the clock automatically from the internet, but it requires that you set the time zone correctly (there is 1 correct setting and 23 wrong time zone settings ... Barry's time zone wizard works fine, it's just that the sign is backwards ... so if your time zone is EST, the offset is +5 not -5, and so on)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 09:56    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:

i have a program that sets the clock automatically from the internet, but it requires that you set the time zone correctly (there is 1 correct setting and 23 wrong time zone settings ... Barry's time zone wizard works fine, it's just that the sign is backwards ... so if your time zone is EST, the offset is +5 not -5, and so on)


I have tried both clicking on the blank desktop, selecting Programs, Control Panel, Set Time Zone (which acts as though it is doing something but does not), and the same sequence ending with Set Time/Date (which does not provide any option to actually set anything), and your app which provides for setting zone, date, and time but I can never get it right. The actual change in increments is minutes even when I change from +5 to -4 hours.

I am in EST and I currently see 18:30 in the bottom right corner.

What date and time stamp do you see on my post, please?

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 11:12    Post subject:  

I see:

Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:56 am Post subject:

All times are GMT - 4 Hours

I really don't have an idea Sad

Here it sets the time correct (Germany, Berlin)

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 12:13    Post subject:  

don't know if this help:

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/TimeZone
Back to top
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 21:56    Post subject:  

Anonymous wrote:
don't know if this help:
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/TimeZone



Now I get it!

For Puppy one ignores the usual -5 for NY and enters 0

That gets the correct time.

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 23:21    Post subject:  

edoc, if you are in west central florida, that would be the EST/EDT time zone

my time zone is also EST

what i do is run the Puppy Time Zone Wizard and click the +5 button

yes, the wizard says EST is -5, but that's wrong ... the correct offset is +5

then i edit /etc/TZ and change UTC+5 to EST5EDT ... which works the same, it's the 5 that sets the time zone

the time zone should be correct when you reboot
if the time is wrong, it's because the hardware clock is set to the wrong time

you can set the clock from the internet ... i have a dotpup package that does this

get the time from the internet:
(this does not set anything, it just shows what time it is according to your time zone settings ... if your time zone settings are right, it will show the correct time)
rdate -p time.nist.gov

print the system time and date:
date

print the time the hardware clock is set to:
hwclock --show
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 12:07    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
you can set the clock from the internet ... i have a dotpup package that does this


For some reason neither of my laptops react properly to the Internet Time app but I have found that the set-time-for-puppy.pup app does work on both.

Very odd but problem has now been solved here.

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 23:33    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Very odd but problem has now been solved here.


I am being told that my time stamp is showing up on lists incorrectly.
I tried this:

# echo $TZ?

And got:

UTC-0?

It should UTC-4 in the Eastern time zone but shows British time instead.

Problem is that the clock in the lower right of the display shows the correct time.

I am running stock Mozilla suite.

How can this be, please?

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0754s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]