Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 22:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
installing on hard drive
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
marsh
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 06 May 2005, 23:21    Post subject:  installing on hard drive  

I want to install Puppy on my old Compaq Presario laptop.
My floppy drive is dead, and i see that the install process creates a boot floppy.
Can i install without a floppy disk drive? Cd drive is OK - and a flash drive is a possibility too.
Back to top
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 07 May 2005, 02:54    Post subject: installing on hard drive  

You might be able to do it by hacking the install script to comment out the floppy part but you still need a way to boot it.

The next version of Puppy has Grub as the bootloader I think so it might pay to wait for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 07 May 2005, 04:09    Post subject:  

Yes, Pup 1.0.2, Release Candidate 1 due out middle of the week (I went and promised by 11th or earlier, so now I have to work real hard to meet that!).
It will have the first version of the install-to-hard-drive script supporting Grub, which means a floppy boot disk becomes optional.
Back to top
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 08 May 2005, 14:53    Post subject: Re: installing on hard drive  

Ian wrote:
You might be able to do it by hacking the install script to comment out the floppy part but you still need a way to boot it.

The next version of Puppy has Grub as the bootloader I think so it might pay to wait for that.


I think maybe it would be good to offer way to do type 2 hardrive install without requiring floppy or grub. Perhaps people might want to use loadlin or tiny on a separate small dos partition to boot puppy or perhaps because their computer doesnt have floppy drive, they wish to make a "boot cd" of their own design or use the generalized Gujin boot cd.

Personally as I've mentioned before, I do a hardrive install making the required boot floppy (though for it to work on my computer I have to replace tiny with loadlin) then make a copy of the install with an imaging program. Can then boot from imaging self booting cd and restore the puppy image to any hardrive with no requirements I make a boot floppy nor install grub (I like loadlin on separate tiny dos partition).

At least with the opera version of 1.0.1, now have option to force Puppy cd not to create a Pup file so dont need two partitions in order to install Puppy to hardrive style 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Mon 09 May 2005, 03:38    Post subject: If you can't wait :)  

Check out this forum under announcements. Search for grub.
The zip file contains everything needed, to do a type 1 install or a native
type 2 install with installing grub as the boot manager. No floppy required!
You can also mix these installations.. meaning having for example a
hdd with 1 partition (hda1) formatted with dos and bootable to be used for a
type 1 install (just copy the cd to the partition) and a second partition (and probably third and forth.. Smile ) to do a type 2 install. With the boot menu
presented, the last installed option is the default, however, the other options are still available...

Which this, you could have also a couple of different versions installed and ready to run! So could checkout a newer version before touching the others...

NOT for multiple OS installations! Meaning NOT setup for having windows as a parallel OS!!

(If you know grub, this can be changed)

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
figueroa

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 22
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Tue 10 May 2005, 09:18    Post subject: Re: installing on hard drive  

marsh wrote:
I want to install Puppy on my old Compaq Presario laptop.
My floppy drive is dead, and i see that the install process creates a boot floppy. Can i install without a floppy disk drive? Cd drive is OK - and a flash drive is a possibility too.


There may be better options, but if you want to stick with 1.0.1 for now, I have a hacked script for an Option 2 only hard drive installation that has commented out everythig related to the floppy AND the CD, so it won't ask you for either. Also, it has been further hacked to only use ext3 instead of ext2.

Hacked script "install-hd2" attached. You can put it in /root and be sure to also put " installfuncs" in the same directory. I slightly hacked "installfuncs" to eliminate an error message related to the CD drive. I added enouch comments to the script install-hd2 so it should make sense to anybody who would want to modify it differently.

It will tell you this when you run the script, but you have to manually provide either a boot floppy to boot this or a boot manager, such as Lilo or Grub, or possibly use tiny.exe or loadlin.exe from another vfat partition.

_________________
Andy Figueroa
figueroa@philippians-1-20.us
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marcel


Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2005, 02:48    Post subject: Install without floppy  

Thanks for all the advice. I don't have enough confidence to try out the suggestions - I'll just wait until the safe Vn 1.0.2 of Puppy is released!
_________________
"It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets." - Voltaire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2005, 01:26    Post subject: ram  

how much ram is in the laptop?
need to known - then can tell your best install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0589s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]