Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 23:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to mount usb manually ? nothing display with MUT
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
overule

Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 11:36    Post subject:  How to mount usb manually ? nothing display with MUT  

hi,

How do you mount usb drive manually ? I tried to load Media Utility Tool but nothing displayed ,just a blank screen..


please help

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 11:52    Post subject:  

MUT doesn't even show your hard disk drive, or CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 18:05    Post subject:  

Same here.
Zip. Zero. Nadda.
Just a vast ocean of gray, murky nothingness.
It whines about my floppy drive, but that's because I unplugged it due to my computer's alzheimers.

Anyway, to answer your question:
Run the Mount/unmount drives utility (under the "utilities menu)
Close the utility
Run rxvt (under "Run" menu, also known as xterm, counsel, and command line)
Type:
Code:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/flash -t vfat

and hit enter.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 18:43    Post subject:  

Let us know what happens when you try the old
File managers -> Mount/unmount drives

...that is the predesesor to MUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 18:57    Post subject:  

It seems MUT does not like machines without a floppy drive. In my case, it puts up a fearsome error message and refuses to show any drives. Have been meaning to check out the code and will get around to it some time.

BTW, has anyone got a round tuit, I need one? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 19:50    Post subject:  

It doesn't show my USB drive on it. I seem to need to run it anyway to initialize the ports, though. I think MUT might also do this. Either way, I wind up doing the actuall mounting by hand. The old one works for everything else, though.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 20:19    Post subject:  

yeah, fix for making MUT work with no floppy disk is on the "urgent" todo list, I've been very busy with my regular job lately... must get back into this one.

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
overule

Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 22:58    Post subject:  

wow,

i can't believe they are so many people on the same boat as me.

It works if you try the mount/unmount tools and clicked msdos

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 23:40    Post subject:  

Hrm. I had a floppy error a long time ago, but that went away when I upgraded to 1.0.4. Neither of my Puppy machines have floppy drives, and MUT works fine. It still shows the floppy icon, and I haven't tried pushing my luck by clicking it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 23:44    Post subject:  

Twisted Evil Push the button!
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0587s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]