Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 13:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
No xwin on Puppy 1.0.5 RC on HP ZE2113US laptop (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Fox7777


Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Lacey, WA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 01:46    Post_subject:  No xwin on Puppy 1.0.5 RC on HP ZE2113US laptop (Solved)  

We installed Puppy 1.0.5 RC on our HP ZE2113US laptop & x windows in /usr/X11R6/bin/xwin would not start. We have 512 RAM & loaded everything in there during the install. We tried to install twice & got the same results. We did not have this problem with Puppy 1.0.4 or 1.0.5 Alpha. Has anyone else had this problem & is there a fix for it?

Update: We were able to get around this by reinstalling Puppy 1.0.5 Alpha & then updating to Puppy 1.0.5 RC where we opted not to delete the old files, especially the ones in /usr which contained the xwin file. Since we don't see any other posts about this we assume there was probably a glitch in our 1.0.5 RC download. We did notice the wireless option doesn't show under Setup but it is in Wizard Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 236
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2005, 20:16    Post_subject:  

Quote:
We installed Puppy 1.0.5 RC on our HP ZE2113US laptop & x windows in /usr/X11R6/bin/xwin would not start. We have 512 RAM & loaded everything in there during the install. We tried to install twice & got the same results. We did not have this problem with Puppy 1.0.4 or 1.0.5 Alpha. Has anyone else had this problem & is there a fix for it?


I have the same problem on my desktop PC with 256 MB RAM. I did not have this problem with Puppy 1.0.3, 1.0.4, Chubby Puppy 1.0.4 or 1.0.5alpha2.

I have tried to installed Puppy 1.0.5rc twice and each time end up with the same error. After I have set the screen resolution I started few programs form the desktop like Gxine, uXplore or Leafpad and after first reboot from CD with default boot option the boot process ended with following error message:

Code:

Sorry, cannot start X. File /usr/X11R6/bin/X missing. If X is supposed to be installed, probably Puppy was unable to mount usr_cram.fs on /usr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2005, 22:27    Post_subject:  

Oh, I got this too. You did an option 2 hard drive install, right? The installer forgets to give you the /usr folder. There is just a symlink to /.usr_cram. So, either copy that file off of the CD, or boot puppy from the CD, and then copy /usr to /mnt/hd??/usr. Remember to delete the symlink first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 236
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 08:03    Post_subject:  

Thanks!
See:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2354
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 08:29    Post_subject:  

keenerd wrote:
Oh, I got this too. You did an option 2 hard drive install, right? The installer forgets to give you the /usr folder. There is just a symlink to /.usr_cram. So, either copy that file off of the CD, or boot puppy from the CD, and then copy /usr to /mnt/hd??/usr. Remember to delete the symlink first.


keenerd,
I don't quite understand.
You booted the CD first?
Then ran the install-to-hard-drive-option-2?
...a new or upgrade installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 18:47    Post_subject:  

Quote:
You booted the CD first?
Then ran the install-to-hard-drive-option-2?
...a new or upgrade installation?


Booted CD. First tried an option 2 upgrade, but I got an error about too many symlinks for startx & xwin. (That always seems to happen on my thinkpad.)

Booted from CD, tried a fresh option 2 install. Booted from hard drive. Got an error that /usr/...../X didn't exist. Couldn't cd into /usr. Booted from CD. I could open /mnt/hda1/usr/ just fine. Went back to /mnt/hda1 and inspected /usr. ROX said it was really a symlink to /.usr_cram, which would have been loaded into ramdisk.

Simple fix, deleted the symlink and copied /usr to /mnt/hda1.

I don't have usr_devx installed because the server keeps disconnecting my dialup connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 21:53    Post_subject:  

keenerd wrote:

I don't have usr_devx installed because the server keeps disconnecting my dialup connection.


You will find a copy there:
http://noforum.de/dotpups/

Size is 42-43 MB.

If you still have problems downloading, tell me, and I will split it to smaller pieces ( 5 MB? )

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 23:59    Post_subject:  

i usually use wget to download large files
wget is built into most Linux distros and is available for Windows (for example, Wackget)
wget can resume downloads

i do not try to download large files using IE or Mozila or Firefox ... i think Opera can resume downloads

bit torrent is a very reliable way to download files ...
the latest Opera can download torrents as easily as downloading a file from a server ... just click the torrent link
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 08:32    Post_subject:  

No, no. It's the server's fault. Every two months or so I download a 400-700 Mb ISO image over my dialup. 43 megs is nothing. I use GetRight, it works quite well.

I've been using http://www.nstsoftware.com/puppy/usr_devx.sfs, and I will try the other link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 22:05    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Booted from CD, tried a fresh option 2 install. Booted from hard drive. Got an error that /usr/...../X didn't exist. Couldn't cd into /usr. Booted from CD. I could open /mnt/hda1/usr/ just fine. Went back to /mnt/hda1 and inspected /usr. ROX said it was really a symlink to /.usr_cram, which would have been loaded into ramdisk.

Simple fix, deleted the symlink and copied /usr to /mnt/hda1.


Hmm, okay. rc.sysinit makes /usr into a symlink to /.usr_cram temporarily, but after boot there should be just /usr.
The reason for this came about because previously usr_cram.fs was mounted
directly on /usr, but now it is mounted on /.usr_cram, then unionfs joins it to /usr.
...but this is not appropriate for h.d. option2 install, so I'll check through the code and get it fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0721s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]