Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 01:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Pdrive 0.27
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [122 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed 29 Aug 2007, 17:14    Post subject: Second swap  

MUT doesn't show a second swap (I don't have one), and it shows the hda1 (home) size correctly and shows hda7. Old pmount doesn't show hda7, and it doesn't show the mysterious SwapM partition. Your version shows I have a real Linux swap on hda7 of 1 GB, which is correct, but is missing size on hda1 and shows the mysterious SwapM. I think Dougal knows the code best. His tabbed version 3_1 (attached) seems to show everything correctly (in my case), so perhaps you can incorporate that code.
pmount3_1.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmount3_1.tar.gz 
Filesize  6.74 KB 
Downloaded  688 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2007, 10:37    Post subject:  

version 0.7
- uses the latest (???) Dougal-code.
- automatic size of window to show all your drives. Height does not pass 600 dpi.
- fixed splash

We could have a function for partview, eject CD/DVD...But then we need menues to not get a messy window. Menues are slightly buggy in gtkdialog, and would not be good with Barrys trick to keep the old window while loading a new one. An alternative is to use a list or combobox. But it is also important that the mounter is VERY newbie-friendly....Do you want to share your thoughts, - think loud...

Sigmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2007, 10:37    Post subject:  

version 0.7
- uses the latest (???) Dougal-code.
- automatic size of window to show all your drives. Height does not pass 600 dpi.
- fixed splash

We could have a function for partview, eject CD/DVD...But then we need menues to not get a messy window. Menues are slightly buggy in gtkdialog, and would not be good with Barrys trick to keep the old window while loading a new one. An alternative is to use a list or combobox. But it is also important that the mounter is VERY newbie-friendly....Do you want to share your thoughts, - think loud...

Sigmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 07:10    Post subject:  

Version 0.8
- You can mount/unmount without rerender the gui.
- eject CD/DVD.
- run partview.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2007, 01:05    Post subject:  

Hi,

Is it possible that Pmount can show unmounted drive labels the same as MUT / GParted.

DC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2007, 15:05    Post subject:  

Do you mean something like this?


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 15:36    Post subject:  

version 0.9 is uploaded. See main post.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steevieb


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 286
Location: Poole, Dorset. UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 17:42    Post subject:  

Does not detect sda1, sda6 or sdb1 even if mounted (both scsi2 drives) although it does find swap at sda5
sda1 & sda6 are both ext3, sdb1 is vfat
Pmount is the same, it only finds the scsi3 drives (sdc and sdd) and swap at sda5.
(sdc1 is ext3, sdd2 is ntfs, sdd2 is vfat.)
Used 'mount all' button and sdb (vfat) was mounted, but not sda (ext3), but sdb does not show in the pdrive list, only in MUT.

MUT finds everything ok.

Also if resizing window it seems jerky.
And a minor point, on File menu, Refresh has an extra 's'. Using ver. 0.9

_________________
Slacko 5.3 scsi on Proliant server, 2x2.4ghz P4,18gb & 4x36gb scsi drives, 128mb Radeon Pci, 2gb ram, usb 2, dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 01:46    Post subject:  

If I understand you right, Pdrive doesn't act different than Pmount. If so, my gui-work is correct. My skills with drives are limited, and my hardware are few. I sure want to fix the code, but for now others have to do the investigation.

Best wishes
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 05:21    Post subject:  

Hi Zigbert,
Drive Label;
the Line "swap - sda5" seems to be right I'm not sure about the rest

If that can be included it would be great Very Happy

Any restriction on the label length? my longest label is 11 charactors

thanks
DC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 12:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
Any restriction on the label length? my longest label is 11 charactors

Not that I know. My run shows much more than 11 chars.

Please try 0.9 and give your opinion. If you have better ideas, I want to hear from you.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2007, 12:15    Post subject:  

version 0.10. See main post.

Just some new options.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2007, 08:12    Post subject:  

Hi,
Justed loaded 0.10 on to puppy 3.00 and
where ever I click (left or right) in the main body the window closes.

Went back and tried 0.9(I think) on puppy 2.17 and that works fine.

On to the layout
I've noticed that the infomation in the mount point col is repeated in the last col. If you could merge these some how then you could save some real estate.

Is it possible to adjust the popup window to be wider rather than square.

DC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2007, 08:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
Justed loaded 0.10 on to puppy 3.00 and
where ever I click (left or right) in the main body the window closes.
It's a shame I haven't upgraded to Puppy 3.00 yet. I'm on my way....0.10 works nice on 2.17.

Quote:
On to the layout
I've noticed that the infomation in the mount point col is repeated in the last col. If you could merge these some how then you could save some real estate.
The last coloumn is the message pmount sends when choosing a device. This is from the original pmount, and I feel we're not yet ready to make unique Pdrive commands. I want to stay close to the original as long as possible/necessary

Quote:
Is it possible to adjust the popup window to be wider rather than square.
My point was to hide the last coloumn, because this holds info that is either meant for the mount-function or is rather geeky.

The size (height) will fit the number of devices.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:37    Post subject:  

Version 0.11 is uploaded. see main post

Changelog
- removed last coloumn.
- should be working with Puppy 3.00.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [122 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0740s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]