Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 20:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
what happened to my puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
200monkeys
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 00:25    Post subject:  what happened to my puppy?  

i put puppy on a 200M partition on a 2G drive.

Some software started not starting, then it became more prominent until nearly nothing worked.
I now get a message at bootup:
Bummer, could not run '/sbin/getty': File too large

now just running from the CD seems slower as well, though i cannot figure why.....
Back to top
kmoffat

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 00:52    Post subject:  

Puppy Newbie here, but doesn't pup create a 256meg file to store settings? If you are using a 200Meg partition, it might be full?

guess....

p.s. puppy is very cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 02:37    Post subject: Give the Puppy some space . . .  

The smallest size that puppy tries to create (see next post) just for the pup001 (where it saves data) is indeed 256 meg
The other components that boot puppy and contain all the programs also require space. Who can suggest minimum and realistic sizes for puppy partitions?

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Tue 24 May 2005, 10:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 09:45    Post subject:  

The 256M is only what Puppy wants to create.
If there is not enough room, Pup will make a pup001 file to fit available space.
So, a 200M partition should be okay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 22:38    Post subject: re-partition size  

I gave my puppy 20 GB......He needs room to run and play Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
nduanetesh
Ultra Super-stud

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 168

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 00:56    Post subject:  

Hard drive failure? maybe? or some sort of drive corruption?

Does the error message really say "Bummer"?

Oh, and does anybody know what is "/sbin/getty"? (Can't fire up puppy at the moment, so can't check for myself.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 01:15    Post subject:  

I hope this helps...

getty Command

Purpose

Sets the characteristics of ports.

Syntax

getty [ [ -r | -u | -U ] [ -d ] [ -H HeraldString ] [ -M motdFile ] [ -N ] ] PortName

Description

The getty command sets and manages terminal lines and ports. The getty command is run by the init command. The getty command is linked to the Terminal State Manager program. The Terminal State Manager program provides combined terminal control and login functions.

Note: The getty command is not entered on the command line.

When invoked as the getty command, the Terminal State Manager program provides the normal port management functions that include:

Bidirectional use -- Allows terminal lines to be used to initiate and accept connections.
Line speed -- Sets the baud rates for sending and receiving.
Parity -- Sets the parity to be even, odd or none.
Delays -- Sets the delays for carriage return, tab, new line, and form feed.
Character set mapping -- Sets the character set mapping for case, tabs, and carriage control.
Logger Program -- Specifies the program used to log the user into the system. If the attribute is set, the Secure Attention Key (SAK) processing is disabled. If the attribute is not set, it defaults to /usr/sbin/login. The logger attribute is contained within the Object Data Manager (ODM) database.
Character and line erase -- Sets the keystroke used for character and line erase.
Echoing mode -- Sets the echo to local or remote.

Security

Access Control: This program should be installed as a program in the Trusted Computing Base, executable by any user and setuid to root.

Example

To enable logging onto tty0, add the following line to the /etc/inittab file:

tty0:2:respawn: /usr/sbin/getty /dev/tty0

This command initializes the port /dev/tty0 and sets up the characteristics of the port.

More details are found at:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/pseries/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.aix.doc/cmds/aixcmds2/getty.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
200monkeys
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 03:40    Post subject:  

here is my /etc/inittab:

::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:/sbin/getty -n -l /bin/autologinroot 38400 tty1
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
::shutdown:/tmp/rc.reboot
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot

is this correct? I have a prob when i try shutdown i get reboot........
tty0 is what i set my modem to......still learning this stuff...

also, i thought a comparison of the cd contents Vs the harddrive contents, and find almost half of my icons say ERROR and have been redirected from
/bin/busybox
to
/bif/busybob
what the??? I assume I should change them back, but anyone know what could cause this??

I do like the puppy, it just needs some love....
Back to top
200monkeys
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 03:48    Post subject:  

i just tried to change the links, instead of saying /bif/busybob it says /bin/xxx
where xxx is the name of the file, in a typebox w/ a check box "relative link". How do i change the link, not the name?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0602s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]