Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 21:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Disable Floppy Disk in Bios disables Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2005, 09:31    Post subject:  Disable Floppy Disk in Bios disables Puppy  

Hi,

I disabled my floppy disk in bios, and Chubby Puppy 1.0.4 installed on hard disk no longer boots, well it starts to boot but stops after it prints out this line:
Real Time Clock Driver v1.10f
And stays locked up for at least 5 mins (my patience has not let me test for longer periods)

Is this a bug? Does Puppy require floppy disk technology to boot, even if you never will use it?

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10691
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 01:28    Post subject:  

Would this post and the ones around it be any clue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 23:00    Post subject:  

Sorry I wasn't very clear, the kernel boot process locks up if there is no floppy disk set in BIOS, regardless of what is physically plugged into the computer.

Try it, do you have a similar problem?

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 23:54    Post subject:  

I just tried but Puppy 1.0.4 boots OK. Actually MUT takes about 30 seconds to come up, but it does not show the fd0.

I don't even have a floppy disk drive. I cannot try in a computer with fdd.

I know this does not help but at least you know that it may have to do with your particular BIOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Tue 27 Sep 2005, 03:37    Post subject:  

Yep, thanks for checking it out, I'll stop worring about this problem. Smile

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0403s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]