Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 02:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Disable Floppy Disk in Bios disables Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2005, 09:31    Post_subject:  Disable Floppy Disk in Bios disables Puppy  

Hi,

I disabled my floppy disk in bios, and Chubby Puppy 1.0.4 installed on hard disk no longer boots, well it starts to boot but stops after it prints out this line:
Real Time Clock Driver v1.10f
And stays locked up for at least 5 mins (my patience has not let me test for longer periods)

Is this a bug? Does Puppy require floppy disk technology to boot, even if you never will use it?

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 01:28    Post_subject:  

Would this post and the ones around it be any clue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 23:00    Post_subject:  

Sorry I wasn't very clear, the kernel boot process locks up if there is no floppy disk set in BIOS, regardless of what is physically plugged into the computer.

Try it, do you have a similar problem?

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 23:54    Post_subject:  

I just tried but Puppy 1.0.4 boots OK. Actually MUT takes about 30 seconds to come up, but it does not show the fd0.

I don't even have a floppy disk drive. I cannot try in a computer with fdd.

I know this does not help but at least you know that it may have to do with your particular BIOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Tue 27 Sep 2005, 03:37    Post_subject:  

Yep, thanks for checking it out, I'll stop worring about this problem. Smile

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0448s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]