Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 13:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Pdrive 0.27
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 9 [122 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 04:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
it displays my 2 win-2K ntfs volume labels correctly.
Good news.

Quote:
BarryK's Pmount will let me mount them..
Now I have messed it up again Very Happy
Please try the to replace /usr/local/pdrive/func_mount with attached file.
I do not got any ntfs drives, or much of other drives.
Because of my lack of skills and hardware it's important to stay close to the code of Pmount.

Quote:
how do you get back to (simple view) ? (like a toggle switch)
There's no such option. (at the moment).

Quote:
any special lines to stay clear of, NOT to translate ?
Not that come to my mind right here.
When Pdrive is more final, there will be language support.

Sigmund
func_mount.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  func_mount.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.91 KB 
Downloaded  397 Time(s) 

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 361
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 05:45    Post subject:  

Hi zigbert,
Testing pdrive 0.13 with new 'func_probe' with Puppy 3.00 harddrive install.
comparing to GParted volume labels
all GParted volume labels correct except hda10 vfat.

hda1 ntfs - nothing (primary partition)
hda5 ntfs - correct label
hda6 ntfs - nothing but the drive is mounted
hda7 ntfs - correct label
hda8 ntfs - correct label
hda9 ntfs - correct label
hda10 vfat - nothing in Gparted either
hda11 ntfs - correct label
hda12 ext2 - correct label
hda13 ext2 - nothing but this has my grub on it
hda 14 ext2 - correct label
hda 15 ext2 - correct label
hda 16 ext2 - correct label

sda1 ntfs - nothing (primary partition)
sda5 ntfs - correct label
sda6 ntfs - correct label
sda7 ntfs - correct label
sda8 ntfs - correct label
sda9 ntfs - correct label
sda10 ntfs - correct label
sda11 ext2 - correct label
sda12 ext2 - correct label
sda13 ext2 - correct label
sda14 ext2 - no label allocated
sda15 ext2 - correct label

will play with vfat later

DC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maddox

Joined: 28 Sep 2007
Posts: 453
Location: sometimes in France

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 13:39    Post subject:  

hi again zigbert,
your modified func_mount works for my win2-k ntfs partitions, yeah!
slight bug.. the ntfs volume label disappears when partition is mounted,
but is redisplayed when it's unmounted.
I can't tell if it happened before , because i couldn't mount ntfs
Keep up the good work ...
maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 14:00    Post subject:  

Thanks for reply.
Please try the new version, and give feedback.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 14:48    Post subject:  

A minor update. See main post.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 361
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 16:43    Post subject:  

Hi zigbert,
Just loaded pdrive 0.15 had to overwrite 'func_probe' to see ntfs labels.

for some reason can not download 'func_mount'

DC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 17:19    Post subject:  

Ok, I've resized and made me a ntfs-disk. Now it seems to work.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 19:30    Post subject:  

zigbert,

Trying out the automount feature of Pdrive. After inserting my USB key rox opens but the file names are only 8 character for instance - ndiswr~1.tgz - If I unmount and remount with Pdrive the names show up right - ndiswrapper-1.47_2.6.21.5_smp-i686-1McD.tgz

Also I have also noticed that my first partition does not show up. This is also a problem with Pmount. It is a 100meg ext3 partition. MUT sees and mounts it fine. If I recall, one of the early versions of Pdrive did see and mount this one, but unfortunately I do not recall which. If you could point me to the early versions I would be willing to test.

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 22:27    Post subject:  

That is exactly the naming messup iI experienced....

anyway here is pdrive .16 as an appdir that you can drag to the desktop and it will worklike an Icon

If you click on the folder it runs rather elegant IMO and if you want to look inside there is a right click menu option basically I just added an icon with a P on it (could be improved)

also there is a right click option to run pdrive that is set in the AppInfo.xml file you can add more options like mount all drives or whatever we can think up

The Script that actaully turns it into an Appdir is AppRun and the folder icon is defined by a hidden link .DirIcon

well all I can say right now is that I think I like AppDirs especially considering that grafburn and the Trashbin are appdirs maybe I could convert some other stuff too...

Just found out that an appdir does not run from the commandline but i have changed essentially nothing about the folder layout or other scripts so if you just overwrite the pdrive folder it still works the same execpts it is also an appdir
pdrive-appdir.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdrive-appdir.tar.gz 
Filesize  11.51 KB 
Downloaded  324 Time(s) 

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 05:29    Post subject:  

JB4x4
The detection of disks and partitions are done with 2 small puppy apps - 'probedisk' and 'probepart'. Do these detect it correct? if not, please make attention to Barry or Dougal. Either by a new thread or a pm.

cb88
I'll consider it.....
But shouldn't there also been a natrual way to find this dir - /usr/local/apps. And then, Puppy should have a strict way of organize these apps. Has Barry said anything about this or that.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 08:04    Post subject:  

zigbert,

probepart does report correctly -

/dev/hda1|ext3|192716

But this partition does not show up in Pdrive. Any ideas on the long file names with automount?

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 12:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
probepart does report correctly
Is this the one pmount doesn't show either?

Quote:
If you could point me to the early versions I would be willing to test.
please test

Quote:
Any ideas on the long file names with automount?
Try the new 0.17
pdrive-0.12.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pdrive-0.12.pet 
Filesize  9.08 KB 
Downloaded  336 Time(s) 
pdrive-0.10.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pdrive-0.10.pet 
Filesize  8.87 KB 
Downloaded  340 Time(s) 
pdrive-0.8.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pdrive-0.8.pet 
Filesize  7.5 KB 
Downloaded  336 Time(s) 

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5785
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 12:22    Post subject:  

remember to stop and restart the deamon to get new power.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 12:44    Post subject:  

I have no idea sigmund I was just experimenting with appdirs and your scripts were as good a target as any Smile

although it does seem that all the app dirs are in /usr/local/apps

in any case I was just messing around and these are your scripts so do as you see fit! Smile

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 12:51    Post subject:  

zigbert,

Pdrive 0.8 was the one that saw the partition, but clicking on the hda1 entry or any other kills the program. Pmount does see (my mistake earlier) this partition as having a size of ".G", but when trying to mount it this message pops up...

FAILURE! In the case of removable media, the most
common reason is the media is not currently inserted.
Or, you forgot to unmount the previously inserted media.
If so, please remedy.

On the plus side Pdrive 0.17 fixed the long file name issue with the USB key. Thank you.

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 9 [122 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0836s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]