Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 18:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How-To install Devx or any .SFS FULL HD STEP BY STEP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
DesertPuppy


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Mississippi

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 05:38    Post_subject:  How-To install Devx or any .SFS FULL HD STEP BY STEP
Sub_title: This works all the way up to 4.01
 

This is for all the puppy people like me who use a full hd install for puppy
And want to have devx 3.01 so they can compile stuff.
This is for puppy 3.01 but should work for other versions.

I have used this pretty much every time I install a new version of puppy.

NOTE: This is how I do it and it works every time for me,
it should work for you also if you take it step by step.


EDIT: I have confirmed this on 4.01 alpha 6


STEP 1.
First make sure you have downloaded the devx_301.sfs

NOTE: I always download it to / - that is the top directory not /root but /

STEP 2.
Next I add a few lines to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.modules file


Code:

#v2.13
#dougal suggested this:
[ ! -d /proc/acpi ] && modprobe apm



###END###


What I do is add the lines just before the ###END#### line, so now it
looks like this:

Code:

#v2.13
#dougal suggested this:
[ ! -d /proc/acpi ] && modprobe apm

#needed to be able to mount squashfs on full hd install
modprobe squashfs
# end of update


###END###


save the file and reboot
NOTE: what this does is to
load squashfs support ever time you boot puppy
.


STEP 3:
(There is a screen shot at end of post)
Make a new dir in / I always call mine /data, it's just what I do:

so now in the / directory you should see you
devx_301.sfs and the directory data

open up a terminal window from the / directory and type the following:
(again a screen shot at end of post)
Code:

#mount -o loop devx_301.sfs /data


what just happened is puppy used the data directory
to mount the .sfs file so that now you can access all the files in the sfs file.

STEP 4:
now type:
Code:
cp -a -v --remove-destination /data/* / >devcopy.txt


NOTE: there is a space between --remove-destination and /data
Also there is a space between /data/* and /
And a space between / and >devcopy.txt




it will seem like puppy has paused for a few seconds
(depends on speed of computer) just wait , when you see the # sign
again you are good to go.

NOTE: The devcopy.txt file will show you everything
that got copied over and where it went to.


STEP 5:
now type:

Code:

#umount /data
#sync


that will unmount the sfs file and if you
check /data will now be empty again.

STEP 6:

This next step may or may not be needed but I do it just to be sure:

type:


Code:

#ldconfig



STEP 7:

to test to make sure it all worked type:

Code:

#gcc


and you should get a response like:

Code:

gcc: no input files


if you do then you are all set and you
can start using puppy to compile stuff.

Like I said I use this on my system all the time and it works great!
If you change anything like the directory name
it should still work but I showed you how
I did it and I know it works like this.


I hope This was clear and easy to follow
and will save you time and frustration
when using puppy from a full hd install.
sc2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.42 KB
 Viewed   7687 Time(s)

sc2.jpg

sc1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.09 KB
 Viewed   7608 Time(s)

sc1.jpg


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 13:03    Post_subject:  

Thankyou Desertpuppy.

This is just the thing people are looking for a simple way to get the devx file loaded -- I`ve spent hours trying to get the thing to work and given up in disgust the bootmanager is useless in this regard,

Very grateful and thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mini

Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Parma, Ohio USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 13:11    Post_subject:  devx_301.sfs to a full hd installation.
Sub_title: something went wrong here..
 

desertpuppy, I just tried to install devx_301.sfs and I got a failure when I did the code in step 3, I did reboot the computer after I edited /etc/rc.d/rc.modules and also after I created the new directory in the / I will try to include a picture which explain the failure.
When I ran the code in the term I got a failure.


Mini
in Parma, Ohio
devx1.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  devx1.jpg 
Filesize  114.52 KB 
Downloaded  5773 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
ICQ 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 14:09    Post_subject:  

Where did you get devx.sfs from in your picture?.
Try #mount -o loop devx_301.sfs /data
AFTER youve changed that name or downloaded the correct sfs file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mini

Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Parma, Ohio USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 15:02    Post_subject: step 4
Sub_title: devx install to a full hd installation in puppy 301
 

I found the problem in step three , had to many spaces in the rc.modules file .
I tried to move on with the installation and in step 4 or 5 there is another failure. I will show a snapshot of what I keep getting in the term:
devx3.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  devx3.jpg 
Filesize  106.4 KB 
Downloaded  5596 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
ICQ 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 20:08    Post_subject:  

I don`t quite understand what your doing.
Your running puppy 301 on a full hd install yes?
In which case you need to download devx_301.sfs
from:-

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/sfs_modules-3

Place it in /
#mount -o loop devx_301.sfs /data
Then type
#cp -a -v --remove-destination /data/* / >devcopy.txt
Then type
#umount /data
#sync
#ldconfig

Test
#gcc
If you get gcc: no input files
Then your ok to compile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
d3xt3r

Joined: 03 Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2007, 17:40    Post_subject:  

Actually your procedure is a good reference for intoducing other SFS files to the puppy file system in a Full HD install. VERY useful. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
tlcstat

Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Location: SW Virginia mountains

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2007, 11:38    Post_subject: Devx 301 install to full HD puppy
Sub_title: works just fine
 

Perfect!
thanks
tlcstat
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
gorlewskik

Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Location: Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2007, 03:38    Post_subject: Thank you for your SFS tutorial  

I like my full install because it is faster loading than the frugal install. Now I can add developer tools to it. And load/remove other sfs files on demand.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
friednoodle

Joined: 19 Nov 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2007, 05:50    Post_subject: Much appreciated  

It worked like a dream for me, first rate how-to.
Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ZAPPDOG


Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 44
Location: CALGARY CANADA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2007, 01:29    Post_subject:  

A very nice way to install that darn devx. I've fought with that one a few times.
This way worked real nice with no problems. I am saving a copy of those instructions for future reference.
Well done

_________________
PUPPY DINGO FULL INSTALL WITH EZPUP
P4 2.6 G
P4 2.0 G
P4 1.8 G
PUPPY RULES
http://unclezapaudiozap.freeforums.org/index.php
http://sadiesdogplace.webs.com/
http://greenourplanet.webs.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dolphin

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 08:46    Post_subject:  

i have follow all of the step by step
i still got problem same as Mini got there
could anybody help ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
llol_slim

Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 08:48    Post_subject:  

dolphin .. it may be worth checking the case, as linux is case sensitive..

Data and data are two different names. That was my mistake as I had the error as well
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 09:10    Post_subject:  

The directory /data is just a temporary location to mount devx_301.sfs. You need to create it with:

mkdir /data

Also, with #mount -o loop devx_301.sfs /data , have you saved devx_301.sfs to /, do you have a directory /data, and if you enter pwd, the response should be /

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dolphin

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 09:14    Post_subject:  

i am very alert about case sensitive,
i know what am i doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0859s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]