Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 11:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
MODEM HELP ....
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
noisecontrol

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1
Location: NY

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 22:10    Post_subject:  MODEM HELP ....  

I have a Rockwell Chipset Modem - Puppy's Modem Wizard will identify it, but it is not recognized as S0 TO or ttyS0 ttyS1, 2, 3, 4 etc.

I can force it with modem-wizard-k2.4 but it still does not connect to my Netzero service.

On top of that - I cannot get the Netzero service installed. I am thoroughly confused and need a lot of help. Is there anyone out there who can get me on-line so that I can start accessing the dot pups?

Also- I'd like to thank the people in the IRC rooms for being so patient with me.

I am using Win2k professional and desperately want to permanantly migrate to linux. I have seen the benefits in the past, but only when I could afford broadband. The modem has been consistently too difficult to set up.

Best regards,

Christopher J. Bradley
noisecontrol

_________________
Noisecontrol
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11083
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2005, 23:26    Post_subject:  

Dial-up modems have been around so long you'd think they'd be a slam-dunk in Linux. Oddly enough it's on the high-speed internet that Linux seems to leave Windows behind. Go figure.

Are you familiar with the difference between Winmodems and hardware modems? If yours is a Winmodem it will be difficult, if not impossible, to get it to work in Linux.

Is there any chance you could try another modem, perhaps an external one, just to get online in Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 00:43    Post_subject:  

Here is a link to the best modem site I've found for using winmodems in linux:

http://www.linmodems.org/

Their mailing list has some VERY helpful people on it. Run their scanModem tool and send the results. I haven't tried them for use with Puppy yet, but they should be able to put you on the right track. (A list member compiled a driver for me to use with Knoppix and pointed me to the right driver for use with Fedora.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0442s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]