Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 17:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
[obsolete] Compiz-Fusion Puplet for testing -- aka "W...
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 12 [169 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 18:52    Post subject:  

@Mark: Brilliant Smile
Code:
export X_MOUSE_CURSOR=default

does it for me! Now I can use my favourite daliesque theme. woohoo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 20:28    Post subject:  

What is the ram useage for openbox and the alternatives?

it seems that lxde is a little more ram hungry than xfce (maybe i compiled something incorrectly)? I still have to try out lxde on my laptop (64mb ram) xfce doesn't run on there obviously...

also there is the consideration that xfce is really integrated and that may contribute to the apparent lower ram usage where it is actaully higher....

how is open box themed? if a gtk to jwm theme conversion is possible i guess openbox is could do that too... I'll have to get around to trying out open box when i get back...

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2007, 07:05    Post subject:  

Okay, my last post claiming that export X_MOUSE_CURSOR solved the cursor problem was inaccurate. Wierdly it isn't the setting of this variable that does it, but simply the opening of the terminal! So, I set a new theme using MU's Cursor Selector and restart X, then the curosr only works over certain windows, then I go to open the terminal and bingo! the cursors work perfectly! No need to type anything I can just close the terminal and the cursors are still fixed! So what exactly is happening when terminal gets run to fix the curors and how do I replicate it without actually opening terminal everytime I boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2007, 14:59    Post subject:  

tombh wrote:
So what exactly is happening when terminal gets run to fix the curors and how do I replicate it without actually opening terminal everytime I boot?
Check
~/.bashrc

to see if it gives you some clues.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 15:33    Post subject:  

so does wNOP support the eee pc?

cause ubuntu/compiz does.... wNOP should fit quite nicely....

cb88

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mycology


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 16:12    Post subject:  wobbling without moving
Subject description: nice little dig dirty doggy wobbles around
 

Hi fellows,
I installed wNOP like posted here. It looks great (a bit slow of course) / but COOL Cool ) . I did a Frugal install. At startup the compiz-manager opens, but compiz does not work.
I have to open a terminal and type SKIP_CHECKS=yes compiz-manager
then FUSION is coming UP Laughing
Is it possible to do that with a skript?

thanks for this unbelievable "augenschmaus"
THANK YOU ALL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 18:48    Post subject:  

Hi fellows Smile

@rarsa: Thanks, that's exactly the kind of thing I was hoping to stumble upon. So ~/.bashrc simply runs etc/profile and looking in that there was nothing obvious, so I copied it and turned it into an executable and then run it to see if it magically fixed the cursors -- nope Sad Anyway, turns out mousepad has the same magical effect -- and besides -- I discovered a *full* reboot sorts everything out -- therefore the cursor loads fine and no longer does its ugly reverting. So, that's good enough I think.

@d.preed: What do you reckon to that?

@cb88: I don't know much about the eee pc but wikipedia says it has an intel GMA 900 graphics card which is certainly powerful enough, in fact the eee pc seems like it packs a fair amount of power. I reckon wNOP would run fine on it.

@Mycology: An eye-feast! Indeed! compiz-manger is loaded from the beginning of /root/.xinitrc, if you look there you'll see where you have to put SKIP_CHECKS=yes. I guess you've got an ATI card as you mentioned using kirk's dotpet, so did you have to use the
Code:
Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
code to get proper window rendering? Where did you put it? Also, is scrolling unbearably slow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mycology


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 08:45    Post subject:  .xinit.rc missing  

@tombh
yes, its an Laptop from ASUS with a mobile RADEON X700 with 64MB

my xorg.conf
Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]"
Driver "fglrx"
Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
Option "DRI" "true"
Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "True"
Option "BackingStore" "True"

I can not find .xinit.rc in root to place "SKIP_CHECKS..."!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mycology


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 09:16    Post subject: found .xinitrc  

@tombh
how can I edit xinitrc from terminal and where should I place it?

sh-3.00# /root/.xinitrc
/root/.xinitrc: line 10: [: too many arguments
/usr/local/bin/startxfce4
/usr/local/bin/startxfce4: X server already running on display :0.0
xfce4-session: Another session manager is already running
sh-3.00# /usr/sbin/delayedrun: line 87: 18659 Terminated yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg yellow -text "WARNING! Do not unplug USB Flash drive!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
topjohn

Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 15:19    Post subject:  

mycology,

you can edit xinitrc by bringing up the run command or in a terminal "mousepad /root/.xinitrc"

hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mycology


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 17:16    Post subject: wobblebobble  

thanks topjohn

sh-3.00# SKIP_CHECKS=yes compiz-manager

Checking for Xgl: not present.
No whitelisted driver found
SKIP_CHECKS is yes, so continuing despite problems.
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: not present.
Trying again with indirect rendering:
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Comparing resolution (1280x800) to maximum 3D texture size (2048): Passed.
Checking for nVidia: not present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
Checking for Xgl: not present.
Starting emerald

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)
Backend : ini
Integration : true
Profile : default

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)
/usr/bin/compiz (video) - Warn: No 8 bit GLX pixmap format, disabling YV12 image format
/usr/bin/compiz (snow) - Info: Loaded Texture snowflake.png

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

(emerald:5216): Wnck-WARNING **: Unhandled action type (nil)

compiz starts but not stable. sometimes it is just gone and the windows hung

/root/.xinitrc reads

#!/bin/sh
# $Xorg: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.3 2000/08/17 19:54:30 cpqbld Exp $


###########################################
#loads Compiz-Fusion if configured properly

COMPIZFLAG=`cat /etc/compizflag.txt`

if [ $COMPIZFLAG = "yes" ]; then
compiz-manager &
sleep 1
fi
##########################################


. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xinit/Xresources
sysmodmap=/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
xrdb -merge -nocpp $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f $userresources ]; then
xrdb -merge -nocpp $userresources
fi

if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
xmodmap $usermodmap
fi

if [ -f /usr/X11R6/bin/XF86_SVGA ];then #0.9.9
xmodmap -e "keycode 22 = BackSpace"
xmodmap -e "keycode 107 = Delete"
fi

CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
#if [ "$CURRENTWM" = "startxfce4" ];then
# exec startxfce4
#fi


#0.9.8 sync cut-buffers and clipboard. only useful for older apps
#such as rxvt that use the cut-buffers...
#/usr/bin/autocutsel &
#...disadvantage of this is it creates a little square bottom-right of screen.

#rxvt &
if [ -e /tmp/videomode ];then #testing a video mode
video-wizard &
fi

#v1.0.7 set by xrandrshell, part of xorg wizard...
if [ -f /etc/xrandrindex ];then
XRANDRINDEX="`cat /etc/xrandrindex`"
[ ! "$XRANDRINDEX" = "0" ] && xrandr -s $XRANDRINDEX
fi


if [ -f /root/.xset.sh ];then
#this is created by /usr/X11R6/bin/gxsetshell...
eval "/root/.xset.sh"
else
#Xorg has it's own fontpath settings in /etc/X11/xorg.conf...
if [ ! "`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`" = "Xorg" ];then
xset fp+ /usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/
xset fp+ /usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/
fi
xset s 600 600 s blank
fi

#v1.0.7 also see /etc/rc.d/rc.local0
if [ -f /root/.fonts/fonts.dir ];then
xset fp+ /root/.fonts/
fi

xsetroot -cursor_name top_left_arrow

#v2.0.0
/usr/sbin/delayedrun &

#v2.01 hide cursor when not moving... (setup in /usr/sbin/input-wizard)
if [ -f /etc/mousehide ];then
IDLETIME="`cat /etc/mousehide | cut -f 1 -d ','`"
[ ! "$IDLETIME" = "0" ] && unclutter -idle $IDLETIME &
fi

#exec $CURRENTWM
#v2.11 GuestToo suggested this improvement...
which $CURRENTWM && exec $CURRENTWM
[ -x $CURRENTWM ] && exec $CURRENTWM
exec startxfce4

###END###
\if I change anything in the compiz section X does not start
when I start out of a terminal via SKIP_CHECKS.....

totally wobblebobbled Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 17:54    Post subject:  

Mycology,

I need you to be clear about something. From this post

Quote:
Hi fellows,
I installed wNOP like posted here. It looks great (a bit slow of course) / but COOL Cool ) . I did a Frugal install. At startup the compiz-manager opens, but compiz does not work.
I have to open a terminal and type SKIP_CHECKS=yes compiz-manager
then FUSION is coming UP Laughing
Is it possible to do that with a skript?

thanks for this unbelievable "augenschmaus"
THANK YOU ALL

you are saying that you got Compiz-Fusion working PERFECTLY (no windows hung) but CANNOT AUTOSTART it. And from this post
Quote:
compiz starts but not stable. sometimes it is just gone and the windows hung

you are saying you get Compiz-Fusion working AND AUTOSTARTING but NOT PERFECTLY (windows hung).

Am I correct to think this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mycology


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 18:15    Post subject: I should be much more concrete
Subject description: sorry about that
 

@ tombh
I only can start compiz from terminal typing
SKIP_CHECKS=yes compiz-manager

I did not manage autostart yet like I posted I can not restart X if I edit root/.xinitrc in the compiz-fusion-section

First I got compiz to work all seemed well -----
Now I used compiz for 15 hours maybe and it does not run stable. sometimes I lose compiz while I surf the internet or edit anything. then I have to restart compiz via SKIP_CHECKS...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 18:42    Post subject:  

So you HAVE HAD Compiz working smoothly, but it doesn't anymore?
Would you be able to post up a wNOPdump?
Here's how to do it --
(1) Download the wNOPinspect.tar.gz from the first post of this thread
(2) extract the wNOPinspect script using Xarchive -- xarchive opens automatically when you double click on any *.tar.gz file
(3) Run the script by double clicking on it (I should have programmed some indicator to show that the script has run successfully, but I didn't, sorry)
(4) After the script has run a file called wNOPdump.tar.gz will be placed on your desktop -- which you can then attach to a post on the forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mycology


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2007, 08:01    Post subject:  Curious, if you find something interesting  

/
wNOPdump.tar.gz
Description  here it is
gz

 Download 
Filename  wNOPdump.tar.gz 
Filesize  11.17 KB 
Downloaded  420 Time(s) 

_________________
ASUS Laptop 1,6 GHz Centrino ATI mobile X700 with "DOGS" on USB-Pendrive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 12 [169 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0850s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0086s) ][ GZIP on ]