Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 08:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Upgrading size
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 06:44    Post_subject:  Upgrading size  

Confused Embarassed

Tee Hee

As you know Puppy booting from CD creates a Dotpup001

My 256 megs of space was filling up so I decided to upgrade the size using
utililities / resize root

So I ran it and may have closed a program or two . . .

You mean I shoud have read this:

PLEASE BE SURE THAT ALL OTHER APPLICATIONS ARE CLOSED,
AS THIS SCRIPT ABRUPTLY UNMOUNTS pup001 FROM /root.
PLEASE CHECK THIS BEFORE PROCEEDING.

Pah! Not fair. I expect me to behave badly and Puppy to behave well. Smile (Yep I am a true uneasonable end user)

So I lost my data (can not even remember what it was) Probably some emails from admiring cructaceans.

eh - this is the second time I have done this.

So suggestion - add text that your programs will all be closed and close
and inform me that the computer is disabled for a few moments and disable it.

Puppy needs to be protected from Idiots. I am that idiot.

How long did it take me to get back into Puppy to post this - no time.

Embarassed

How did I know Puppy 001 was corrupt
Well on the reboot I was asked that famed Puppy koan

Password:

Password - wassat?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 07:36    Post_subject:  

...well, I hope the resizing thing is still working, what with our new kernel.

Lobster, since you seem to be often starting off with a new pup001 file, you probably won't mind doing risking it again... try a resize again, following the instructions, see if it does still work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 08:36    Post_subject: works  

Yep works.
Shocked

Just follow instruction wait about 40 sec and 512meg added to puppy001 (the save file) or 64 - or whatever - I went for the max

Should it have a message " . . . Please wait . . . resizing." whilst resizing?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11069
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 13:11    Post_subject:  

It is worth noting for future reference that if you choose # 2 of JohnM's Opera Puppy's boot options - Not to Save to Hard Drive - it doesn't even look for a pup001 file when it boots. This eliminates the noxious request for a password when pup001 gets corrupted. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0448s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]