Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
How I got Asus Eee PC sound to work in 3.01
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
nibl


Joined: 07 Dec 2006
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 21:31    Post_subject:  How I got Asus Eee PC sound to work in 3.01  

I found out how to get sound working on the Asus Eee PC.

First, Thanks to Tempestuous, one of his previous posts got me on the right track for testing, once I knew which module to search for in the forum, i.e. snd-hda-intel.

Here is what to do:

- Edit /etc/modprobe.conf and add this line:

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig

- Reboot (saving settings)

- Set volume by clicking menu Multimedia/Puppy Sound Mixer

Puppy should now have audible sound playback Smile


Notes:

I have not tested the microphone yet.

"Master" is the main control for maximum sound output, possibly with "pcm" or "speaker" as a sub control. This depends on the parameter (see below). The parameter used above "3stack-dig" uses master and speaker.

The modules needed are: snd-hda-intel, snd-pcm-oss, snd-mixer-oss, snd-seq-oss. These are loaded by default in Puppy 3.01.

Parameters:
Instead of 3stack-dig, you can try one of the following parameters: 3stack-6ch, 3stack-6ch-dig, 6stack-dig. Note, the parameter "auto" did not work. I did not test "lenovo".

Maybe someone with 6 Channel audio speakers can report on that.

I have only tested this on the 701 4GB model Serial Number 7B series. Please add results for other models or revisions.


Tested on Puppy 3.01. Please report on other versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 706
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2007, 20:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Yes, it works
 

I confirmed this does work with Puppy 3.01 on my Eee Pc. It is the same as yours, Model 701. Thanks for the help.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2007, 08:41    Post_subject: 2.13  

Here's the modprobe.conf lines with Puppy version 2.13:
Code:
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
options sb io=0x220 irq=7 dma=1 dma16=5 mpu_io=0x330

and at the bottom, these last two lines:
Code:
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel

Since I did not get the microphone working with this, is it correct for me to remove the last two lines and substitute
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig
?
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2007, 09:14    Post_subject:  

Raffy,
Don't delete anything. Just add that extra line at the end. The "option" line gives additional instructions to the ALSA driver (snd-hda-intel).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2007, 20:19    Post_subject: no success  

Thanks, tempestuous. I have been working on this since last night using different model= but no success so far. I looked at /tmp/bootsysinit.log and found:
Code:
Starting sound driver: snd-hda-intel
done
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'PCM',0

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 09:52    Post_subject: rc.alsa  

Have tried different "model=" parameters and restarted many times using rc.alsa, and the same error message shows.

EDIT I solved the sound problem in breeezy for model 701 by compiling a newer ALSA version. Newer Puppy Linux releases solve the sound driver problem by including the newer ALSA.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dale5351

Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 30 Apr 2008, 02:54    Post_subject: Re: Solved: Eee PC sound
Sub_title: Sound configuration on Asus Eee PC for Puppy Linux
 

nibl wrote:
I found out how to get sound working on the Asus Eee PC.
- Edit /etc/modprobe.conf and add this line:

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig

Thank you -- for days now, I have been pulling out what hair I have left over this problem. Managed to find your post tonight. Tried it, and it worked. Happy camper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lotus Power

Joined: 12 Jun 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun 2008, 18:09    Post_subject: EEEPC 900
Sub_title: Still no sound
 

Hi Everyone,

I tried the following insturctions which were (very helpfully) posted earlier:

Edit /etc/modprobe.conf and add this line:

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig

- Reboot (saving settings)

- Set volume by clicking menu Multimedia/Puppy Sound Mixer


But I still have no sound! Does anyone have any other ideas? The above got the speaker icon onto the taskbar, but nothing more!

Thank you!

LP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
renuvio

Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 23:28    Post_subject: workaroaund to a similar problem (no sound in 3.01)  

Hello everybody:

This is my first post in this place.

Puppy Linux is great.

Let me say i have a similar problem.

I found yesterday that sound was not available when i was still running v. 3.01 from a USB pendrive.

Alsaconf detected the soundcard, but it fails after try to insert snd-hda-intel.

I tried the solution proposed in this thread, without success. Then what i did was to copy /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/sound from a system booted from cd over the files of the no-sound system; rebooted, running again alsaconf, and that works. I have sound again, and i'm not sure what was the problem, maybe the files were corrupted.

Thanks for let me share this with all of us.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wrybread

Joined: 01 Oct 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 03 Nov 2008, 09:32    Post_subject:  

Thanks, this worked on my Asus 1000H. Small note: I had to run the Alsa wizard before it would work. And in XMMS I had to tell it to use the Alsa mixer.

It's funny though, I could swear the speakers sounded much better and louder when I was using Windows. But alas that harddrive is now crashed so I can't confirm.

Sounds great through headphones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 04 Nov 2008, 04:54    Post_subject:  

wrybread wrote:
And in XMMS I had to tell it to use the Alsa mixer.

If you install the properly configured (and thoroughly optioned) version of XMMS 1.2.11 from here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26528
that adjustment is not necessary.

Please note that the ALSA configuration discussed in this thread is not relevant from Puppy version 4.1.
Puppy 4.1's standard snd-hda-intel ALSA driver will provide out-of-the-box audio playback ... though for microphone support you will need the modified ALSA driver from here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=237741#237741
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0719s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]