Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 20:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Unable to get online with ADSL
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
Grunya
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 05:31    Post subject:  Unable to get online with ADSL  

I use adsl-setup to config my adsl-network.
After it run adsl-start. It says that connected!
But i can't see any webpage in Mozilla, I can't download my e-mails, etc.

What should i do?
Back to top
Grunya
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 05:33    Post subject:  

I use puppy 1.0.4 in a Multisession CD-R...
Back to top
thoughtjourney

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 61
Location: Sutton, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2005, 09:40    Post subject:  

Have you tried the Ethernet wizard?

Start->Setup->Ethernet/network wizard?

This will correctly (well, has always worked for me) setup your ethernet interface, eth0

_________________
in the beginning was the Logos

http://thoughtjourney.aus.cc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2005, 00:30    Post subject:  

I'm using Bellsouth ADSL and the ethernet wizard worked fine for me. I can also use my 5 port wired network. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grunya
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2005, 05:14    Post subject:  

Ethernet wizard doesn't work for me. I don't know why...
I have a surecom ep 320-s PCI ethernet card (MYSON technology)
The fealnx driver is loaded, so it should be work, but i become the message that ethernet wizard doesn't find any connactable network or something like this. But after it I can connect with adsl-setup and adsl-start, so I think that it works... Maybe the DNS not good. I wanted to edit /etc/resolv.conf file but i can't. I see an error icon in ROX at this file.

Sorry for this very bad english... Embarassed I hope that it's undersandable..
Back to top
Grunya
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 03:46    Post subject:  

Please help me somebody! I have yet the same Problem with Puppy 1.0.5
What should I do? adsl-setup works, also adsl-start, but i can't communicate with internet, e-mail, etc...
These drivers are loaded: felnx, ppp_generic.
Should i load any other driver for adsl?
Or should i edit the resolv.conf file? (I can't do this)
Back to top
gowish
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 04:28    Post subject: adsl-setup  

Give the dns-servers. Worked for me.
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 04:34    Post subject:  

Where should I edit the dns-servers???
And what should i type in?
Back to top
gowish
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 04:58    Post subject: adsl-setup  

- run adsl-setup in a terminal:
# adsl-setup
- give your username
- give your interface (I accepted default)
- give dns (I did a Google-search for the dns-servers of my isp)
>>> Enter the DNS information here: 99.99.99.99
- give secondary dns (or you can give the primary dns again)
>>> Enter the secondary DNS server address here: 99.99.99.99
- give your pppoe-password twice
- give type of firewall
- accept
- start connection
# adsl-start
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 05:37    Post subject:  

Thank you gowish! I will probe that at afternoon, when i come home.
But in other distribution always had work, when i type hier "server".

And for me that ppp roar penguin (or what) also doesn't work.
Back to top
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 07:21    Post subject:  

See this message please:

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2628

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2005, 03:00    Post subject:  

Thanks again gowish! It works! Mu! I think, what gowish say is the easiest way. You should try too.
Back to top
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2005, 03:43    Post subject:  

Can we say that this problem is solved?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Grunya
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 14:21    Post subject:  

Yes! We can say, that this problem is solved! I write this post under Puppy. So it works perfectly. Smile
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0702s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]