Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 02:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Still have Windows on some PC's
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2005, 23:31    Post_subject:  Still have Windows on some PC's  

I have burned about a dozen Puppy CD's, and gave them to a bunch of my friends so they could try Puppy for them selves.

I'm kinda partial to Puppy-0.9.9-opera

I have only found one PC that wouldn't boot it (tweeked BIOS now it boots)

I have 20 or so different (flavors?) of Linux burned to disk, and 3 or 4 of them I like real good.

The closest LUG ( linux users group) to my location is about 40 miles away.

I was hoping that I could start one in my area.

I Live on the Ste. Geneveive Missouri area.

This probably isn't in the right forum, but I had to get it off my chest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2005, 01:28    Post_subject:  

I know how you feel. I have a stack of Linux CDs that I have burned and I run them all in Virtual PC on a Mac. Puppy is my favorite. I would love to even have an X86 machine to run them on without emulation. I ditched all my X86 boxes a few years ago in revolt to M$. At the time I had only played with Red Hat a little and didn't want to mess with it. I just wanted something to work (hence the Macs). Now that I am satisfied and comfortable (board) with OS X, I want to learn more about Linux. But need a box Confused A user group would help a lot since I'm on my own out here too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2005, 12:03    Post_subject:  

There's always the chatroom guys. Apart from that we're all pretty much in the same boat.

Puppy users are spread to the four corners of the world .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2005, 16:29    Post_subject:  

Yeah. I've never gotten any help with my computer in real-life except for when my uncle installed my harddrive way back when. Everything I've needed I've gotten from the internet, whether from forums or help pages. I haven't even needed to use the IRC. But then I'm also one of those people who doesn't like asking for help. I like to try to figure it out myself when I can. (If someone teaches you to fish, you'll eat well for life. If you teach yourself to fish, you'll also feel well for live.)

Trial and error almost never hurt anybody.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2005, 17:59    Post_subject: Puppy is the one!  

I don't have a problem getting old X86 PC's.

People out here are throwing them away and buying new Windows pieces
of junk...I love it.

I have 10 or so with several different flavors of linux running on them.

I'm writing this to you on the latest version of Puppy-1.0.2-mozilla

I moved an old Mobil home in behind my house, it's just a shell but the ketchen
and dining room are slowly becoming a computer tinkering and repair area.

All I need are electricty (besides an extention cord) and a cat5 cable run down there for my high speed hookup.

I have an old Proliant 5000 up and running with red hat, it runs pretty good.

I'm currently looking for people who have flat panel monitors that are upgrading to larger flat panels who want to get rid of their old hardware.

sure saves a lot of space.

Well I could rattle on all night so I better stop and let somebody else get a word in edge wise.

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 18:49    Post_subject: I have a duel boot system!  

Xandros is the first boot and Window 2003 Server is the other!
Xandros runs my buisness -Quickbook 2000- On a dual AMD MP system
Window 2003 runs Virtual PC -that runs other OS: Linux-Unix-Windows-DOS : installed or if LiveCD from iso file. I have many Destro's Live and install.
I have found that for Windows user's Xandros is and easy sell. I user Sun Java Desktop System Live CD for bench boot data transfer. Puppy I watch puppy evole (note: after a linux show, a few years back, where I saw a text base linux boot from ide Flash drive - went on the hunt for the ide flash drive-once found I turn to the matter of the OS - under 210 meg- found puppy it had most of that I was looking for) as puppy evole I test it and watch get near meeting all my needs for an OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2005, 20:47    Post_subject:  

Xandros is the first boot and Window 2003 Server is the other!
Xandros runs my buisness -Quickbook 2000- On a dual AMD MP system

How are you running QB on a linux machine? QB is the only program holding me back from junking my MS machine. I have used QB 5.0 since '96 and never needed to upgrade but I always had to have a Ms machine running it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2005, 08:47    Post_subject: Xandros runs QB 2000  

Xandros 3.0 Deluxe (soon out Xandros 3.0 Buisness ED.) uses custom Version of Crossover to run QB2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2005, 00:01    Post_subject: Xandros  

I got tired of the kids crashing their X OS PC's and loaded Xandros
on them. (not MACs)

Now they don't crash Very Happy

They can do everything they were doing, on line and gaming, school
research,etc.....

It is about as close as you can get to that other OS, without the bad
qualities.

I'm using the downloaded version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2005, 12:56    Post_subject: puppy on a wireless laptop  

Well I'm posting this from a Toshiba 4010CDS laptop.

It took a while with a lot of help from the forum regulars, but I'm wireless.

Linksys WPC11 ver4 PCMCIA card.

160 mb ram

266 mhz processor

I'm really happy with my puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0599s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]