Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 06:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to add Xvesa modes? (for 1680 x 1050 screen)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
DavidBell

Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2008, 02:19    Post_subject:  How to add Xvesa modes? (for 1680 x 1050 screen)  

Hello,

(Puppy 2.16)

I recently got a new 1680 x 1050 screen which works nice from my notebook but the graphics in my little VIA EPIA-ML PC doesn't support that size.

In xorgwizard, the best that comes up for Xorg is 1280 x 1024 (which I think comes from the graphics chip) and it's badly stretched. (Actually 1680 x 1050 does come up, but it doesn't work)

My understanding is Xvesa doesn't use the graphics chip and just does it alone. In Xvesa the best mode 0x013E 1400 x 1050 which is not bad but it would be nice if I could get the full 1680 width.

Anyway my question is, is it possible to add a new mode to Xvesa? Or is there a way to switch off acceleration in Xorg and get the mode in that?

TIA

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2008, 03:48    Post_subject:  

try this for xorg:

type:
xrandr

This should show something like this:
Code:
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 400 x 300, current 1680 x 1050, maximum 1680 x 1050
default connected 1680x1050+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1680x1050      60.0*
   1024x768       60.0 
   1400x1050      60.0 
   1280x1024      60.0 


If you have luck, that works.
If xrandr does not work, try ddcprobe.
But that often fails with an error:
edidfail

So I use xrandr.

Important is to get the frequency for the desired resolution.

If it is 60.0, then type:
gtf 1680 1050 60.0

This will show something like this:
Code:
# gtf 1680 1050 60.0

  # 1680x1050 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 65.22 kHz; pclk: 147.14 MHz
  Modeline "1680x1050_60.00"  147.14  1680 1784 1968 2256  1050 1051 1054 1087  -HSync +Vsync



Now edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

In the
section "Monitor"
add those values from gtf.

Example:
Code:
Modeline "1680x1050"  147.14  1680 1784 1968 2256  1050 1051 1054 1087  -HSync +Vsync



Note:
I replaced
"1680x1050_60.00"
with:
"1680x1050"

Also be shure to have in
Section "Screen"
the line:
Modes "1680x1050"



Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DavidBell

Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2008, 06:06    Post_subject:  

Thanks Mark

When I run from Xorg @ 1280x1024 I get

Code:
sh-3.00# xrandr
 SZ:    Pixels          Physical       Refresh
*0   1280 x 1024   ( 471mm x 302mm )  *60 
 1   1280 x 960    ( 471mm x 302mm )   60 
 2   1024 x 768    ( 471mm x 302mm )   70   60 
 3    800 x 600    ( 471mm x 302mm )   60   56 
 4    640 x 480    ( 471mm x 302mm )   60 
Current rotation - normal
Current reflection - none
Rotations possible - normal
Reflections possible - none
sh-3.00#   


From Xvesa @ 1400x1050 I get

Code:
sh-3.00# xrandr
 SZ:    Pixels          Physical       Refresh
 0    640 x 480    ( 474mm x 356mm )
 1    800 x 600    ( 474mm x 356mm )
 2   1024 x 768    ( 474mm x 356mm )
 3   1280 x 1024   ( 474mm x 356mm )
*4   1400 x 1050   ( 474mm x 356mm )
 5    848 x 480    ( 474mm x 356mm )
 6    720 x 480    ( 474mm x 356mm )
 7   1280 x 768    ( 474mm x 356mm )
 8    720 x 576    ( 474mm x 356mm )
Current rotation - normal
Current reflection - none
Rotations possible - normal left inverted right
Reflections possible - X Axis Y Axis
sh-3.00#


I also ran ccdprobe from Xvesa

Code:
vbe: VESA 3.0 detected.
oem: VIA CLE266
vendor:
product: 
memory: 32768kb
mode: 640x480x256
mode: 800x600x16
mode: 800x600x256
mode: 1024x768x256
mode: 1280x1024x256
mode: 80x60 (text)
mode: 640x480x64k
mode: 640x480x16m
mode: 800x600x64k
mode: 800x600x16m
mode: 1024x768x64k
mode: 1024x768x16m
mode: 1280x1024x64k
mode: 1280x1024x16m
edid:
edid: 1 3
id: d014
eisa: DELd014
serial: 31345953
manufacture: 47 2007
input: sync on green, analog signal.
screensize: 47 30
gamma: 2.200000
dpms: RGB, active off, suspend, standby
timing: 720x400@70 Hz (VGA 640x400, IBM)
timing: 640x480@60 Hz (VGA)
timing: 640x480@75 Hz (VESA)
timing: 800x600@60 Hz (VESA)
timing: 800x600@72 Hz (VESA)
timing: 800x600@75 Hz (VESA)
timing: 1024x768@87 Hz Interlaced (8514A)
timing: 1024x768@75 Hz (VESA)
ctiming: 1152x864@75
ctiming: 1280x1024@60
dtiming: 1680x1050@77
monitorserial: WM4977BN14YS
monitorrange: 30-83, 56-75
monitorname: DELL E228WFP


Ran gtf on the only 1680 in all of that ...

Code:
sh-3.00# gtf 1680 1050 77

  # 1680x1050 @ 77.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 84.47 kHz; pclk: 193.27 MHz
  Modeline "1680x1050_77.00"  193.27  1680 1800 1984 2288  1050 1051 1054 1097  -HSync +Vsync


Added
Code:

Modeline "1680x1050"  193.27  1680 1800 1984 2288  1050 1051 1054 1097  -HSync +Vsync

to [Monitiors]

and

Modes       "1650x1050"

to [Screen]


But Xorg still didn't like it, it wouldn't start and I had to cut the power.

Any suggestions? Thanks David
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2008, 07:05    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Modeline "1680x1050" 193.27 1680 1800 1984 2288 1050 1051 1054 1097 -HSync +Vsync

to [Monitiors]

and

Modes "1650x1050"

to [Screen]



Modes "1650x1050"

Typo-error, or you have that in your conf?
must be 80.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DavidBell

Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2008, 17:38    Post_subject:  

I still get a black screen (I can Ctl-Alt-Backspace out though)

This is the Xorg.conf that xordwizard makes

Code:

#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

# This loads the GLX module
    Load       "glx"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   HorizSync    30-83
   VertRefresh  56-71
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "VBEModes"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "HWCursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SWCursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "Rotate"                # [<str>]
   #Option     "VideoRAM"              # <i>
   #Option     "ActiveDevice"          # [<str>]
   #Option     "LCDDualEdge"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "BusWidth"              # [<str>]
   #Option     "Center"                # [<bool>]
   #Option     "PanelSize"             # [<str>]
   #Option     "ForcePanel"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "TVDotCrawl"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "TVDeflicker"           # <i>
   #Option     "TVType"                # [<str>]
   #Option     "TVOutput"              # [<str>]
   #Option     "DisableVQ"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DRIXINERAMA"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DisableIRQ"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "EnableAGPDMA"          # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoAGPFor2D"            # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "via" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Unknown Vendor"
   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1680x1050"
    EndSubsection
EndSection
#PuppyHardwareProfile=VIA_CLE266DELd014


I changed one sections

Code:

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   HorizSync    30-83
   VertRefresh  56-71
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   Modeline "1680x1050"  193.27  1680 1800 1984 2288  1050 1051 1054 1097  -HSync +Vsync
EndSection


Thanks again. DB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2008, 10:00    Post_subject:  

Using puppy 301

I have this
DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82946GZ/GL Integrated Graphics Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 2972 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

and
Acer x193p widescreen monitor.

The monitor's maximum resolution is 1440x900 which is available in the xorg wizard (at 24 bit) but produces a significantly blurred image - not usueless but impractical. I think some frequency is wrong. Vertical lines are worst affected. I've tried the tweek button. The strings '82946' and '946' produced no relevant help in a search of this forum. I've run randr and gtf and edited xorg.conf as advised at this thread and

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=15515

1440x900x24 is also xvesa wizard but has the same fault. If I boot ms can I get the settings from there somehow? Any advice as to how to get it working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0969s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]