Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 02:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Screen freezes after about 5mins of no use
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Graham Power

Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 08:28    Post_subject:  Screen freezes after about 5mins of no use  

Ok to start off like too thank all people involved with puppy
My problem is after about 5mins of no human input my screen freezes and no hd activity. I manually shut down the laptop. Then on restart puppy tries to reboot but only gets to network device then stops with a # mark to the left . ( then i do a reinstall )

things that i have tried
Gone to bios turn off all power/battery saving timers
Only install my network module (pcmcia D-link air plus)

Laptop is a IBM 390E with 64M ram and 300Mhz cpu

When going it goes fairly well
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 10:32    Post_subject: Try VESA  

This is a bit of a long shot, but I have had trouble with Xorg on my old 400mhz machine. Try switching to VESA and see if that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 10:34    Post_subject:  

Create a swap-partition.
Boot from CD, then run gparted from the menu.
It allows to resize an existing partition.
Decrease one by 200 to 500 MB.
Then create a new one, and use "Linux-Swap" as filesystem.
Then reboot.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6688
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 19:07    Post_subject:  

And, reboot with puppy pfix=ram, because otherwise your cdrom will grab any pup_save file on your hard disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 19:51    Post_subject:  

After a manual shutdown on your computer, you should not have to reinstall puppy when you see the # prompt!
The next time you have to do a manual shutdown and see that prompt, just type "xwin" at it. If the first time you type it, you get a message in red text telling you the computer was not properly shut down, just type "xwin" again. It should take you to the desktop with your settings secure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Graham Power

Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2008, 01:05    Post_subject:  

Thanks for all the suggestions I found that it was the screensaver was freezing the screen turned it off and all good so far
I will not call this a fix but a workaround . Or I do not have enough ram to run a screen saver.
Thanks 8-bit for that info it will save me alot of time
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0478s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]