Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 03:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha6 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 11:18    Post subject:
Subject description: Not able to go to my website with gFTP
 

Béèm wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Béèm wrote:
This annoys me a lot.
A password field lenght issue.
See: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=170856#170856

I would appreciate a solution.

I've used gFTP for years, never run into a problem with password size.
I think, from memory, the biggest password I have used is 10 characters.
The problem is more likely to be the ftp server at the other end.
The problem is I can't enter a password bigger then 7 characters in the gui field of gFTP. No problem to enter a userid bigger then 7 characters.

It's not a question of a problem at the server end as I can go to it with FileZilla in Windows without a problem.

EDIT
I tried in 3.01 with gFTP at 2.0.18, same problem.
As I had FileZilla in 3.01 installed also I tried and I have no problem to connect to my website.
So definitely a problem in gFTP.

It only displays 7 characters but you can type in any length password.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 666
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 14:06    Post subject:
Subject description: Thank you, Tempestuous
 

Thank you for the information. I have tried the wpa_supplicant version 0.5.8 and it does work in Dingo. I know that Eee PC Atheros card driver is special. Assus has not released the source code for the driver. I wish they would. There must a "proprietary information" contained in the source. I will stop talking about this issue. Once again, thank you for your efforts on ath_pci driver in the past.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 14:19    Post subject:
Subject description: Not able to go to my website with gFTP
 

BarryK wrote:

It only displays 7 characters but you can type in any length password.

Strange, my answer lost in cyberspace. Second time this week.
So I must apologize. Embarassed
I must have typed several times an error in the password and as there is no movement of the asterisks when typing beyond 7 characters I thought there was a cut off.

So it's working then.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 15:25    Post subject:
Subject description: KERNEL MODULE: unknow
 

Not that it apparently effects the working of the laptop, but I wondered why I have "KERNEL MODULE: unknown" when displaying the PCI interface info.
Quote:
DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 3340 KERNEL MODULE: intel-agp

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 3341 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c2 KERNEL MODULE: uhci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c4 KERNEL MODULE: uhci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c7 KERNEL MODULE: uhci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24cd KERNEL MODULE: ehci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 2448 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24cc KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24ca KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c3 KERNEL MODULE: i2c-i801

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c5 KERNEL MODULE: snd-intel8x0

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c6 KERNEL MODULE: slamr

DESCRIPTION:
VENDOR: 1002 DEVICE: 4c57 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Texas Instruments PCI1510 PC card Cardbus Controller
VENDOR: 104c DEVICE: ac56 KERNEL MODULE: yenta_socket

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 1043 KERNEL MODULE: ipw2200

DESCRIPTION: Texas Instruments TSB43AB21 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
VENDOR: 104c DEVICE: 8026 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB PRO/100 VE (MOB) Ethernet Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 103d KERNEL MODULE: eepro100

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 19:17    Post subject:
Subject description: KERNEL MODULE: unknow
 

Béèm wrote:
Not that it apparently effects the working of the laptop, but I wondered why I have "KERNEL MODULE: unknown" when displaying the PCI interface info.
Quote:
DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 3340 KERNEL MODULE: intel-agp

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 3341 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c2 KERNEL MODULE: uhci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c4 KERNEL MODULE: uhci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c7 KERNEL MODULE: uhci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24cd KERNEL MODULE: ehci-hcd

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 2448 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24cc KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24ca KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c3 KERNEL MODULE: i2c-i801

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c5 KERNEL MODULE: snd-intel8x0

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 24c6 KERNEL MODULE: slamr

DESCRIPTION:
VENDOR: 1002 DEVICE: 4c57 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Texas Instruments PCI1510 PC card Cardbus Controller
VENDOR: 104c DEVICE: ac56 KERNEL MODULE: yenta_socket

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 1043 KERNEL MODULE: ipw2200

DESCRIPTION: Texas Instruments TSB43AB21 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
VENDOR: 104c DEVICE: 8026 KERNEL MODULE: unknown

DESCRIPTION: Intel Corporation 82801DB PRO/100 VE (MOB) Ethernet Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 103d KERNEL MODULE: eepro100

Yes, that's a bit untidy. In most cases it means that support for the interface is built-in to the kernel and there is no module.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 19:22    Post subject:
Subject description: KERNEL MODULE: unknow
 

BarryK wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Not that it apparently effects the working of the laptop, but I wondered why I have "KERNEL MODULE: unknown" when displaying the PCI interface info.

Yes, that's a bit untidy. In most cases it means that support for the interface is built-in to the kernel and there is no module.
Thank you, good to know.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 06:44    Post subject: Missing picture information?
Subject description: Youtube ok
 

I have difficulties in finding out why picture information is missing;
Works with MS Windows XP , anyone know this.


I have included screenshot of the second german tv broadcasting service ZDF

Help please
www.zdf.de.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   80.95 KB
 Viewed   786 Time(s)

www.zdf.de.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 06:58    Post subject:  

Tui: your picture has massive overflow.
If you search for the original advice, someone described a neat online utility to size your pictures. There are still folks out there using 640x480 on 14" monitors! Spare a thought.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 19:53    Post subject:  

Hi Sage,
Thanks for your info. I am not sure what you mean
with the term " MASSIVE OVERFLOW". This was a screenshot
taken of the website on an Acer travelmate widescreen laptop.

Yes if you mean as I show it that the picture in the centre is small
in relationship to the width of the screen then it is somewhat not a
nice view. Also I have re-scaled the resolution to 800x600 and
640x480, to try what things look like, yes one does not need
reading glasses with these.. But the problem is still there! Have you tried this website yourself ?

Also what and where is this " online utility to size pictures"? Regarding
the 640x480 resolution I am not sure why they want to run with
this res other than eyesight problems, then I am all for it in that
condition.

Any one else out there tried this website ?

Help please.

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10944
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 23:12    Post subject:  

Tui, I'd guess this is not due to a bug in Dingo alpha 6 but rather a limitation or misconfiguration of the program used to view the image.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wingruntled

Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 287
Location: Great Lakes

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 00:24    Post subject:  

I'm with Sage with the bloated screen captures. They drive me nuts because they mess up all the text in the thread also. It's like eating corn on the cob, back&forth & back&forth.
It's so easy to change the screen shot size before you even save it in mtpaint screen capture util that I am going to start working on a "Forum friendly screen shot Tutor" and post it in the How To forum.
A graphical tutor at that!
These 700+ Kb 1024 X 768 an larger screen shots suck. especially for us poor saps on dialup Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 00:55    Post subject:  

Thanks Flash,
Have you looked at this website ? Maybe have
a look and let me know what you get.

I am using "SEAMONKEY" maybe firefox could change the situation.

It's better if one browser can fix the problem, and then I can bye
bye the rest!
The problem does not exist in MS-WINDOWS

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 01:08    Post subject:  

Hi Flash how do I pull the width down to 800?

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 05:34    Post subject:  

Tui wrote:
Hi Flash how do I pull the width down to 800?

Cheers Tui

mtpaint
image-scale canvas
if your image is a screen shot with limited colours
image convert to indexed
and saving as gif or png can often give you better compression.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ferikenagy

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 11:45    Post subject: puppy universal instaler  

puppy universal instaler don't fiind puppy files installed in different directory than root /
inst.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.33 KB
 Viewed   803 Time(s)

inst.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0994s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]