Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 03:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
grub boot manager
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2005, 21:25    Post subject:  

I currently have grub running with selections for my Windows drive and my FC3 drive (with multiple kernel choices that I need to clean up). If I do an Option 2 install with grub, will it add to my current grub.conf file or will it replace it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2005, 23:22    Post subject: I'd edit the existing menu.lst  

babbs wrote:
I currently have grub running with selections for my Windows drive and my FC3 drive (with multiple kernel choices that I need to clean up). If I do an Option 2 install with grub, will it add to my current grub.conf file or will it replace it?


If it were me and I already had GRUB installed, I'd choose not to let Puppy install GRUB. Just edit your existing menu.lst file to boot the new Puppy.

Example below:

Indent where appropriate. Change pup size and locations for your system

# for type 1 install

title Puppy version 1.0.2
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram PFILE=pup001-none-131072 PHOME=hda5
initrd /image.gz

# for a type 2 install (I think the initrd line is correct, but can't verify now right now)

title Puppy Linux (hda7)
kernel (hd0,6)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7

Last edited by Bruce B on Tue 31 May 2005, 04:42; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 09:53    Post subject:  

title = Puppy Linux
rootnoverify (hd1,4)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup001-none-262144 PHOME=hdb5
initrd /image.gz

This worked for me. Don't forget the initrd line, and adjust the drive spec.
Back to top
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 03:16    Post subject:  

I'm thinking that I missed something... I did a type 2 install to the first partition in the first hard drive (Windoz is now all gone) with a manual insertion of Puppy into the grub.conf file. When I select Puppy from the grub boot menu, I get an "Error 15 File Not Found".

Here is my grub.conf:


Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd1,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdc2
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
password --md5 {Removed}
title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.14_FC3)
   root (hd1,0)
   kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.14_FC3 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
   initrd /initrd-2.6.11-1.14_FC3.img
title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
   rootnoverify (hd0,0)
   kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup001-none-262144 PHOME=hda1
   initrd /image.gz



Does it look like I missed anything?

Last edited by babbs on Wed 01 Jun 2005, 01:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 04:23    Post subject: Comparing our menu.lst commands  

Comparing our GRUB commands

----------------------------

MINE

title Puppy Linux HD
kernel (hd0,6)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7


YOURS

title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup001-none-262144 PHOME=hda1
initrd /image.gz

PUPPY version 1.0.2 default type 2 instruction example for you

title Linux (on /dev/hda7)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7 ro vga=normal


------------------------

MY COMMENTS:

It looks to me as if you have instructions to boot a type 1 install but your post said you did a type 2 install. I think this is the problem.

I think you should follow the example from Puppy's default rather than my example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 11:20    Post subject:  

I did do a type 2 install.

Should I specify that the kernel is on /dev/hda1 (hd0,0) or should I put a copy of the kernel in the /dev/hdc1/boot partition with the Fedora kernels? The /boot partition is 100M so I'm not running short on space in there.

Thanks!
babbs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 17:18    Post subject: Where is the kernel?  

babbs wrote:
I did do a type 2 install.

Should I specify that the kernel is on /dev/hda1 (hd0,0) or should I put a copy of the kernel in the /dev/hdc1/boot partition with the Fedora kernels? The /boot partition is 100M so I'm not running short on space in there.

Thanks!
babbs


IF I understand and I think I do - I'd leave the Puppy kernel where Puppy installed it and tell menu.lst where it is.

I think this is right for you:


title Puppy Linux (on /dev/hda1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 ro vga=normal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 19:30    Post subject:  

Do you have a /boot directory in your Puppy installation.

Have a look at the Wiki under, PageIndex, GrubPuppyBoot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 20:44    Post subject: Do I have a /boot directory?  

Ian wrote:
Do you have a /boot directory in your Puppy installation.

Have a look at the Wiki under, PageIndex, GrubPuppyBoot.


I couldn't tell if you asked this questio of me. Maybe not.

YES I have a /boot directory IF I have a type 2 install

NO I don't have a /boot directory IF I have a type 1 install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 21:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup001-none-262144 PHOME=hda1
initrd /image.gz


Should be;

title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1


The error is most likely image.gz, which is not in the boot directory and not really needed.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 21:28    Post subject:  

Hi guys,

Between my two hard drives, I have 7 partitions:

/dev/hda - Formerly used for Windows, but now contains 4 partitions, each just under 5GB in size. The first partition is where I did the type 2, Puppy install. It is recognized as ext2 with the other three unformatted (no file system installed).

/dev/hdc - Added to the system when I still had Windows working. When I installed Fedora Core 3 on it, the drive was formatted with three ext3 partitions ("/boot" is 100MB, "/" is 18GB and "/swap" is 1GB).

My grub is located in /hdc1/boot/grub.

I looked at the wiki page, but I'm thinking that I need to stir the mix and try a few things. I'll be back shortly.

babbs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2005, 01:40    Post subject:  

Tonight, I tried everything I could think of, but it would seem that I am too close to the forrest to see the trees right now. I'm going to rest my eyes and resume this battle tomorrow or the next day...

Here is one version that did NOT work:

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd1,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdc2
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=1
fallback=0
timeout=5
#splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
password --md5 {Removed}
title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.14_FC3)
   root (hd1,0)
   kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.14_FC3 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
   initrd /initrd-2.6.11-1.14_FC3.img
title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
   rootnoverify (hd0,0)
   kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1


Thanks,
babbs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2005, 04:46    Post subject:  

babbs wrote:

title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1[/code]



I think I see the problem. The kernel line should read:

kernel /boot/vmlinuz /root/=dev/hda1
Back to top
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2005, 04:48    Post subject:  

The post above was by me - I guess I wasn't logged in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun 2005, 04:51    Post subject:  

I may have made a mistake!

Your still getting the same file not found error? Try;

title Puppy Linux v1.0.2
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1

I believe that vmlinuz is in the boot directory in the Puppy installation?

In Fedora, I bet vmlinuz is a symbolic links to /boot/vmlinuz

This was mentoned above? Sorry!

Also, is there a space between kernel and /boot/vmlinuz... in the Puppy line? There should be.

If this does not work, make sure that Puppy is really at hda1.

In Fedora, run fdisk -l at a command line as root user. That's the small case letter, not the number one.

Or in Puppy, run, in a command line (rxvt) probepart

You should see the partitioning scheme for both drives.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0828s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]