Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 12:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Yakuake drop-down terminal dotpet
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2007, 07:28    Post subject:  Yakuake drop-down terminal dotpet  

Here is a dotpet for Yakuake, a Quake-like terminal.
This is actually a KDE application, so its best to have Kirk's KDE sfs installed and working. You'll probably also need QT libraries to be installed - available via the petget system.

I have got this working very well in Puppy NOP-rev1.

You don't need KDE to be actually running, so you can still use NOP's xfce interface, but the KDE sfs should be loaded and availble via Puppy's boot manager - accessible from the Puppy start menu.
yakuake-2.8-i486-1mfb.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  yakuake-2.8-i486-1mfb.pet 
Filesize  175.21 KB 
Downloaded  495 Time(s) 

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
atheist

Joined: 21 Dec 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 02:00    Post subject:  

hello,

i'm trying to run this in 3.01. i'm getting the following error message:

Code:
# yakuake
yakuake: /usr/lib/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /lib/libqt-mt.so.3)
ERROR: KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly.
#


any ideas?

newbie question: what exactly does having the kde sfs "installed and working" entail? i've downloaded this, and when i click on it, some stuff gets mounted. should this be mounted at startup all the time?

thanks,
steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 09:07    Post subject:  

Make sure that the kde sfs sits in your /mnt/home directory.

Best to also ensure that it has the number 301 in the file name e.g.
kde357_301.sfs if your are using puppy 3.01

Then run bootmanager from the system menu and select the kde sfs file.
Un-check the checkbox under the selection windows. Then reboot puppy

Also install the qt libs via petget.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
atheist

Joined: 21 Dec 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 13:47    Post subject:  

thanks for the reply,

boot manager wants the files in "/", not /mnt/home, and it ran sucessfully once i put it there.

the only relevant thing i could find in petget was qt-3.3.8, and the download keeps crashing on me. is this the correct qt library? i already have libqt-mt.so.3 installed in /lib- is this also needed?

anyway, i still have the same error message...

danke trotzdem für die Hilfe!

-steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 14:13    Post subject:  

Atheist wrote:

Quote:
the only relevant thing i could find in petget was qt-3.3.8, and the download keeps crashing on me


This is happening to me on a regular basis. Recently I have had to go directly to ibiblio.org and download the pet package (in this case qt.3.3.8 ) and install the package locally.

I couldn't for some reason get Yakuake to run without this qt package, even although I believe it's included in Kirk's sfs module. If it works without it then fine. I assume you are using a full HD install since it worked ok downloaded to '/'.

When I get time I'll make a Lassie module using Kirk's sfs module and include Yakuake in that. Once you get used to Yakuake, you'll wonder how you ever managed without it in the past.

Nicht zu danken, Tschüß

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
atheist

Joined: 21 Dec 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 19:06    Post subject:  

i have some progress to report- after finding qt-3.3.0, the first half of the error message is gone, but i still have
Code:
# yakuake
ERROR: KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly.
#



maybe i need to try the full-size kde pet?

i'm a big yakuake fan- i use it on my ubuntu boxes. it was one of the first things i looked for here. thanks again!

-steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2008, 06:46    Post subject:  

Kirk's kde sfs plus qt.3.3.8 worked ok on my system.

Make sure that the kde sfs file is actually loaded ok and that there are no issues with whiteout files due to unionfs. Your error message seems to indicate that the system cannot see the kde stuff. I also wonder if it would work better with live cd plus a pup_save file plus the kde sfs. Worth a try I think.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
atheist

Joined: 21 Dec 2007
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2008, 22:58    Post subject:  

how do i confirm that the kde sfs is properly loaded?

in the meantime, i've downloaded and switched to 3.58, but still have the same issue.

i'll try running a live cd tomorrow...


thanks,
steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0581s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]