XFCE desktop for puppy !!!

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#21 Post by rarsa »

Disclaimer: Just for testers and developers! This little application is under current development. It's not intended for end users.

OK, I hope that was loud enough.

Acording to my work plan, here is the first release of the translator from the JWM menu to the Xfce menu.

It's written in C for several reasons:

A) It does not need an intepreter.
B) It makes it easier to parse XML.
C) I haven't writen C in 15 years and I thought it would be a good refresher.

Usage:
jwm2xfce-menu .jwmrc [menu.xml]

.jwmrc : JWM configuration file
menu.xml : xfce4 menu file. If not provided, output goes to the console.

So, my recommendation:
- Copy your /root/.jwmrc and /root/.config/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml files to a test folder.
- Generate your menu.xml file there.
- Backup your original menu.xml file
- Copy your new menu.xml
- Test the menu. (You don't even need to restart the WM)

Known bugs:

- The menu includes all entries even the "JWM restart" entry and it does not include the xfce4 "Quit". I'll add it the next time around.
- Me. Work around: All comments to the source code are well taken. (15 years ago I wasn't even programming C, I was doing C++. after that many other languages, but not C.)

=============
Change log:
Oct 22, 2005 ver 0.1.1
- This version clean up the input .jwmrc file by removing comments. No more need for the awk command before using this program.
Attachments
jwm2xfce-menu-0.1.1.tar.gz
Contains the binary executable and the C source code.
(8.49 KiB) Downloaded 492 times
Last edited by rarsa on Sat 22 Oct 2005, 13:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#22 Post by rarsa »

EDIT Oct 22, 2005: Version 0.1.1 no longer requires executing the awk command before executing the xfce2jwm-menu program
rarsa wrote:The parser complains when a comment inside the input file has a double hyphen "--" in it. The work around is to remove the offending comment.
Actually, believe it or not, This is not a bug, but a feature, according to the libxml developers. So, instead of going into esoteric arguments, here is the solution:

Preprocess your .jwmrc file removing the comments using the following command:

Code: Select all

awk '/<!--/,/-->/ { next }; { print $0 }' /root/.jwmrc > .jwmrc.in
You can then use the .jwmrc.in as input to the menu translator.

The next version of the translator will include the removal of comments inside the binary.
Last edited by rarsa on Sat 22 Oct 2005, 13:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

XFCE OFFICIALLY RELEASED

#23 Post by bombayrockers »

i have released the updated .pup for general puppy use at

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2866

it has a new addon gPS (graphical process lister) which has been posted at
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2865

here are some new dotpups for testing

xfce-session manager which can be downloaded from
http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?c ... ession.pup

the session manager is working fine except that when using xfce-rox, session manager starts xfdesktop by itself and rox is not visible.

to come later ->
xterminal.pup ( i had it working but just didnt release it to reduce size)
idesk.pup (this is a icon manager . libs required by it are already there in xfce (except libstdc++6) so this as an addon with libstdc++.pup )

rarsa i will try the menu convertor and give feedback to you

thanks

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Xterminal-testing

#24 Post by bombayrockers »

this is the .pup for the xfce terminal emulator

it can be downloaded from

http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?c ... minal.pup

however i would not advice anyone to use it. installed size is 1.6 mb (this just for the terminal). rxvt works fine for me.

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

xfprint4

#25 Post by bombayrockers »

rarsa as you are also working on CUPS i would like to ask whether xfprint4 would be usable in puppy with CUPS.

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#26 Post by rarsa »

I expect that it should work but as with almost everything, I can only be sure after testing it.

Can you send it for me to test?

Thank you,

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Xfprint4

#27 Post by bombayrockers »

the .pup for xfprint4 can be downloaded from http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?c ... print4.pup

REQUEST -> rarsa can you take over the xfprint project as i dont have a printer to test and neither do i have cups

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#28 Post by rarsa »

I'll do.

But I also need feedback on the menu synchronizer. Did it work for you?

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#29 Post by MU »

rarsa, works very fine for me (after running you awk-command) :)

Also my dotpup-submenue was converted correctly.

Good work! :D

Thanks, Mark

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: xfprint4

#30 Post by rarsa »

bombayrockers wrote:rarsa as you are also working on CUPS i would like to ask whether xfprint4 would be usable in puppy with CUPS.
I installed it, It launces, It recognizes my printers (they are remote printers). But when trying to print something using xfprint4 it gives me an error "Unable to print to temporary file" no more details.

Actually, this is one of the components that may not be required for puppy. It is only used to print from the command line.

http://www.xfce.org/index.php?page=docu ... en#xfprint

Puppy already routes the output going to lp to the default printer.

I can do a "cat README | lp " and it sends the printout to de default printer.

Do you still want to include it with puppy just for completeness?

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

you are the beeter judge

#31 Post by bombayrockers »

try running the configuration utility there you would see an option 'print to local file' see if something can be done over there.
if xfprint4 dosent work i wouldnt want to include it. however you are the better judge.

YES YES the menu convertor is working fine with awk :D .

Alienx wrote:
it comes with a lot of beautiful themes but how to use the old Puppy themes and Barry's GTK theme script ?

I have an idea: to create in /usr/share/themes a new Puppy folder similar to the others but in place of gtkrc put a symlink to /etc/gtk-2.0/gtkrc

it works, we can now choose a theme with GTK theme script and then choose "Puppy" on xfce configuration panel
he created a folder /usr/share/themes/Puppy/gtk-2.0 and in that he placed a simlink to /etc/gtk02.0/gtkrc. this shows up as Puppy in the XFCE user interface setup. barrys themes can now be used with xfce.

however i have used the gtk engine for xfce 3.8 for the gtk1 apps. gtkrc file for this is stored in /root/.gtkrc . so any changes we make do not apply to the gtk1 apps.

to get a uniform look for all my apps i reverted back to the orignal gtkrc in /etc/gtk/gtkrc but then i lose the xfce look for the gtk1 apps. to overcome this i tried passing the 'engine "xfce" {}' paramater in my /etc/gtk/gtkrc but i does'nt seem to work. can you figure this out.

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

common gtk theme switcher

#32 Post by bombayrockers »

i have posted a dotpup for a common gtk theme switcher this will sync the look both gtk and gtk2 apps.
for more details goto

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2907

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#33 Post by rarsa »

try running the configuration utility there you would see an option 'print to local file' see if something can be done over there
:) I forgot to mention that I had also tried that. It complained about not being able to create the file. It only writes an empty file.

User avatar
puppian
Posts: 537
Joined: Tue 19 Jul 2005, 03:58
Location: PuppyLand
Contact:

Re: xfce.tar.gz

#34 Post by puppian »

bombayrockers wrote:xf-mixer (sound mgr) - not working req libasound.so.1
You can find libasound.so.2 here (G2's dotpup) and simlink libasound.so.1 to it :)
[url=http://puppylinux.org]Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux[/url] hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the [url=http://puppylinux.org/user/readarticle.php?article_id=8]Puppy Linux Foundation[/url] since 2005

guest

thanks anyway

#35 Post by guest »

this is bombayrockers

thanks puppian - i had solved those libary dependency before releasing the dotpup in additional software section.

User avatar
puppian
Posts: 537
Joined: Tue 19 Jul 2005, 03:58
Location: PuppyLand
Contact:

#36 Post by puppian »

>> i had solved those libary dependency before releasing the dotpup in additional software section

Great bombayrockers :) I guessed you've done that

Have put the details of XFCE here ;)
[url=http://puppylinux.org]Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux[/url] hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the [url=http://puppylinux.org/user/readarticle.php?article_id=8]Puppy Linux Foundation[/url] since 2005

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#37 Post by rarsa »

To avoid cluttering this thread and because the effort will be larger than just xfce, I'm continuing the menu project in another thread

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=18317#18317

Having access to XFCE from within puppy is great as it has successfully implemented the freedesktop.org XFCE menu standard.

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

great job rarsa and puppian

#38 Post by bombayrockers »

The work on the menu being done by rarsa is appreciated. its a great job.

FEEDBACK REQUIRED -> users who are using the session manager please provide your feedback.

QUESTION -> how can the session manager rc file be edited to start rox as the desktop with session manager ?

User avatar
bombayrockers
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat 24 Sep 2005, 16:47
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

an intresting screen-shot

#39 Post by bombayrockers »

best of both world for puppy - speed + good apps from kde
Attachments
xfce-kde.jpg
(117.88 KiB) Downloaded 1629 times

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#40 Post by Lobster »

:oops: Hey Bombay - did I miss something or have you got the konqueror browser working in Puppy?

Maybe it is time for the much fabled KDE Krazy Puppy pupget by Barry to be released . . . 8)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

Post Reply