Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 01:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Automatic time zone and language detection
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2008, 08:33    Post_subject:  Automatic time zone and language detection  

I want to write a wizard for Simplux and Puppy that automatically detects timezone, keyboard layout and language spoken. To achieve this I will retrieve informations from sites like http://www.ip2location.com.

This site only reports information about your own IP-address. To start writing the wizard I would need several example input data. Maybe some of you can post their results. I'm only interested in the fields Location and Time Zone.

Here is the example output of my own PC:

Location: AUSTRIA, WIEN, VIENNA
Time Zone: UTC +01:00
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2008, 09:55    Post_subject:  

it reports the correct values for me
Code:
Location :  UNITED KINGDOM, ENGLAND, LONDON
Time Zone    :    UTC +00:00

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2006
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2008, 10:03    Post_subject:  

Code:
Location :  UNITED STATES, MASSACHUSETTS, WORCESTER
Time Zone :  UTC -05:00

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 695
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2008, 10:27    Post_subject:  

Here is my information from the site for your use:
Code:
Location    :    UNITED STATES, CONNECTICUT, UNCASVILLE
Time Zone    :    UTC -05:00

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2008, 14:45    Post_subject:  

It shows the same IP for me as given by Gibson Research at
https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
but it reports this for me. But I'm actually near Seattle -- GMT -8, two time zones west of Kansas:

UNITED STATES, KANSAS, DODGE CITY
UTC -06:00

I guess my ISP must be proxying me through Wyatt Earp and Bat Masterson's old server. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2008, 15:24    Post_subject:  

www.worldtimeserver.com offers a Windows program I use, Atomic Clock Sync, which pings whichever of about 6 servers you select. Correct time is extracted from the pingback timestamp. Of course, you need Port 13 open (or mapped) in your proxy server for a time-setting ping to work. The average user, setting up Simplux for the first time from behind a proxy, might be thwarted by not knowing this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Kazm

Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Location: Russia, Ufa

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 06:49    Post_subject:  

Code:
Location :   RUSSIAN FEDERATION,
Time Zone :        UTC +03:00


but my timezone UTC+5 Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 07:02    Post_subject:  

Worked ok for me:
Code:
Location     :       AUSTRALIA, NEW SOUTH WALES, SYDNEY
Time Zone    :    UTC +10:00

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 07:08    Post_subject:  

correct

Code:
Location    :    UNITED KINGDOM, ENGLAND, LONDON
Time Zone    :    UTC +00:00

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klu9

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 14:08    Post_subject:  

Corectly reports:
Code:
Location: MEXICO
Time Zone: UTC -06:00

BTW I combine a Spanish-speaking location, a preferred language of English and a mixture of Latin American, UK & US keyboards... I'm curious as to how your wizard would handle that. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ricstef

Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Woodstock, ON. Canada

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2008, 00:38    Post_subject: Automatic time zone
Sub_title: works for me
 

correct for me.
Code:
Location: Canada, Ontario, Hamilton,
Time zone: -05:00
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 948

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2008, 08:28    Post_subject:  

Leachim, this is a great idea!

Code:

Location    :    BELGIUM,  GENT
Connecting through    :    SKYNET-ADSL
Time Zone    :    UTC +01:00
Net Speed    :    DSL

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2008, 03:00    Post_subject: Auto. time zone
Sub_title: China
 

My report is :- Beijing UTC +8hrs But all of China is +8hrs. also H.K.

If you are writing English you use a USA keyboard. i could not buy an English keyboard in Nanning China.

Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2008, 07:25    Post_subject:  

First: thanks to all who submitted entries!

Second: please post the complete entry lines (most of you did!), I need to know about the formatting details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2008, 18:50    Post_subject:  

Well Confused ...cue Twilight Zone music...enter Rod Serling, screen right...

It is now showing correctly:

Code:
Location    :    UNITED STATES, WASHINGTON, SEATTLE
Time Zone    :    UTC -08:00

Caveat: I have changed the real 'burb I'm in, to the big city nearby.

I am certain it was showing Dodge City, Kansas before. Wish I'd taken a screen capture...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0933s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0188s) ][ GZIP on ]