Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 14:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
LINKSYS Wireless, close but not yet ...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
cwmoser

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2005, 19:00    Post_subject:  LINKSYS Wireless, close but not yet ...  

I am using Puppy 1.0.5 and trying to get the Linksys wireless card (WPC54G) to work.

After clicking on WAG, I get:

autoconnect --- no
CWMOSER --- yes

Connected to:
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g, ESSID:"cwmoser"
Mode:Ad-Hoc Frequency:2.412GHz Cell: 00:00:00:00:00:00
Encryption key:off
Link Quality:100 Signal level:0 Noise level:0


... I think I am close but no Internet yet. BTW, I am using a WEP key that I entered into the profile:

TITLE2="cwmoser"
IP="192.168.0.33"
GATEWAY="192.168.0.1"
ESSID="cwmoser"
NWID=""
KEY="xxxxxx" <-- x's represent my secret key
MODE="Managed"
FREQ="2.437G"
CHANNEL="6"
AP_MAC=""


Any ideas why its not working?

Thanks

Carl
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2005, 20:34    Post_subject: WEP Key Problem?  

The connection data you posted seems to show that your WEP key has not been accepted. The key should be either 10 hexadecimal digits (0-9,a-f) for a 64 bit key or 26 hex digits for a 128 bit key. If it does not match with the access point/router key there will be no connection.

Looks as though you are perilously close.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2005, 21:37    Post_subject:  

You don't need both FREQ and CHANNEL. Just use one.

But the reported FREQ isn't matching the one you supplied. Try getting rid of FREQ and CHANNEL. As long as you're the only "cwmoser" in the area, you should be fine.

Also, your WEP key can be either a hex string or an ascii string. If it's ascii, you must change "xxxxx" to "s:xxxxx"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cwmoser

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2005, 21:46    Post_subject:  

Oh my, I feel stupid. Your responses reminded my I have my router set up to accept WPA with preshared key - not WEP. How do I instruct Puppy to utilize WPA?

Carl
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2005, 23:20    Post_subject: WPA not WEP  

tempestuous has created a set of wireless drivers, see this thread:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2234&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
The wpa-supplicant package is with them.

Don't know if it will work for you, but worth a try. Read the whole thread before installing, though.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cwmoser

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 10:16    Post_subject:  

Reset the router to utilize WEP instead of WPA... still won't connect. Response messages are the same.

Carl
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 11:41    Post_subject:  

Are you sure you have everything set up right?

You're telling the profile to connect at 2.437G throught a Managed connection.
Instead, it goes 2.412G and Ad-Hoc.

Make the profile as open as possible, with the fewest specifics.

TITLE2="cwmoser"
IP=""
GATEWAY=""
ESSID="cwmoser"
NWID=""
KEY="xxxxxx"
MODE="Auto"
FREQ=""
CHANNEL=""
AP_MAC=""

You might need the IP and gateway information, but usually dhcpcd can take care of that automatically.

Also, make sure dhcpcd is not running before entering Profiles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 05:39    Post_subject:  

I have this card working fine on my system. Of course, i did it by hand. I have not used wag yet.

Did you set up ndiswrapper with the drivers from you Linksys cd?

If so, what drivers did you use, the XP drivers?

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 11:19    Post_subject:  

I suggest you try things in stages - connect with NO encryption, then try WEP, then if you're feeling adventurous try WPA.

I compiled wpa_supplicant to support ndiswrapper (amongst several drivers) so it should work (??) in conjunction with wifi-1.0.4-beta-2.pup. You need to tell wpa_supplicant which driver is being used ... thus the full command to run wpa_supplicant -
/usr/local/sbin/wpa_supplicant -ieth0 -Dndiswrapper -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -d
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0571s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]