Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 14:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha7 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2008, 16:59    Post subject:  

Hi, so long since I've had a play with Puppy i've forgotten just what I need to add to the grub menu of my PCLinux install for a FRUGAL to test this latest one. Help appreciated.
Here is my current grub.menu.lst

P.S. Barry any chance of the xorg drivers for my motherboard going into the next puppy?

intel now has a [url=http://www.downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=N&Inst=Yes&ProductID=2773&DwnldID=15443&strOSs=39&OSFullName=Linux*&lang=eng]driver posted[/url] in the support section it appears to work well.




Thanks
Tony

title linux
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=/dev/sda5 -vesa acpi=on resume=/dev/sda6 splash=silent vga=788
initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd.img
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2008, 18:08    Post subject:  

veronicathecow

For what it is worth, here is my entry for a frugal install. Here is PC Linux OS's grub menu.lst. As you can see it's on my second drive, partition 2 and in a folder pup397.

title Dingo 3.97 alpha 7 Coexist
kernel (hd1,1)/pup397/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd ro psubdir=pup397 vga=6
initrd (hd1,1)/pup397/initrd.gz

Good Luck, Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OldYogi

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2008, 20:19    Post subject:  

Bravo. Alpha 7 enables my Logitech Trackball on my desktop machine -- Alpha 6 didn't. Everything else seems to run just fine. In a bit I'll see if it solves my Video problems with my old Portege 3110CT.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2008, 20:52    Post subject: Re: Dingo alpha7
Subject description: Feedback
 

charnisingh wrote:
i am on frugal install and i have successfully up-
graded from Dingo alpha 6 to Dingo alpha 7 even though there was kernel downsize from k2.6.24 to k2.6.21.7. but i do have a question , what happened to puppy 4 Dingo with k2.6.24.

I'm not happy with the wireless drivers in 2.6.24, so decided to wait for 2.6.25.
Also, most of the old analog modem drivers do not work in 2.6.24 -- I did hack some of them to compile but they don't work. I need to wait until patched versions become available. There was one change in the 2.6.24 kernel that suddenly rendered all the modem drivers unusable.
The ESS modem developer has sent me an updated driver, so that's one fixed at least.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2008, 20:55    Post subject: Re: Flash Drive
Subject description: lost save file
 

GrumpyWolfe wrote:
Hi All

Berry Just want to say first off I like the way puppy 4 is heading and enjoy using it.

Now I downloaded puppy 4a7 burnt to cd played with it then decided to use the universal installer to install puppy 4 on my usb drive I had puppy 4a6 on it at the time with a 512 meg save file. When I was installing puppy it asked if I wanted to wipe the drive or just upgrade I am pretty sure I said upgrade. When I rebooted to the flash drive there was no save file and I had to start over which is not a big problem but just wanted to not the fact that I did loss my save file.

I've made a note of that, will check the logic of the script.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2008, 21:00    Post subject:  

changturkey wrote:
Sound works in Alpha 6, not Alpha 7, used command alsaconf to configure soundcard, here is some info.

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8400M GS (rev a1)
03:01.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
03:01.1 Generic system peripheral [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
03:01.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 12)
03:01.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
03:01.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94311MCG wlan mini-PCI (rev 01)

Does sound work in Puppy 3.01/302? Dingo alpha7 is using the same kernel and sound drivers, so if it doesn't work in alpha7 then it probably doesn't work in 3.0x. In which case you need to wait for a release with later alsa sound drivers -- probably when I release Dingo with the 2.6.25 kernel.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charnisingh

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 00:15    Post subject: Dingo alpha7
Subject description: feedback
 

It looks like Barry has not uploaded the "gettext-0.16.1" as package manager can not install it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 09:57    Post subject:  

Booting entirely into RAM from a CD. Here are some observations of this alpha release.

Dialup disconnects after 2 seconds. The /root/.etc/ppp/chap-secrets and /root/.etc/ppp/pap-secrets workaround seems to fix it.

I boot from a CD in an internal DVD reader (/dev/hdc) and I have an internal DVD rewriter. In the CD/DVD drive Wizard all the settings are on /dev/hdc and I can set them all to /dev/hdd but it will not retain my DVD reader setting.

cdp is missing.

xine takes 20-30 seconds after the button is clicked before it makes any sound from an audio CD. During this time the disk is spinning. This drive worked much quicker in 301. I tried starting xine after replacing the boot CD with the audio CD but then the xine window title says 'There is no MRL'. Even when I put the Puppy cd back into /dev/hdc.

The volume control in the panel has no effect on the sound coming from xine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GeoW

Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 150
Location: New Jersey, USA ( East Coast )

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 10:52    Post subject: Geany print problem - easy fix  

After using CUPS to set up printer, trying to print from Geany says it
will use: /usr/bin/lpr - but lpr is a dead link to lpr-cups

Replace it with a link to lpr_cups and Geany prints.

Note: when you first enter Puppy 3.97 lpr is a small script but when
you invoke CUPS lpr gets changed to the dead link.

GeoW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 15:29    Post subject: xorgwizard resolution fixes not added to alpha7
Subject description: Corrects & adds Cyber adapter signatures; corrects resolution for new X driver: intel.
 

Barry,
I created an alpha6 fix for xorgwizard with my report of issues quoted below. Since it was skipped, I have merged the xorgwizard changes into the aplha7 xorgwizard. The result is attached along with a difference listing. I have tested it successfully with both 3.98 and 3.02.

Those changes correct the video adapter signatures for Trident CYBER adapters, add two more of them, and insert the xorg.conf "PreferredMode" monitor parameter to ensure the selected resolution is set. The incorrect resolution may be related to either the new version of xorg or to RandR-enabled video drivers such as "intel".
Quote:
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:03 pm Post subject: XorgWizard sets wrong resolution with new "intel" driver
Subject description: New driver supports RandR; ignores Puppy's resolution settings; uses non-listed 1152x864. Solved.
On my IBM NetVista PC with Intel 845 built-in graphics and an ADI 5P CRT monitor, the old driver, i810, set resolutions as directed by Puppy's xorgwizard in xorg mode. In alpha6 and the newer driver, intel, the resolution is set to 1152x864 no matter what I select (1024, 1280, 800) with the wizard. The resolution is reported by HardInfo and corresponds to what I see on the screen.

I found a post that suggests the solution:
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/linux/111031-my-troubles-intel-i810-drivers-xorg-fixed.html
It uses an xorg.conf Monitor-Section Option statement that affects only adapters that support RandR 1.2 (The X Resize and Rotate Extension) and is apparently ignored by other adapters. The man-page definition of it is:
Quote:
Option PreferredMode string
This optional entry specifies a mode to be marked as the preferred initial mode of the monitor. (RandR 1.2-supporting drivers only)

I have tried this Option using the same resolution as in the Screen Section and, indeed, the problem is corrected. I have modified /usr/sbin/xorgwizard to generate the Option statement with the same value as that placed in the Screen Section "Modes" statement. I have also tested the fix on other PCs (that don't need it) and there is no impact.

Please consider updating the wizard from the attached archive to avoid resolution weirdness. Thanks.

Anyone can try this out by extracting the wizard to someplace easily accessible from the command prompt. Boot with pfix=nox, mount the location of the new xorgwizard file, then run it using the full path name. Then run xwin to finish bootup.

If already booted to the desktop, just exit to the command prompt, find and run the wizard as above, then xwin.
Richard
xorgwizard_for_3.98.tar.gz
Description  Xorgwizard with all reported problem-laptop video adapters and
resolution correction for RandR-supporting X-server drivers (e.g., intel).
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard_for_3.98.tar.gz 
Filesize  34.67 KB 
Downloaded  664 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lluamco

Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 207
Location: Banyoles, Spain

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 15:53    Post subject:  

Is g77 missing in devx_397.sfs ? (and devx_396.sfs...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 16:33    Post subject: Pwget dialogs use incorrect/inconsistent term
Subject description: User should "copy and paste", not "cut...".
 

The new pwget tool directs the user to "cut" out a web address and paste it, while all that is needed is to "copy" the URL to paste it. Pwget's instructions can be made more precise by the replacement of "Cut" with "Copy" in statements 12 and 29 of the script in /usr/local/Pwget.

My original report on this for alpha6 is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=170802#170802
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 16:52    Post subject: xfdiff misses difference in very long statement/line
Subject description: Differing word about 350 characters into 500-char line not detected.
 

While verifying my minor changes to pwget with xfdiff, I discovered that my change on line 29 was not indicated. The same change on line 12 at character 16 of a ~130-char line was detected.

The line in question:
Code:
   <action>`Xdialog --wrap --screencenter --left --title "Pwget - HELP" --msgbox "Pwget is a simple front end to the wget utility. Wget is used for downloading larger files from the internet such as ISOs. The files are verified during the download procedure. As ISO and other files are checked and downloads resumed, they do not require a md5sum check. Copy and paste the source file you wish to download. Use the file selector to choose the destination. \n\n Lobster, Jan 2008" 600x0`</action>
The word "Copy" replaced "Cut".

Since xfdiff did not find the word or indicate the maximum line length it compares, its credibility is dubious. It cannot be trusted.

My evidence is the following diff listing and attached screeen capture showing both the text in question and xfdiff's omission of it. (I added a dummy change later in the file so that xfdiff would list the lines adjacent ot the long line.) The "<action> Xdialog" line should follow the ""<button help>" line, third from the bottom in both subwindows of xfdiff.
Richard
Quote:
12c12
< <text><label>Cut and Paste URL location of required file into "Address". Add destination and click "OK"</label></text>
---
> <text><label>Copy and Paste URL location of required file into "Address". Add destination and click "OK"</label></text>
29c29
< <action>`Xdialog --wrap --screencenter --left --title "Pwget - HELP" --msgbox "Pwget is a simple front end to the wget utility. Wget is used for downloading larger files from the internet such as ISOs. The files are verified during the download procedure. As ISO and other files are checked and downloads resumed, they do not require a md5sum check. Cut and paste the source file you wish to download. Use the file selector to choose the destination. \n\n Lobster, Jan 2008" 600x0`</action>
---
> <action>`Xdialog --wrap --screencenter --left --title "Pwget - HELP" --msgbox "Pwget is a simple front end to the wget utility. Wget is used for downloading larger files from the internet such as ISOs. The files are verified during the download procedure. As ISO and other files are checked and downloads resumed, they do not require a md5sum check. Copy and paste the source file you wish to download. Use the file selector to choose the destination. \n\n Lobster, Jan 2008" 600x0`</action>
41c41
< done
---
> done #text added for dummy change rse
xfdiff-pwget-error.png
 Description   Geany and xfdiff and an omitted 500-character statement
 Filesize   85.61 KB
 Viewed   1013 Time(s)

xfdiff-pwget-error.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 17:14    Post subject: Unexpected directory for home/file icon and menu selections
Subject description: Default directories depend on current directory as set at command prompt outside of X.
 

While testing my xorgwiz fix at the command line before running xwin, I changed the current directory to my flash drive. After executing xwin and getting back to the desktop, I found that the "file" icon and ROX menu entry resulted in display of the contents of the flash drive, instead of the familiar /root directory. Other programs exhibit the same default directory. Apparently the "$@" parameter in the underlying scripts relies on the setting of the "current directory".

Unless this is an intended "feature," it can be remedied by having xwin ensure that the current directory is "~/". The following statement would accomplish that, inserted after line 9 of xwin for both 3.97 and 3.02, and similarly for other Puppy versions.
Code:
cd ~/   #v3.98 Ensure current directory is root, in case changed at command prompt, so rox icon and menu item open only at home directory. rerwin

Richard

Last edited by rerwin on Sun 09 Mar 2008, 19:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6438
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 18:49    Post subject:  

Richard - I think that could be good. But I suspect that would mean programs would start saving config files and stuff to whichever location you started X from, which would not be good, although it would be an intended feature, just not desirable for puppy. I will test it when I get home.
We had a discussion here about changing where the rox home icon takes you - there is a documented hack to the rox source that can change it, and my suggestion was to point it at ~/home, which can be a symlink to ~ so a user can replace it with a symlink to wherever they want - but nobody ever bothered recompiling ROX like this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1150s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]