Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 14:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HELP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 01:08    Post subject:  

I go tmy computer from MDG, and when it starts, it diplays teh "intel Desktop Boards" pccture for a few seconds, and tehn begins loading XP

I have pressed escape but all that does is prevent the picture from loading

I REALLY need helping getting into the bios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 01:18    Post subject:  

Can MDG show you how to get into the Bios?
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 01:37    Post subject:  

I"m sceptical, i just went and tried to use teh start up floppy, but it just started with the message FREEDOS and nothing else (dos i mean)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 01:40    Post subject:  

I just called the tech support, teh phone lines are currently down and are being redirected to finance :/ so i am going to try again tomorrow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 01:59    Post subject:  

OK i got mixed succes
i found out how to get to t he bios and i cahnged it so taht it checks teh floppy first, cd second and HD last (it used to be 1 floppy 2 hd 3 cd)

But once i loaded it ( i let it load on default and it yelled alot at me about being unable to store my stteings because this as an ntfs drive) but once it finihsed o couldn't move my mouse :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 02:09    Post subject:  

boot up from Puppy CD

press ctrl + alt + backspace
type the suggested command to change mouse

type xwin and press return

What sort of mouse are you telling it you have on boot up?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 02:11    Post subject:  

all it asked me is whether or not is was a wheel mouse, which i said yes to (its connected to a usb port). But after it loaded it didn't work (the mouse)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 02:44    Post subject:  

use a ps2 mouse or try and unfathom this:

Quote:
usbhid.ko is the full hid module.
usbkbd.ko and usbmouse.ko are the simpler usb modules.

you could try unloading usbhid and then try the simpler modules.
"modinfo" also will provide interesting info.

They are located in /lib/modules/2.6/usb/input/.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 02:52    Post subject:  

i'll worry about it tomorrow, i have to go to bed, and i got some of the people on IRC to help me, and now i am using an old PS/2 mouse and am typing this while using puppy Very Happy

NIght,t hanks for the help, i'l start work on the old ocmp this weekend, and that might bring its own set of problems...

anyway bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0745s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0245s) ][ GZIP on ]