Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 23:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 Beta Bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 18:52    Post_subject:  

Update to my previous post about having to restart X for a correct (or almost) initialization: just tried to see what happens using Xorg.

Well, nothing happens -- after a seemingly normal and successful test (at 1280x1024x32) and getting the go, the screen stays black and no key combination takes back to text mode or to reboot: total hang! The MD5 sum says the ISO file is shipshape.

Using the present LCD monitor, former (stable) releases had both Xvesa and Xorg working OK, with apparently identical behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 19:38    Post_subject:  

Barry
You asked for ideas for stopping the battery tray app starting on desktop machines. I haven't really followed the overall problem but I suspect it might only be happening on machines that use apm rather than acpi. You can query the apm status by doing cat /proc/apm. Here are a couple of example outputs from my laptop. The first is with the power plugged in and the second is with it disconnected
Code:
sh-3.00# cat /proc/apm
1.16ac 1.2 0x03 0x01 0x03 0x09 99% -1 ?
sh-3.00# cat /proc/apm
1.16ac 1.2 0x03 0x00 0x00 0x01 97% 2 min
sh-3.00#
On my laptop it is possible to test apm behaviour by booting with acpi=off apm=on
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 20:32    Post_subject:  

Barry asked for more info about the battery app issue:

I posted the output of lsmod in an earlier post.
I do not have a /proc/acpi directory.
I do not have a /sys/module/battery directory.

On what may be a related note, I've never been able to get CPU temperature information using any of the methods described in these forums (with Puppy 3.01).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 20:38    Post_subject:  

Not sure that this is really a bug...

I was using the Flock web browser in Alpha 7, then went to Puppy 4 Beta...

Flock doesn't work.

first of all, libstdc++.so.5 wasn't there, so I created a symlink to the newer version that was there.

Now I get this

Quote:

./flock
./flock-bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5: version `GLIBCPP_3.2' not found (required by ./flock-bin)
./flock-bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5: version `CXXABI_1.2' not found (required by ./flock-bin)
./flock-bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5: version `GLIBCPP_3.2' not found (required by ./libxpcom_core.so)
./flock-bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5: version `CXXABI_1.2' not found (required by ./libxpcom_core.so)
./flock-bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5: version `GLIBCPP_3.2' not found (required by ./libxpcom_compat.so)


Don't know that this is really a bug, but probably something flock users need to have fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 22:35    Post_subject:  

The Battery applet problem Barry mentioned in his blog is with computers that use apm. The docs included with asapm (the battery app) says this should not happen:

Quote:
This estimate is either
provided by the APM daemon or is calculated by this tool
itself. When there is no estimate available the display is
disabled.


The rc.modules2 script only checks for acpi batterys and loads the needed modules.

Disciple reported on this thread:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=25812&start=30

that this only occurs with alpha7 (and now beta1), both have the 2.6.21.7 kernel, and that it did not occur with alpha6 which has the 2.6.24.

1) So the first question is for Barry. Do you still plan on using 2.6.25 for Dingo final? If so this may be a non-problem.

2) Floborg, could you post the output of cat /proc/apm? Then we can compare it to what HairyWill posted and make some kind of test for it.


Also,

Noticed that shift-delete doesn't seem to copy text from rxvt in beta1.

I find Gxine's GUI easy to use, but Xine-ui did seem to work quite well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6448
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 23:34    Post_subject:  

Smile Beaten to it.

Barry, I updated the trash roxapp again, with a little bugfix and some of the additional functionality I was suggesting someone else could do.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=188998#188998

I'm guessing it won't change again in the near future, except Dan is talking about modifying it to use fltk via Murgalua.

BUT, I think you should change it back to use icons in /usr/local/apps/Trash, and have the icons as links to icons in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/
Because if you have it directly using icons in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/, like in the alpha's, then it isn't backwards compatible. Whenever anyone restores or deletes the last item in their trash, if this item was deleted in an earlier puppy, then it will still look in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/ for the empty icon.
I made the icon paths variables, so you just have to look in the top of AppRun and temp-AppRun.
EDIT - I guess this isn't a big issue, as it will get the correct empty icon if you click on the trash.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 00:28    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:

2) Floborg, could you post the output of cat /proc/apm? Then we can compare it to what HairyWill posted and make some kind of test for it.


Code:

# cat /proc/apm
1.16ac 1.2 0x03 0x01 0xff 0x80 -1% -1 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 03:15    Post_subject:  

What is the significance of the /bin/mnt: line91
message in the boot up sequence of a full install of P4beta1 ?
It never appeared before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 09:02    Post_subject: No PSI  

I tried to install pups to Dingo - appeared to work for normal files with getext and dotpuphandler but not with Puppy software installer - the files can be downloaded but the menu does not appear and the rate of download is to fast for my eyes/systen, i never know if the files are ok or not - it seams the arrow disapears half way along giving the impression of success.
Can somebody please make a dot PET of PSI for Dingo please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vito

Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 11:44    Post_subject: youtube
Sub_title: youtube crashes / freezes
 

Hello all :

I ran into this bug in puppy 3.01 also. Everything works fine until I try and load youtube.com, then the curser freezes, and I have to reboot. Once the computer rebooted itself when I was trying to youtube.com.

Could this be a flash problem? The problem for me showed up on
TMXXINE 3.01 and DINGO BETA.

Mny Thx,

Vito
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stoic

Joined: 10 Apr 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 14:00    Post_subject: Bug in new blog under Safari  

Barry,

Since you referred us to this thread for other feedback on your new blog, I'm posting here.

I love the new blogs minimalism, but under Safari 3.0 the title repeats itself after the sidebar has finished (see picture).

The site displays fine under Camino 1.5.5 (a Gecko based Mac browser).


Edit: After looking at the source, the offending code seems to be line 38 in style.css:
Code:

   background-position: center, top;

The comma is not used when specifying css elements in this way - Webkit seems to be stricter in respecting this than Gecko.

After removing the comma the page displays fine in both Safari and Camino.


Stoic
safari rendering blog.jpg
 Description   Bug with Safari 3.0 rendering new blog
 Filesize   52.88 KB
 Viewed   604 Time(s)

safari rendering blog.jpg


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 14:03    Post_subject:  

Well, since my April 07 post about Gxine stopping after 30 secs or so when playing streaming media, in particular the BBC, I have,

- had a quick flirt with Mandriva - the new version Spring 2008.1 is out.

- but came back to Puppy with my tail between my legs - its Soooo much better and faster.

- reinstalled Puppy Beta 1 with a clean install (frugal). Before I had done an upgrade to a dingo alpha 7 frugal install.

BBC streaming works having installed mplayer, mplayer codecs full and mplayer plugin. It no longer cuts off after 30 sec or so. Good news.

Gxine still sucks though...

Hilary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 14:25    Post_subject:  

Here's a fix for the battery monitor problem with apm. I made a wrapper script for asapm to check if /proc/apm has a battery charge of less than zero. If so asapm is not ran.

Quote:
#!/bin/sh
if [ -a /proc/apm ]; then
if [ "$(cat /proc/apm | cut -d % -f 1 | awk '{print $(NF)}')" -lt "0" ] ; then
exit
fi
fi
asapm2 $@


To test, rename /usr/sbin/asapm to asapm2. Then unzip the attached asapm script and put it in /usr/sbin. Reboot. If you guys with apm could test it, that would be great.

The reason this wasn't a problem in alpha6 is that the apm module in 2.6.24 was renamed apm_32, because of the merge of the 32bit and 64bit trees. I saw a patch to rename it back to apm, maybe that's been done for 2.6.25. Anyway, we were not loading the apm module in alpha6.

Another problem:

In /root/ghttpd there is no executable. Guesttoo's Monkey web server package was made in to an official pet package. I didn't know if it was going to be included or not. In any case /root/ghttpd should be deleted.
asapm.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  asapm.gz 
Filesize  141 Bytes 
Downloaded  321 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GeoW

Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 150
Location: New Jersey, USA ( East Coast )

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 15:49    Post_subject: Battery app  

kirk,

Good job. The battery app is gone on my desktop computer.

I didn't download your little script. I just did the rename, created a new
asapm and copy / pasted your script into it.

Rebooted - no battery in taskbar.

Running Intel Desktop Board D850MV P4 proc.

Good job,

GeoW
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2008, 15:54    Post_subject:
Sub_title: ayttm
 

When I try to connect to my yahoo IM account I get the msg from Yahoo, that I should install the latest version of Yahoo Messenger.
Duh, ayttm = Yahoo messenger?

I don't have this with Pidgin and Kopete.

EDIT:
OK, saw the message on the blog, but it's not clear to me what I should do to correct ayttm.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1041s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]