Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 01:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
How to get TV-Out running???
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2008, 18:26    Post subject:  How to get TV-Out running???  

Hi to everyone,
I just installed Puppy (3.1) to my old PC, it is running fabulous so far (booting from cf-card, wireless-lan, accepting several usb-sticks), BUT:
The TV-Out does not work. Because of the fact, that I want to use this old P2, 500 MHz, 265 SDRAM as a HTPC, it would be nice if it would work...
The video card is a ATI Rage 128 Fury (TV-Out is composite).
Appreciate any suggestions!!!
Michael (Linux noob!!!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2008, 18:45    Post subject:  

Hi Michael

fellow noob, well recent anyway, I'm still learning by helping, I think

this seems to show driver/3D updates for the ATI

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=25778&sid=e90859ba8d9057e00ebbf2b3d18f6464

though I remember reading that BarryK has included ATI drivers in puppy 4

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy4

You could test it, & post your results

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 07:18    Post subject:  

I tried the new puppy beta (made a new live-cd and run it) but no TV-Out.
I did not really understand the thread you posted, nevertheless, i installed the following packages via package manager as suggested:
xorg_DRI_MODULES-7.2.pet
xorg_OPENGL-7.2.pet
installation was successful, but still no tv-out...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 07:35    Post subject:  

here, my xorg.conf:

#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this section is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"

# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
Load "xtrap"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section. This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.

RgbPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

FontPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12). This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

# Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "de" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
#Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 330 240 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "GSM"
ModelName "85NF"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30.0-85.0
VertRefresh 50.0-85.0
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
#modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "DMAForXv" # [<bool>]
#Option "ForcePCIMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CCEPIOMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CCENoSecurity" # [<bool>]
#Option "CCEusecTimeout" # <i>
#Option "AGPMode" # <i>
#Option "AGPSize" # <i>
#Option "RingSize" # <i>
#Option "BufferSize" # <i>
#Option "EnablePageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "Display" # <str>
#Option "PanelWidth" # <i>
#Option "PanelHeight" # <i>
#Option "ProgramFPRegs" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
#Option "VGAAccess" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "ati" #card0driver
VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
BoardName "Rage 128 RF/SG AGP"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "800x600"
EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=ATI_RAGE128GSM42fd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 08:48    Post subject:  

what works for me is -----
start the xorg wizard and do the test, when its fininshed testing hit the ctrl+Backaspace then select Generic drivers and do that test, you'll see the screnn blink about 3 times and you'll now have your tv-out running
only with the generic drivers works for me, I've been doing it this way for a couple of years now:)
Some reason the defualt xorg drivers never work for tvout
just the generic ones do
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5216
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 09:27    Post subject:  

Just to clarify; kochanderbarbar has a "Rage128" which is based on the ATI r128 chipset. Don't confuse this with earlier "Rage' models which have the ATI mach64 chipset.
I provided a comprehensive rundown of the various ATI cards and their corresponding Xorg/3D drivers here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=48924
kochanderbarbar wrote:
i installed the following packages via package manager as suggested:
xorg_DRI_MODULES-7.2.pet
xorg_OPENGL-7.2.pet
installation was successful, but still no tv-out...

After installing those packages, configuration is still necessary.
Open /etc/X11/xorg.conf in geany and change Driver "ati" to Driver "r128"
In Section "Module" add this line
Code:
Load "dri"

Run "lsmod" and check that the "r128" DRM kernel module is loaded.
Of course, all of this relates to 3D graphics and has nothing to do with TV out. Regarding TV out, there are 3 options:
1. Use the "xrandr" utility, which is the "official" Xorg method, explained here -
http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ATI
2. Use the atitvout utility, which is simply a bios/hardware switch. See here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=41111#41111
3. Configure xorg.conf to enable TV out. I think that this only works with patched versions of the ati Xorg driver, such as those from the Gatos project.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 12:23    Post subject:  

Thanks for all your help, i have a good feeling, that this problem is solvable...

@ ttuuxxx: I tried the generic driver method and TV-Out works BUT i am not able to run any videos fluently with Gxine media player (heavy studdering).
This problem does not appear with the original xorg drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 12:30    Post subject:  

kochanderbarbar wrote:
Thanks for all your help, i have a good feeling, that this problem is solvable...

@ ttuuxxx: I tried the generic driver method and TV-Out works BUT i am not able to run any videos fluently with Gxine media player (heavy studdering).
This problem does not appear with the original xorg drivers.


I watch dvd's that way all the time without any studdering hmmm hows your pc for memory?
I used to use a 64MB tv-out card, then128MB, and now 256MB with tv-out all with the same method. And never had that problem. But the slowest pc was 1800 amd with 768 mb of memory, now its am2 dual core 4800 with 2 gigs of ddr2 800 on a sata2 hd.

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 13:05    Post subject:  

@ ttuuxxx: see the first post - pentium 2, 500 MHz, 256 SDRAM

@ tempestuous: i started with the 2nd option: downloaded both files, unzipped them with pupzip (could't find gunzip)
doubleklicked the atitest.sh - new file has been created test.out
doubleklicked the atitvout - nothing happened (what am i supposed to do with this file???)

Last edited by kochanderbarbar on Tue 22 Apr 2008, 13:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 13:14    Post subject:  

The content of the test.out file:

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f vbe' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE Version: 2.0
VBE OEM Identification: ATI RAGE128
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f tvout' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 7. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f standard' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 8. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f pal' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 10. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f ntsc' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 10. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f detect' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 3. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f active' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 6. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f auto' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 3. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f off' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f l' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f c' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f t' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f lc' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f lt' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f ct' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -f lct' ...
Forcing Rage Mobility/Rage 3D Pro LT mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 11. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r vbe' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
VBE Version: 2.0
VBE OEM Identification: ATI RAGE128
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r tvout' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TVOut chip is detected but not supported in BIOS
TV Out is enabled.
Reference frequency is 29.49892 Hz
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r standard' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 8. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r pal' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 10. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r ntsc' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
VBE call failed.
Maybe this command is not supported by your graphics adapter?
Did your parameters (if you specified some) really make sense?
Please try all other available commands before complaining!
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 10. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r detect' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
CRT is attached.
TV is attached via Composite.
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r active' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
CRT is active.
TV is active.
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r auto' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r off' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r l' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r c' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r t' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r lc' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r lt' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r ct' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.

TEST: Running 'atitvout -r lct' ...
Forcing Radeon/Rage 128 mode
TEST: ... finished. Return value is 0. Please wait 3 seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 14:00    Post subject:  

@ tempestuous: Option 1 does not help either, entered all three commands in console as suggested:
xrandr --addmode S-video 800x600
xrandr --output S-video --mode 800x600
xrandr --output S-video --set tv_standard ntsc
looked also at the options but could not find or get any TV-Out
(I don't think, that S-video is approptiate, because i am using composite,
-> this is just an unqualified thought of a linux noob, so please correct me, if i am wrong)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 19:39    Post subject:  

kochanderbarbar wrote:
@ ttuuxxx: see the first post - pentium 2, 500 MHz, 256 SDRAM

@ tempestuous: i started with the 2nd option: downloaded both files, unzipped them with pupzip (could't find gunzip)
doubleklicked the atitest.sh - new file has been created test.out
doubleklicked the atitvout - nothing happened (what am i supposed to do with this file???)


Well with specs like this I hope You aren't trying to play a 700MB divx video? Because if the method I told you about works and its studdering maybe its just that you don't have enough memory and the speed of the memory would be 100/133. Maybe you could try my method again but change your preferences and look for buffering and change it to double or triple the buffer, That might help. Maybe test it with a 20mb video clip or a online radio stream, something small. Because if that works then you know thats you might need some more ram.
But a few years ago I had a pent 233 mmx with 72MB of ram using windows "ME" and I was able to view 400MB vcd video's and listen to online radio etc, Thats actually what I using when I met my wife on "Yahoo chat Australia" Amazing what you could do with so little resources back then.
anyways just an idea, and I think you should be able to do wonders with it its just getting it tweaked.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5216
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2008, 07:05    Post subject:  

kochanderbarbar wrote:
I tried the generic driver method and TV-Out works BUT i am not able to run any videos fluently with Gxine media player (heavy studdering).
This problem does not appear with the original xorg drivers.

Yes, neither Xvesa nor the generic (vesa) Xorg driver support hardware graphics acceleration for video playback.
Without this support, the CPU must handle colour space conversion and scaling, which will be a noticeable performance penalty on older hardware.
As I've said many times on the forum before, for best video playback performance you must use Xorg plus the "xv" output option of MPlayer or Xine. (Or better still, "xvmc" ... but that's another story).

I did some more reading here http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ATI
about TV out support and xrandr.
It appears that TV support has been merged into recent ATI Xorg drivers from the GATOS project, but it's unclear whether this support applies to both "ati" and "r128" drivers. I suspect that TV support may only apply to the "ati" Xorg driver, so I suggest that you configure this driver in your xorg.conf. This will mean that you cannot enable 3D acceleration, but it appears that TV out is a more important feature to you.
Make sure your video monitor is connected and powered on. Now run the xrandr commands again. If still no success, restart the Xserver with Ctrl > Alt > Backspace, and run "xwin".

Don't worry about the "S-Video" designation, I did a Google search on this command and I think it can be considered a generic command to enable video output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 11:49    Post subject:  

Thanks for your help, but xrandr does not help me at all. Shouldn´t i change the xorg.conf first? is it true that xrandr supports tv-out only when the graphic-driver does? maybe, the xorg drivers just don´t support tv-out in this case... you see, i am a real noob, and i have no idea how to solve this, but only the three commands for xrandr won´t solve the problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kochanderbarbar

Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 06:45    Post subject:  

Hi @ all,
I gave up and installed Win 2k (shame on me) and all problems solved...
Thanks for your help anyway...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1256s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]