Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 01:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
XFCE desktop for puppy !!!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2005, 09:34    Post_subject:  

Hi bombayrockers.

Where did you get the source to compile the xfce desktop?

Here is why I need to know:

I've downloaded and studied the code that generates the xfce menu from the menu.xml file but I could not find any place where it parses the xfce4.menu file.

I've sent a note to the xfce developers and they've confirmed that they are not processing that file. The funny thing is that, as you have witnessed, If I create that file for puppy, xfce builds the menu based on that file.

So I am totally confused. The code and the developers tell me that they don't use that file, The experience tells me it is being used and parsed.

The only explanation I have is that you used sources different than the ones in the xfce official page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bombay_rockers
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 24 Oct 2005, 07:37    Post_subject: i have used .deb packages  

well that would be a problem because i did not compile them from a source. i had downloaded .dsl binary packages from damn small linux forum.
with the previous knowledge that .dsl is nothing but renamed .tar.gz
i extracted them got them running. i gave up on compiling because of many depenencies (devel packages)
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 24 Oct 2005, 09:58    Post_subject:  

Well, That gives me somewhere to follow-up from.

BTW, I've fixed the jwm2xdg program for the problem you and MU had.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sling-shot


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 109
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2005, 03:07    Post_subject:  

Hi. Just downloaded and using XFCE. Really cool!
One query..
XFCE takes away all the icons for launching various applications from the desktop and only 7 of them are visible on the panel below. Where are the others gone? How to make them visible?
For eg. i have FF installed. It does not add any item to the start menu. So how to make it easy to launch it instead of drilling down to the executable and clicking on it?

_________________
I am a nobody. Nobody is perfect. So I am perfect.
STATUS:Trying to begin life in Linux World.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sling-shot


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 109
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2005, 04:51    Post_subject:  

One more thing. Puppy 1.0.5+XFCE4+Firefox 1.5beta2 seems to be a recipe for disaster. Been using this combo since 2 days and i am seeing on an avg 1 freeze/workspace crash per hour. All open windows are lost. Also after about 15 to 30 minutes system becomes very very slow, almost unresponsive, even though cpu usage and memory usage are well within 50%. But during these times i see continuous hard disk activity - as seen by the constantly-on LED, indicating HD use. This goes off if all FF windows are closed.
This does not occur with JWM. But in JWM, Mozilla creates similar problems. Hmmmmm......
EDIT 1: Corrected/improved grammer. Added 1 sentence.

_________________
I am a nobody. Nobody is perfect. So I am perfect.
STATUS:Trying to begin life in Linux World.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2005, 09:50    Post_subject:  

Quote:
XFCE takes away all the icons for launching various applications from the desktop
Response up there in this thread.

(Just comment the xfcedesktop line and uncomment the rox pinboard line in the .xinitrc-xfce)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bombay_rockers
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 02:43    Post_subject: XFCE Freezes  

I have been using xfce+puppy1.0.5 final+mozilla. i am not facing such problems.

there are 2 possibilities -> puppy1.0.5 beta2 has errors or there in something in firefox that conflicts with xfce.

if other users are having such problems please let me know.

i have had such errors (when i was not using xfce) working with puppy1.0.5 final+ jwm+ yabasic. after i had run yabasic several times the computer would go slow or freeze.
Back to top
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 02:57    Post_subject:  

I don't have this problem, but some days ago someone posted such a problem with mozilla. (i think there was not mentioned which windowmanager, so i assume jwm).

Maybe a memory-problem?

i have 768 MB, maybe that is the reason I did not have that problem yet.

I often have 10 Mozilla-windows open (jwm, icewm, xfce) with the x.org-xserver.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sling-shot


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 109
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 04:06    Post_subject:  

rarsa wrote:
Quote:
XFCE takes away all the icons for launching various applications from the desktop
Response up there in this thread.

(Just comment the xfcedesktop line and uncomment the rox pinboard line in the .xinitrc-xfce)


Did this. This is what happened.
1. "xwin xfce4"
2. A screen with two blank bars on top and bottom with inbetween area showing the desktop from JWM with all the icons.
3. This goes.
4. Earlier blank XFCE desktop comes into view and works as before.

Where did those icons go?

_________________
I am a nobody. Nobody is perfect. So I am perfect.
STATUS:Trying to begin life in Linux World.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 04:42    Post_subject:  

Slingshot, on the first page of this thread I posted a modified .xinitrc to run xfce with the rox-icons.

It is this dotpup:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/download.php?id=1077

This should fix your problem.
If you made manual changes to your .xinitrc , make a backup before installing it.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 05:59    Post_subject:  

i looked in your dotpup
(i don't know why, i don't have xfce installed, i don't really like it)
i may be wrong, but i don't think there is a .xinitrc file in the dotpup
there is a /root folder in FILESYSTEM.tgz, but not .xinitrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 06:18    Post_subject:  

oops...

where is it gone? Shocked

I'll update it, wait...

Ok, I had moved the files by mistake.
But why did the dotpup work for Others?

Strange things happen...

Anyway, I uploaded the correct version now (I hope Embarassed )

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2005, 09:45    Post_subject:  

Oh, that's true, I never reported back MU. I'[m sorry.

Your dotpup to 'fix' .xinitrc does not work.

That's why I just suggested commenting the xfdesktop line and uncommenting the rox -p line.

And another comment. I know that you are well meant when you create dotpups for trivial tasks for new users. I just think that showing them 'how to fish' may be more beneficial. e.g. instructions to comment out the xfdesktop, instead of just doing it for them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sling-shot


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 109
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2005, 03:20    Post_subject:  

[MU]
Using your DotPup. XFCE did start but with a BANG!
Sez - "A CRASH OCCURED IN YOUR WORKSPACE!!!!! However i am kind enough so i will restore it for you"
Up comes the JWM desktop Wink
Dont know why a crash has to occur on start up!!

_________________
I am a nobody. Nobody is perfect. So I am perfect.
STATUS:Trying to begin life in Linux World.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0926s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0273s) ][ GZIP on ]