Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Sound Card not detected in Puppy 4.0
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Jose

Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue 20 May 2008, 16:53    Post_subject:  Sound Card not detected in Puppy 4.0
Sub_title: Sound Card not detected in Puppy 4.0
 

Greetings to all puppy-fans,

I am quite new to Puppy, have installed Puppy 4.0 and 3 on Dell Latitude D600 laptop and strangely the sound card cannot be detected at all in Puppy 4.0. When I run sound wizard, no card is found. In Puppy 3 it worked straight away, no config was necessary.

Sound module discovered in Puppy 3 is called snd-intel8x0. When I try modprobe snd-intel8x0 in Puppy 4, I get message that module not found. Can anybody head me where to look for more information on modules, where they are stored in the system? I heard that some modules are included in the kernel, others not. How can I add it to my system?

What confuses me the most is that it works normally in Puppy 3 Cool

Jose
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 21 May 2008, 20:29    Post_subject:  

Jose,

If you boot from the pup4 cdrom, does the sound card work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jose

Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 22 May 2008, 17:45    Post_subject:  

Hi Muggins, thanks for a good question - to my great surprise the soundcard works fine when I boot from the cd. Have you got any ideas what might be wrong?

I forgot to mention that I run full hd install.

J.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 22 May 2008, 19:51    Post_subject:  

Hi Jose,

Yeah, with a full installation it doesn't mount the zdrv .sfs file, (which contains a bunch of drivers). So try mounting this file to a temporary location & copy everything across to your full install:

Code:
mount -o loop zdrv_400.sfs /mnt/data
cp -ax /mnt/data/* /
umount /mnt/data


Then reboot & see whether it's working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jose

Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 31 May 2008, 08:23    Post_subject:    

Muggins, thanks a lot for your hint - I read a little about difference between full and frugal install and in the end decided to go for a frugal install where the sound card works flawlessly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0440s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]