Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 05:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dingo for the EEE pc
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mikeinrichmond

Joined: 18 Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Location: Richmond, Va, USA

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 20:24    Post_subject:  Dingo for the EEE pc  

Haven't seen anyone else post about trying Dingo 3.99 on the EEE yet. So EEE owners here's a head's up:

1. Make sure you download the atl2 module if using a wired
connection bacuse the module for the EEE is not pre-loaded.
You have to goto 'connect' then 'load' click 'more' then type atl2.
Works fine after that. (Haven't tried wireless yet).

2. To get the sound to work properly you have to edit the file
modprobe.conf in the /etc/ directory. The last line should say:
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig then save it. Reboot
and the sound should work now.

Thanks goes to the original poster(s) from whom I cobbled this info together.

BTW I have Opera 9.23 working fine in Dingo 3.99 so far. Prefer it to Seamonkey.

One 'bug' report. As the desktop is starting and Hotpup is bringing up the different drive icons, my external monitor resets with each new icon added. Any ideas on a fix? Thanks

_________________
Puppy Power! Laughing

Asus EEE Pc 2G Surf w/ Pupeee 3 on SSD
8G Transcend class 6 SD card
500Gb WD USB HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2008, 02:29    Post_subject:  



The first thing I did was use the universal install to put Dingo Beta 2
on a USB key drive and boot from it on the Eeepc.

It worked OK apart from the scrunched up icons, which I reported
for Beta 1 and Barry moved the hotpup icons to the right
(which does not seem to be happening) as a solution.

My main point of interest is wifi support out of the box
Tempestuous has a solution but it is not implemented by default
(the Eeepc uses a customised wifi module)

Have you got wifi working?
Ethernet connection works fine.

I must say that 90% of my computing ability
is being internet connected . . .

Also be aware of Breezy and Pupeee puplets for the Eeepc
I am sure you are . . . Smile
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/EeePC

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2008, 05:44    Post_subject:  

There are a lot of issues with HotPup. Perhaps it should be off by default, with an option to turn it on and off?
In fact, there could be an icon on the desktop, with an info text that says "click me to toggle HotPup on and off"
...what do you reckon?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2008, 05:49    Post_subject:  

The first thing I would do is put hotpup on
- those having issues (unless they are overwhelming)
can turn it off Smile

Hotpup is obvious (to new users) mounting is geekery

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2008, 20:18    Post_subject: boot parameter  

The internal SSD of the eeePC gets identified as "hdc" by Puppy. One workaround suggested is to use "hdc=noprobe" at boot so that the SSD gets identified as a USB device, and comes up (correctly) as "sda".

Hey, guys, please try this with Dingo 3.99 and see what comes up (I don't have my eeePC right now).

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sun 27 Apr 2008, 01:41    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
There are a lot of issues with HotPup. Perhaps it should be off by default, with an option to turn it on and off?
In fact, there could be an icon on the desktop, with an info text that says "click me to toggle HotPup on and off"
...what do you reckon?

I've been toying with this myself since the Eeepc does have a few unusual constrains like a very small screen and lots of partitions by default. So far the best solution I have come up with is to write my own auto mounter. Turning Hotpup on and off is not that seamless since it requires a restart of the X server and it writes to /root./.xinitrc. We really should not be writing to that file and turning on and off a drive mounter should not require restarting X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 33
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 29 May 2008, 22:27    Post_subject:  

Owning an Eee, one option could be made availible to wipe the Eee linux, and substitute in the puppy os as boot part and program part. Naturally, the program loads to RAM, and changes can be optioned to USB, SD, Internal, etc. People with a 2G model need every millimeter of space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Hedgehog

Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jun 2008, 21:15    Post_subject: Re: boot parameter  

raffy wrote:
The internal SSD of the eeePC gets identified as "hdc" by Puppy. One workaround suggested is to use "hdc=noprobe" at boot so that the SSD gets identified as a USB device, and comes up (correctly) as "sda".

Hey, guys, please try this with Dingo 3.99 and see what comes up (I don't have my eeePC right now).


In Pupeee grub file I have "hdc=noprobe" now my ssd shows up hdc1, so still not showing up as usb.

I am considering installing dingo, I need

CAC (command access card) access for DOD (department of defense) (i have instructions for install)
ipod shuffle
digital cam
prefer firefox because of add-ons
java
flash

I am deploying to Iraq at end of year and need my Eeepc running in tip top shape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adric22

Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 23:24    Post_subject:  

I'm glad to see people are working on this. I just installed pup-eee 3.01 on my eee-pc yesterday. I got so fed up with the built-in xandros not connecting to wi-fi properly. Half of the time I'd get the dreaded "pending..." problem. So I wiped the entire HD and installed a customized version of XP I found on the pirate bay that is very small and fast, and put a dual boot with Pup-EEE 3.01. To be honest, I think I prefer using Pup-eee.

I just wish Xine were more stable. Every unit I've ever tried Puppy on (desktops and laptops), Xine is unstable. It usually works okay if you don't try resizing or stopping and staring the video much.

Anyway, I look forward to seeing 4.0 running on the eee-pc. I'll upgrade mine as soon as somebody has a customized ISO. (I'm too lazy to play with thngs these days.. A family and a full-time job tend to leave little time for hacking. I need things to just work.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drbongo

Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 19:31    Post_subject: Puppy 4 working on the eeepc!  

I have managed to get Puppy 4 working on the eeepc with Wireless networking, brightness etc. I simply downloaded the necessary drivers from the pupeee website and did a remaster. Installed it to a USB pen, booted the eeepc and installed it to the internal SSD. The only thing I could not get to work was the sound, but it looks like the author of the first post in this thread has a solution to that. I will try it when I get my eeepc back next week.

drbongo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0697s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]