Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 05:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Install on HD
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
RazaMetaL

Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Manta - Ecuador

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 11:20    Post_subject:  Install on HD  

Hi... contratulations to the puppy linux developers, this distro seems to be great !

I want to install on my laptop Hard Disk for permanent use. How can I install it ? It's any iso for install to HD ?


Greetings from Ecuador !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM MSNM 
ICQ 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2005, 12:03    Post_subject:  

Did you try the menu?

Start / Setup / Install to Hard Drive

The hard disk installer gets easier and more straightforward.

Smile

Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2005, 22:03    Post_subject:  

I hope my post doesn't add to confusion. I'm running strictly on HD. However, I never did have problem installing except for a little snag one time. Nevertheless, I am very interested in helping others, solve and troubleshoot installation problems.

Working on my faulty memory - it seems to me, I ran into a snag installing to HD because the CD-ROM WAS mounted, when I started the install script.

Following is according to my understanding and I could be wrong:

Booting Puppy from CD is (I don't think) the same as *mounting* - in other words the boot loading routine is not the same as mounting a Linux device ??

At some point in the boot process, Puppy releases the CD-ROM and is no longer dependent on it for anything.

After Puppy boots, one should be able to run the 'mount' command and validate that /dev/cdrom is not mounted.

I think the hard drive installation expects to start with an unmounted /dev/cdrom

I guess if I were having this problem, I would want to verify if I can mount and unmount a data cdrom successfully. If not then there wouldn't be much point in running the installation script as there is trouble elsewhere.

Now I will say that I've had some problems with Puppy's mount / unmount drive utility in the 'File managers' section of the menu. So, I wrote little scripts to mount and umount the cdrom. As follows:

#!/bin/sh
mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom -t iso9660

---------------

#!/bin/sh
umount /mnt/cdrom

--------------

In any event, would I would actually do, if the script didn't work, is copy the files (image.gz, vmlinuz, usr_cram.fs) from the cd to the desired partition. Then edit grub accordingly.

--------------

If we consider that for a (new) type 1 install, all we are really trying to accomplish is copy three files to the hard drive, then boot the computer, it
seems very simple to me.

The question is; with what software routine are we going to boot the computer?

To make it as simple as possible in this phase of getting setup, I put together an MS-DOS floppy GRUB kit. You can find it in the how-to section of the forum.

So, backtracking a little.

For a manual type 1 install when things go wrong, I'd suggest:

1) copy the three files to a FAT32 (or ext2) partition
2) insert the ms-dos grub boot disk in drive a: and boot puppy

Presuming you have enough memory to load Puppy in RAM & IF Puppy doesn't boot, like it hangs or something, my idea was to edit the Grub menu.lst in the floppy boot disk to insert some failsafe type arguments, in order to determine if you can figure why it is not booting. I think this especially applies to kernel v2.6.xx

Argument combinations I'd try would be:

ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noapic

See what works. Once you get Puppy booted successfully and you know what it takes in terms of the Grub commands, and have learned if it takes more than default, you can install Grub to the HD for a type 2 installation if you want this type. Otherwise your type 1 is done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0686s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0256s) ][ GZIP on ]