How to configure wifi from the commandline

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
Message
Author
allanlewis
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 03 Jan 2008, 12:07

Roaming between three networks: 1 WEP, 1 WPA, 1 unsecured

#21 Post by allanlewis »

Hi,

I followed the instructions at the beginning of this thread to set up a WEP connection - let's call this location A - and it works perfectly, although it slows my startup by about 30 seconds. I'm now at location B where I have a WPA network - the wizard connected to that first time, no problems, and I know I could script this using wpa_supplicant, but how can I get Puppy to work out which network is visible (the two locations are ~150 miles apart) and then choose WEP (i.e. iwconfig) or WPA (i.e. wpa_supplicant) as the connection method? In addition, I also have access to an unsecured network (my University's - there is no encryption but you have to log on over the web to access the internet) which I would like to be able to connect to automatically, although this is not so important.

Can anyone give me some pointers as to how to do this?

User avatar
Pizzasgood
Posts: 6183
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 20:28
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

#22 Post by Pizzasgood »

Theoretically, you can save the settings for more than one network in wpa_supplicant.conf, and then the wpa_supplicant program is supposed to automagically choose which one to connect to. It's also supposed to be able to handle WEP networks. I don't know how to do that though.

A less elegant method would be to set it up to configure everything for the WEP network up to just before it runs dhcpcd. Then use iwlist to see if the network is available (pipe it into grep, and probably try it a couple times in case the card has trouble seeing it). If the network isn't available, switch to the WPA method.
[size=75]Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib[/size]
[img]http://www.browserloadofcoolness.com/sig.png[/img]

allanlewis
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 03 Jan 2008, 12:07

#23 Post by allanlewis »

Ok, it seems that WPA supplicant solves all my problems - apparently I can just create a single configuration file listing my three networks and it will automatically choose the best one. It even prefers better security, all other things being equal! Brilliant :D

Thanks!

Update:

I now have it automatically connecting to my WPA network by manually calling wpa_supplicant from rc.local with my new wpa_supplicant.conf! All I now have is four lines:

Code: Select all

ifconfig eth0 up
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -ieth0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d eth0
I think I'll write a quick "howto" on the appropriate board. (I'll put a link here if I remember.)

Update:

Take a look at my first ever HOWTO! (That's on anything, ever, IIRC!)

User avatar
LuisS
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 19:13

#24 Post by LuisS »

Don't know if this public thanks fits the subject, but, by having my wireless pen SMC WUSB-G (ndiswrapper) working flawlessly with WPA2 I really feel I must thank everyone here, specially tempestuous and Pizzasgood. Thanks a lot.

(Sorry, I go sentimental when I get things done on computers)

crosscountry
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2007, 23:35

Rutilit works for me

#25 Post by crosscountry »

Puppy 3.01 loads the bcm43xx module on my Dell D620. Both the network wizard and the command line tricks in the post fail every time on both dhcp and static ip. RutilT works perfectly tho, if you don't mind entering the key each time. Good enough for me, I can't fight this any more.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#26 Post by tempestuous »

I just added a new section "PART 4: Troubleshooting, encryption problems" to an earlier post, to avoid the extra information being spread throughout this thread.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 339#159339

jonyo

#27 Post by jonyo »

Suggest editing your first post with links to all the additional info.

User avatar
gasmaskpipe
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun 27 May 2007, 17:17
Location: Cornwall, UK

#28 Post by gasmaskpipe »

After quite a bit of messing around, I managed to get auto DHCP from startup on this Dell Vostro 1000 with Broadcom 43xx card. The bcm43xx driver seems to work fine for me, whereas I could not get the windows driver bcmwl5.inf to work at all through ndiswrapper.
I think the DHCP problem is it trying to log-in the card immediately after turning it on, as someone else suggested. I therefore added this to rc.local and now I'm on the net as soon puppy starts and I click on Firefox. eth0wireless & eth0mode files can be deleted, which will stop the network card being booted twice at startup. Basically it's putting a delay in the initialisation of the card, but why it won't work if you put the same script into eth0wireless I'm unsure.

Code: Select all

rmmod bcm43xx
modprobe bcm43xx
sleep 5s
ifconfig eth0 up
 iwconfig eth0 essid xxxxxxxxxx
 iwconfig eth0 channel x
 iwconfig eth0 mode managed
 iwconfig eth0 key open xxxxxxxxxx
 rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d eth0
(obviously with relevant data in place of xxx's and change eth0 if different)

User avatar
Locky
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed 01 Mar 2006, 11:23

#29 Post by Locky »

How about an addition for compiling the ndiswrapper from scratch. This is often the best route for the absolute latest hardware as far as I know.

I'm a newbie currently struggling with this for my new laptop. ndiswrapper works for ubuntu with version 1.51.

see thread http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=29334

User avatar
roganty
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 10 May 2008, 16:36
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

#30 Post by roganty »

How about updating this for version 4?

It seems that wireless setup is different in the latest release, as no matter what there is no dhcpc folder in /etc
Yet when I try to run dhcpcd it says its already running

Also, if i run

Code: Select all

iwconfig ra0 essid name
iwconfig ra0 key open 0102030405060708090a0b0c0d
iwconfig ra0 mode manage
and then run

Code: Select all

iwconfig
it does not show that the essid has been set, but the other values have been set

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#31 Post by tempestuous »

Update June 12 2008:
The version of dhcpcd in Puppy 4.x uses different locations for its configuration files than in earlier versions of Puppy.
So I have just updated the first post regarding the correct dhcpcd commands.

User avatar
shri
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 13 Jun 2008, 05:11

Hi

#32 Post by shri »

Hi to all
i am useing puppy2.02 with kernel 2.6.16.7.when i am connect to modem (ZTE Model no:-Classic 23) its can't connect.
when i am cat /proc/bus/usb/devices its shows me

=03 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev= 1.00
S: Manufacturer=Silicon Labs
S: Product=USB to UART Bridge Controller
S: SerialNumber=0001
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=(none)
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

when i am useing Minisys kernel 2.6.21.7 its get connected to my pc.
when i am cat /proc/bus/usb/devices its shows me

=03 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=01 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=10c4 ProdID=ea60 Rev= 1.00
S: Manufacturer=Silicon Labs
S: Product=USB to UART Bridge Controller
S: SerialNumber=0001
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=cp2101
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

how to get cp2101.ko file for kernel 2.6.16.7 or any other source code to download this file.or any other tips or trics to connect modem (ZTE Model no:-Classic 23) with kernel 2.6.16.7.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#33 Post by tempestuous »

Your device is a wireless modem, not a wifi network adaptor.
It is not relevant to this thread.

And please don't cross-post your query in multiple threads.

User avatar
shri
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 13 Jun 2008, 05:11

Sorry

#34 Post by shri »

:cry: sorry tempestuous. :cry:
next time i do this.

AceVentura
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 04:35
Location: Mumbai - City of Dreams

WiFi on Sony VAIO CR 23 G using Billion Bipac 5200 router

#35 Post by AceVentura »

Hi,

I am a newbie in Linux arena, but have enuf knowledge of command line to navigate around. I am facing a issue configuring my Vaio to have wireless net access from Puppy Linux 4.0.

Hardware:
Sony VAIO VGN CR23G
Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GHz
1 GB RAM
Intel Pro Wireless 3945

Router:
Bilion Bipac 5200 Wireles modem + Router
SSID TESTINGHOME <example>
passphrase testing <example>
WPA2-PSK using TKIP

Software:
Puppy Linux 4.00
wpa_supplicant

I have tried all the things that have been mentioned previously but am not able to access wirelessly. Any hellp will be much appreciated.


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=2
update_config=1

network={
ssid="XXXXXXXXXX"
psk="XXXXXXXXXXX"
proto=WPA2
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP
}
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The commands I ran were :

modprobe ipw3945
<<nno response>>

ifconfig eth1 up
<<nno response>>

rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
<<no such file found>>

wpa_supplicant -i eth1 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf -dd
<<this runs in a loop and never comes back to console>>

<<did not run the below commands>>
rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d eth1

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Output from the wpa_supplicant command.
I had it aborted as it was looping indefintely.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Initializing interface 'eth1' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ap_scan=2
update_config=1
Line: 5 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=14):
54 68 65 20 4c 6f 73 74 20 57 6f 72 6c 64 The Lost World
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=14): [REMOVED]
proto: 0x2
key_mgmt: 0x2
pairwise: 0x8
group: 0x8
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 0
id=0 ssid='The Lost World'
Initializing interface (2) 'eth1'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=16 enc_capa=0xf
capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:1c:bf:59:b3:70
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Added interface eth1
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1002 ()
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
Trying to associate with SSID 'The Lost World'
Cancelling scan request
WPA: clearing own WPA/RSN IE
Automatic auth_alg selection: 0x1
WPA: No WPA/RSN IE available from association info
WPA: Set cipher suites based on configuration
WPA: Selected cipher suites: group 8 pairwise 8 key_mgmt 2 proto 2
WPA: clearing AP WPA IE
WPA: clearing AP RSN IE
WPA: using GTK TKIP
WPA: using PTK TKIP
WPA: using KEY_MGMT WPA-PSK
WPA: Set own WPA IE default - hexdump(len=22): 30 14 01 00 00 0f ac 02 01 00 00 0f ac 02 01 00 00 0f ac 02 00 00
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
State: SCANNING -> ASSOCIATING
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
wpa_driver_wext_associate
Setting authentication timeout: 60 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: External notification - EAP success=0
EAPOL: External notification - EAP fail=0
EAPOL: External notification - portControl=Auto
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=22
CTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING - signal 2 received
Removing interface eth1
State: ASSOCIATING -> DISCONNECTED
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
Cancelling scan request
Cancelling authentication timeout
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=0, operstate=6


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#36 Post by tempestuous »

Well it may be worth trying Puppy4.1alpha3 since the wifi drivers are very different to those in Puppy4.0, and anything you learn in Puppy4.0 may have to be "re-learned" in Puppy 4.1.

Otherwise your procedure looks correct.
First I would disable encryption at the wifi router and check that a wifi connection can be made in this unencrypted state.
If OK, now I would load all encryption-related modules before running the wpa_supplicant command -

Code: Select all

modprobe ieee80211_crypt_ccmp
modprobe ieee80211_crypt_tkip
modprobe arc4
modprobe ecb
modprobe aes
modprobe crc32c
modprobe michael_mic
Note, these modules are relevant to Puppy4.0, not Puppy4.1.

AceVentura
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 04:35
Location: Mumbai - City of Dreams

WiFi on Sony VAIO CR 23 G using Billion Bipac 5200 router

#37 Post by AceVentura »

Hello,

I seem to have moved further than yesterday.
Now I am able to see via iwconfig that my router is being associated with the adapter. However I still cannot ping either the router or ny other machines in network.
The router has firewall ability which has been disabled.

eth1 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:04:ED:78:16:46
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power:15 dBm
Retry limit:15 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Security mode:open
Power Management:off
Link Quality=91/100 Signal level=-40 dBm Noise level=-41 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:7534 Missed beacon:0


I am confused about twothings highlighted above.
1. Mode being open
I would assume that since I am using WPA , the mode should be restricted. Any idea where it can be changed to restricted.

2.Invalid misc messages
Other that this nothing else is being populated, which means all messages are being declared invalid. Can you point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

AceVentura
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 04:35
Location: Mumbai - City of Dreams

WiFi on Sony VAIO CR 23 G using Billion Bipac 5200 router

#38 Post by AceVentura »

Its done atlast.

The problem was with the routing table.
It was defining a default gateway which was something other than my own router.
I just edited it with route and bingo, t was working.

Thanks for all the help.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#39 Post by tempestuous »

AceVentura wrote:I seem to have moved further than yesterday.
You haven't explicitly said so, but it appears that your wpa_supplicant command now runs successfully? If so, was it the additional modules that helped?
AceVentura wrote:Now I am able to see via iwconfig that my router is being associated with the adapter.
iwconfig does not understand WPA encryption, so what it reports about your WPA-encrypted wifi connection is likely to be somewhat erroneous.
AceVentura wrote:I would assume that since I am using WPA , the mode should be restricted.
I think that "open" and "restricted" modes are relevant only to WEP encryption. Also the meaning of open/restricted can vary depending on the wifi device and driver.
AceVentura wrote:I just edited it with route and bingo, it was working.
Routing and IP assignment are the last stage of network configuration. If you can successfully run route, then a wifi connection must already be up and running.

AceVentura
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 04:35
Location: Mumbai - City of Dreams

#40 Post by AceVentura »

yep, everything is working now as expected.
I had to do a bit of digging around to get it working, but finally I did it.

Wireless is orking with WPA flawlesly, no issues at all.
Thanks once again !

Post Reply