Want to boot to rdesktop login screen to remote server

Using applications, configuring, problems
Post Reply
Message
Author
maje
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 16:40

Want to boot to rdesktop login screen to remote server

#1 Post by maje »

Hi!
I want to start remote desktop client automaticaly with the the ip to my server so the loginscreen comes up when I start puppy. I have puppy installed on my Hdd. How do I do this the easyest way? Please help a noob!

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#2 Post by MU »

You could edit /root/.xinitrc

Add a command as the second line, after "#!/bin/sh"

rdesktop -option &

It is important to add the "&" in the end.
This will have the effect, that rdesktop does not block the following commands, that launch the desktop.

Remember that you have the "mp" texteditor for the commandline, in case anything should go wrong...

For the -options, type "rdesktop --help" in a console.

Mark
Last edited by MU on Thu 03 Nov 2005, 17:05, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#3 Post by MU »

If you need your own IP, you could get it like this:

rdesktop `ifconfig |grep "P-t-P"| sed "s/^.*addr://" | sed "s/\w.*//"`

This would start rdesktop with your IP.
But I get an error there, so it seems rdesktop needs another parameter.
Try it out in a console, before you edit .xinitrc

I have no experience with rdesktop.

Mark

maje
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 16:40

#4 Post by maje »

Thanks it works. My only problem now is that when rdesktop autostart the puppy taskbar(tray) is visable and I don

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#5 Post by MU »

You can start rdesktop after the desktop:

sleep 3 && rdesktop -option &

So here a pause (3 seconds) is started.
Meanwhile the rest of the script continues, as this pause runs as a background-process.

So your desktop should start, and after 3 seconds rdesktop.
Mabe you need 5 seconds, depends on your computer.
That should solve the taskbar-problem.

There also is another possibility.
If you want to run ONLY rdesktop, you can use rdesktop as the Desktop!
So NO jwm.

In this case, in .xinitrc ,replace "exec $CURRENTWM" with "exec rdesktop -options"


If this both does not help, you might need another Desktop like icewm.
It can be configured to show no taskbar (if you want that, I might help you).

The xkill (bomb) you mentioned was part of the fvwm95-Desktop, that you can install with pupget. But I am not shure if xkill still is included. I could upload that.

Mark

GuestToo
Puppy Master
Posts: 4083
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 18:11

#6 Post by GuestToo »

ifconfig will show your local ip address if you are behind a router
you can get your external ip address from a web page like this:
http://ipid.shat.net/iponly/

Guest

#7 Post by Guest »

Thank you very much for your splended help. It works fine with the first alternative. I have no problem with the IP. :D

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#8 Post by MU »

fine :D

Post Reply