Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 18:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
3.1 & 4.0 universal installer won't work
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 05:34    Post_subject:  3.1 & 4.0 universal installer won't work
Sub_title: no harddisk found
 

Hey,

I' ve installed Puppy 2.x a long time ago on my older PC.

I've problems to install further programs like Firefox, the package manager starts okay, I choose Firefox and then the manager tries to download the package and ends up with an error.

Anyway, I get 3.1 and 4.0 and burn them on CD's. If I want to install them with the universal installer, I choose IDE (ATA) internal hard drive and the installer finds a <hde ibm-djna-351520>. I click okay but then the installer finds no partitions on the drive. Gparted only finds the flopyy disk, pmount only the floppy and two CD-Roms - but no harddisk.

There is an IBM harddisk and with three partitions, two with Windows 98 and one with puppy 2.x on it (which runs fine, but only with Dillo browsing through the internet is not so much fun).

Any help with the harddisk or hints about havon problems to install further programms with 2.x?

Greets,
Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 05:47    Post_subject:  

Hi Joe,

which version pup2x?

Code:
cat /etc/puppyversion


You say you tried installing firefox, but it gave an error, but you don't say what the error was.

Doesn't your puppy version have seamonkey?

Regarding the hard disk, how are the partitions formatted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 05:57    Post_subject:  

can you type in Puppy 2:
probepart
and paste the result here?
And in Puppy 3 or 4, too?
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 06:06    Post_subject: Puppy version  

I have 2.01, I have only dillo on it.

I got the message:
You have chosen to install these packages in Puppy:
"firefox-1.0pr"

Please connect to the Internet then press a button to choose download site.
If you click on "Local" button, the packages must already be downloaded,
that is, somewhere local.

I choose a dowload source, the connection was build up and the I got the error:

FAILURE: firefox-1.0pr.tar.gz was not downloaded successfully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 06:08    Post_subject:  

/dev/hde1|vfat|2048193|Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hde2|none|27985104|Win98 Extended (LBA)
/dev/hde5|vfat|16175313|Win95 FAT32
/dev/hde6|ext3|2570337|Linux Ext3FS
/dev/hde7|swap|1048257|Linux Swap
/dev/hde8|ext3|8190945|Linux Ext3FS
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0|RICOH CD-R/RW MP7080A
/dev/hda|iso9660|0|TOSHIBA CD-ROM XM-6602B
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 07:34    Post_subject:  

Joe,

just curious how much RAM you've got? Also, if you boot either the p3.01 CD, or the p4.0 CD, how do they perform on your computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 07:50    Post_subject:  

The PC has 192MB RAM, after starting 3.1 or 4.0 both version are running okay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 07:50    Post_subject:  

That issue is discussed here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28543&start=150
starting with "astros" message.
Short: there are missing some nodes in /dev/

Solution: download:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=10756

Please extract it in /usr/local/bin

Then type in a consolewindow:
addhddrivenodes

Then you have the harddrives, and can save.
BUT if you would reboot now with the installed Puppy 3/4, Puppy still would not work.
Because also initrd.gz must be patched.

Muppy 0083f (just uploaded) already includes the nodes.

For other Puppys, you must patch initrd.gz on your own.
Code:
#!/bin/bash


gunzip initrd.gz

mkdir puppy-init
cd puppy-init
cat ../initrd | cpio -d -i

leafpad init

find . | cpio -o -H newc | gzip -9 > ../initrd.gz

cd ..
rm -rf puppy-init
rm -f initrd


Save that as /root/init/editinit
Also copy initrd.gz to /root/init/

Then type in a consolewindow:
cd /root/init/
bash editinit


After a moment, leafpad opens.
DO NOT CLOSE IT yet!

now copy
/dev/hde
/dev/hde1
/dev/hde2
/dev/hde3
/dev/hde4
/dev/hde5
/dev/hde6
/dev/hde7
/dev/hde8
/dev/hde9
/dev/hde10
to /root/init/puppy-init/dev/

Also the "hdf" nodes.


THEN close leafpad.
After some seconds, editinit finishes, and you have the modified initrd.gz.
Move that one, to where you installed Puppy, overwriting the existing one.

I think it should work with Puppy 3 and 4.
I just did it with Muppy, that is based on Puppy 3.


added this issue as bugreport:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31304

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 22:34    Post_subject: primary IDE port  

Caution: newbie question:

Will it be easier to plug the hard disk cable into the primary IDE port? (since it appears that Louis has more than 2 IDE ports in the PC)

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2008, 22:47    Post_subject: Re: primary IDE port  

raffy wrote:
Caution: newbie question:

Will it be easier to plug the hard disk cable into the primary IDE port? (since it appears that Louis has more than 2 IDE ports in the PC)


For me it would be more straightforward. I think it would also set
things up so I wouldn't keep running into the problem.

On the other hand I build my own box, and among other things I
have a big enough tower to work with.

On the other hand I've seen boxes so tiny you have to remove
other components just to get hands on the hard drive.

Suffice it to say, the answers to this question are in, with two
different routes to take.

Nothing more for me to add.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 17:13    Post_subject:  

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31304

Very strange discussion from my point of view, I do not understand anything Wink

Quote:
Will it be easier to plug the hard disk cable into the primary IDE port? (since it appears that Louis has more than 2 IDE ports in the PC)

Will it be easier Question I don't know, I'm happy if I successfully plug in a new soundcard in my computer Embarassed

For me it is enough, if someone can give me a webbrowser package for my puppy 2.01, Seamonkey, Firefox, Opera.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 23:13    Post_subject:  

Louis,

It shouldn't be too hard to get a version of firefox, seamonkey, or opera, to work with your p2.01. But have you thought of trying a more recent version from the 2.x series, which will already have the browser installed? Maybe you could try Dougal & Pakt's 2.14retro?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 06:28    Post_subject:  

Well, I tried Puppy Linux 2.17.1 "Dancer", same problem there with the harddisk.

I can try the solution from MU, although it looks complicated.

Where do I get 2.14 retro and can it handle with my harddisk problem?



Quote:
It shouldn't be too hard to get a version of firefox, seamonkey, or opera, to work with your p2.01


Any more hints?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Louis115

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2009, 16:29    Post_subject:    

Hey MU,

now I have tried your solution with a puppy 4.1.2 installation. It works fine except the point, that I have done a full hd install, so after that I do not have a initrd.gz there.

During the procedure while leafpad is open I just saved the temporarily files
hde, hde1, ..., hde10 to /dev.

After that I have done the full hd install and everything works fine after restart Very Happy

Thank you,
Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0790s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]