Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 07:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Wireless can't get online: ipw2200
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
kwhitefoot


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue 01 Nov 2005, 19:03    Post_subject:  Wireless can't get online: ipw2200  

I have problem with wireless. Connection to the access point seems to work but I still can't see the outside world.

I downloaded ipw2200-1.0.1.tar.gz, followed the instructions in ipw2200_README.txt and got the following results:

# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"TJL-less"
Mode:Managed Channel:1 Access Point: 00:09:5B:23:5F:72
Bit Rate=11Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:XXXX-XXXX-XX Security mode:open
Power Management:off
Link Quality:70/100 Signal level:-58 dBm Noise level:-84 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:1 Missed beacon:0

# ifconfig
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:35:BD:62:5F
inet addr:192.168.0.9 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:228 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:14667 (14.3 kiB) TX bytes:3082 (3.0 kiB)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0x1000 Memory:c0210000-c0210fff

So it looks like it works. Now if I ping the router I get this:

# ping 192.168.0.1
PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: Operation not permitted

If I ping my own host address it works (of course):

# ping 192.168.0.9
PING 192.168.0.9 (192.168.0.9): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.0.9: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.0 ms

So as far as I can see the connection to the access point is alive, dhcp worked but I still can't access the outside world. What am I missing. I suspect some trivial piece of network setup; but what is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 00:13    Post_subject: ipw2200  

Well, you are definitely sending and receiving data. Looks as though it might be a security problem. Presumably your router is using WEP security.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kwhitefoot


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 09:51    Post_subject: Uninstalled firewall, got a little further.  

I uninstalled the firewall and now I don't get the Operation not permitted error. And I can ping the access point.

That's the good news. Unfortunately nothing else works. But it seems to be a name lookup problem. I forgot to try browsing to a web page by IP address; if I can browse a web site by IP address then, presumably, it is *just* name resolution that isn't working. So I'll try that when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 18:06    Post_subject: Uninstalled firewall, got a little further.  

Presumably you get your IP address from the access pont by issuing the dhcpcd command. In those circumstances, usually the router will act as a name server.
You could try editing /etc/resolv.conf to check if there are nameserver entries there. Try adding the DNS addresses provided by your ISP if name resolution still does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kwhitefoot


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 14:39    Post_subject: Success  

Now I have a recipe.

I run the commands from the readme and then use the Ethernet/Network Wizard. I choose the interface created by the previous commands and then click the Auto_DHCP button. After a short delay it comes back green saying successful. If you can read this it definitely works because I'm using it now. So what is behind the Auto_DHCP button? Are the wizards scripts or compiled programs?

Now I'll see if I can create a script to do the same thing. What I don't understand is why WAG didn't work; perhaps it was finger trouble, I'll try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 17:44    Post_subject:  

If you want to start the wireless when you boot into puppy, add those commands to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file.

They will get executed at bootup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 20:00    Post_subject:  

The DHCP command I suggested in the ipw2200 README was -
dhcpcd -t 20 -h puppypc -d eth0

I, too, would be interested to know how WAG differs in this respect. Perhaps just a longer timeout value?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kwhitefoot


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 12:36    Post_subject: The light dawns  

Discovered why running the Ethernet Wizard helped. At least I think this is what happens: the wizard kills the dhcpcd process and also deletes the dhcpcdxxx.pid file the it starts the demon again. Perhaps this isn't exactly what happens but the effect is the same.

So, running the code as found in the readme works perfectly so long as dhcpcd-eth1.pid (name depends on the name of the network interface) is deleted first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0594s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]