Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 03:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Hurt Me Plenty 01
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2008, 12:51    Post subject:  

KF6SNJ wrote:
Would it be possible to run this straight from the CD and simply save system settings in an sfs file?

If you mean ".2fs", then yes. That's how I've been running it, along with the squashfiles (mygame, etc.) copied to the HD so that I can remove the CD.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shadow


Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Louisiana, United States

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 16:27    Post subject: hi  

I have downloaded the iso file and i burned it to cd
then when i tried to boot it said boot failed press a key to try again
i wasted 3 blank cds so far
What is the problem?
I use nero burner and all other iso files work except this one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 17:24    Post subject:  

Can you boot from any other puppy derivatives? If so, try booting into puppy and using burniso2cd. That is burner I used. It worked perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
shadow


Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Louisiana, United States

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 17:59    Post subject: hi  

idk what derivates are or what your talkin bout
i know i have puppy linux4.0 , ubuntu, xubuntu, DSL, Slax, bluedog all on cds
they burned fine from iso file to cd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 18:40    Post subject:  

That helps plenty. You have Puppy 4.0 Dingo. Use the burniso2cd program on it under multimedia to burn a copy of Hurt Me Plenty and it should work perfectly. As I have stated before, that is what I use. I even used it to burn my PCLinuxOS and OS2 Warp discs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
shadow


Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Louisiana, United States

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 18:45    Post subject: hi  

yea but i just noticed that the file size is 708mb and my cd is 700mb
i also dont have a dvd burner to burn to dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 19:02    Post subject: Re: hi  

shadow wrote:
yea but i just noticed that the file size is 708mb and my cd is 700mb
i also dont have a dvd burner to burn to dvd

Actually it is 708,112 kilobytes. There are 1024 kilobytes in a megabyte (computers work with powers of 2, not 10). 708,112/1024=~692 megabytes. Therefore it will fit on your CD.

Nero is a very powerful program, but it is often more complicated than is necessary for simple tasks. In this case, it is likely that it did not make the disc bootable. The image is bootable by default, but Nero can (and often does) override that if you don't have the burn settings just right.

As KF6SNJ said, the easiest thing is to boot Puppy 4.00 and use Burniso2cd.

Good luck.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
brymway

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 00:20    Post subject:  

I was wanting to get this working but I haven't yet. I read somewhere that it's based on an alpha release, so does that mean it's not idiot proof yet. If not, then there probably no hope for me yet.

I downloaded the iso, md5sum checked ok. Burned the iso, booted it, saved the file, then booted it up again like the intro said. I chose xvesa, tried to click on one of the doom quake games only to find that the keyboard is not accurate. I chose the USA version during setup. Also even clicking on doom 1 and any of the quakes that I don't have to type anything, it never loads any of the games.

These are the glitches I've run into. Don't know if you've heard any of this before or if you're still developing the release. Just thought I'd mention it.

By the way, the distro "looks" killer! Very sleek. I'm looking forward to this distro as I do enjoy those games you've built around.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 00:23    Post subject:  

you must choose xorg, not xvesa.
xvesa has no hardware accelleration, required by the games.
xvesa is just a fallback, if xorg does not work. But you miss some features then, like 3D.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
brymway

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 22:38    Post subject:  

Amazing what Xorg will do. It works fine now, thanks Mark. Still have a problem with the keyboard but I thought I saw another post relating to it. I'll check it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jukingeo

Joined: 20 Jul 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 09:59    Post subject:  

I own both full versions of Doom and Quake II. Is it possible to configure them into a build of Hurt Me Plenty so I have access to ALL the levels and not just the shareware levels?

Outside of first person shooter games, could this version of Puppy also do games like Neverwinter Nights?

Thanx,

Geo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 10:33    Post subject:  

to play the full versions, you must replace the shareware gamefiles with the full versions.
To avoid to waste space in your msy_save.2fs, you should delete them, and then create symlinks to the existing ones somewhere on your drives.

Doom:
delete
/usr/local/wads/doom1.wad

Create a symlink to your full-version .wad.

If it is located on /mnt/sda2/doom/doom1.wad, then type:

cd /usr/local/wads/
rm doom1.wad
ln -s /mnt/sda2/doom/doom1.wad doom1.wad


The same with doom2.wad for doom2.

---------------
Quake2:

cd /usr/local/quake2files/baseq2
rm pak0.pak
ln -s /mnt/sda2/quake2/baseq2/pak0.pak pak0.pak


---------------
explanation:
cd changes the current directory.
rm (RM in small letters) deletes a file.
ln (LN in small letters) creates a symbolic link to a file.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 10:44    Post subject:  

concerning other games:

it includes:
-dri drivers
-openGL
-libSDL

These are the basic requirements for all huge games.
Some might need more.
Some games depend on "libboost".
The easiest might be, to use dotpups/pets posted in the forum.

They usually include required additional libraries.
Just do not install the 3 mentioned above again.

If there is no dotpup, try the installer provided by the game.
Often you must type something like:

cd /where_you_downloaded
bash run_installer.sh


For example:
cd /mnt/sda2/games/panzer
bash install_panzer.sh


It then will tell you, if something misses.
You could post these messages then, so that we have a look.

Other games must just be extracted, if they come as .tar.gz.
If I remember well, this is the case with nexuiz.

So you would type something like:

cd /mnt/sda2/games/nexuiz
tar -xzvf nexuiz-2.0.tar.gz
cd nexuiz-2.0
./nexuiz-glx


These are just examples from my memory, of course you must use valid file/foldernames.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jukingeo

Joined: 20 Jul 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 11:09    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
to play the full versions, you must replace the shareware gamefiles with the full versions.
To avoid to waste space in your msy_save.2fs, you should delete them, and then create symlinks to the existing ones somewhere on your drives.

Doom:
delete
/usr/local/wads/doom1.wad

Create a symlink to your full-version .wad.

If it is located on /mnt/sda2/doom/doom1.wad, then type:

cd /usr/local/wads/
rm doom1.wad
ln -s /mnt/sda2/doom/doom1.wad doom1.wad


The same with doom2.wad for doom2.

---------------
Quake2:

cd /usr/local/quake2files/baseq2
rm pak0.pak
ln -s /mnt/sda2/quake2/baseq2/pak0.pak pak0.pak


---------------
explanation:
cd changes the current directory.
rm (RM in small letters) deletes a file.
ln (LN in small letters) creates a symbolic link to a file.

Mark


Ok, I understand the first part and I recognize the files you mentioned, but what's a symlink and what does it do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 19:08    Post subject:  

a symlink is a reference to a file, that is physically stored somewhere else.

For example:
your savefile has just 50 Mb of free space left.
But pak0.pak is 170 MB.
So you cannot copy it in your savefile.
But you have it located already on your Windows C-drive, because you played Quake2 in Windows before.
Now by creating the symlink, then Puppys Quake will use the pak0.pak on your Windows-drive.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0892s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0222s) ][ GZIP on ]