Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 21:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
1.0.6 to hd problem: won't install GRUB
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2005, 14:20    Post subject:  1.0.6 to hd problem: won't install GRUB  

Tried to put Puppy 1.0.6 to hard drive. Everything went fine until Grub was to install itself on the MBR. It seemed to go out to do the install, but never came back and did not effect the MBR. Nothing serious happened and Puppy continued to work fine from the cd boot, but Grub was never installed on the MBR. Tried this process several times with same result.
Is this a bug or just a problem I have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 17:08    Post subject:  

Has anyone done a hd install of 1.0.6 with grub on the mbr?
Any problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2005, 18:07    Post subject:  

EarlSmith wrote:
Has anyone done a hd install of 1.0.6 with grub on the mbr?
Any problems?


I always installed to mbr, no problems.
...only did it a couple of versions back though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
brad_chuck

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Appalachian Mountains

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 00:28    Post subject: This could help?  

I think this is a bug but I don't know?

Anyway this is how I work around it..

When I install GRUB on my computer it tells me that it is installing to the MBR of hda but it really installs to hdb. This causes GRUB to fail.

What I do it when it asks if there are any other hard drives to install and tells me that it is already installed in /dev/hda I go ahead at tell it /dev/hda anyway and it fixes the problem.

Hope this helped?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0458s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]