Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 10:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge » Multi-session live-CD/DVD
Device is full message when trying to install a program....
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
teecee

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2005, 20:59    Post subject:  Device is full message when trying to install a program....  

hi, i have the multi session cd in and installed a couple of programs, i downloaded limewire and it told me i need the latest JRE from sun, i went to that website, and attempted to download it, but no matter where i try to save it, im getting the error message that the ´device is full please pick another location...´

is that due to something on the multisession cd? what device are we referring to here?

im running win xp on a 40 gig hd laptop....thanx...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2005, 22:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
what device are we referring to here?

i don't know ... where are you trying to download it to? ... the jre installer is about 16 megs, if i remember right ... when installed, the Java re is about 84 megs ... i think if you are running a multi-session cd, absolutely everything is in ram ... and large files will be moved to an archive folder on the cd, and the java runtime file is maybe 60 megs, so it will not work unless you mount the cd and copy or symlink to it

it will work ok if you download to your 40 gig drive and install on your 40 gig drive ... but it will not be on your cd ... you could tar it and save it to the cd, and untar it if you run the cd on another machine ... but this is not done automatically
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2005, 23:06    Post subject:  

I'm not certain of this but I think multisession Puppy uses swap memory if it finds it on a hard drive when it boots. If no swap memory is available, which should be your case since if I understand correctly you have only XP on your computer, then Puppy can operate only in RAM. How much RAM have you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
teecee

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2005, 23:57    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I'm not certain of this but I think multisession Puppy uses swap memory if it finds it on a hard drive when it boots. If no swap memory is available, which should be your case since if I understand correctly you have only XP on your computer, then Puppy can operate only in RAM. How much RAM have you?


i have 256 megs of ram....and now, another issue has surfaced....at one point after booting up the multi session, i was working on some different programs.....the pup froze up, completely, couldnt open the cd drive, couldnt ctrl alt del, the mouse froze....i let it sit a bit, but no response, i had to just power down my laptop....

NOW, When i try to boot normally, just to get to my normal windows, it errors out and tells me to put in whatever media i use to boot with and press any key.....

i rebooted again, and pressed the delete key to get to the bios setup and it is telling me that it cant detect the primary master IDE drive...i reboot again, get the same error, i insert the puppy ms cd and it brings me up to puppy, loads normal stuff into the ram, so it is using the c drive, but when i try to check disks, to mount them, it only shows the cd drive, no main hd.....

so, any ideas what happened???

thanx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2005, 00:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
i insert the puppy ms cd and it brings me up to puppy, loads normal stuff into the ram, so it is using the c drive

if you are running a multi-session Puppy, it should not be touching the hard drive at all, unless you explicitly mount it ... the stuff it's loading into ram is from the cd (that's the whole point of multi-session Puppy)

it sounds like it might be a hardware problem ... maybe the ide controller on the mother-board, or maybe the hard drive

your other problem was simply that you did not have enough ram to do what you wanted to do
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2005, 00:52    Post subject:  

It sounds like some sort of hardware failure. If that's what it turns out to be, you'd certainly be forgiven for suspecting Puppy caused it. Anything is possible, but it was most likely a random failure that occurred while you happened to be running multisession Puppy. I can't remember anyone else reporting anything like what happened to you. Do you know what motherboard and chipset is in your computer?

The Ultimate Boot CD is free to download. It has utilities for testing hard drives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge » Multi-session live-CD/DVD
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0581s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]