Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 04:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Conky 1.7.1.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 04 Aug 2008, 23:20    Post subject:  

Updated conky to work in puppy 4 (Dingo).
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 14:23    Post subject:  

Conky updated to 1.6.1
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 15:09    Post subject:  

Is there a possibility to position conky elsewhere?
I use gnome with a top bar and it covers conky. (1.61)

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 15:14    Post subject:  

Yep. You can tell it which corner to use. Additionally, you can give it x and y offsets, to account for taskbars and what-not.

The file to edit is /root/.conkyrc.

With this particular package, the lines you're interested in are #70 - #78, which look like this:
Code:
# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 12
gap_y 12


Lots of other stuff in there that you can play with.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 15:36    Post subject:  

Thank you Pizzasgood.
Changing the gap values did the trick.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aoiyamoto

Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2008, 01:31    Post subject:  

This is an awesome program. One thing is that when I'm in compiz-fusion it disapears if I click on the wallpaper desktop area. Also, it disapears if I type emerald --replace into the terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aussierod

Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 08 Oct 2008, 06:40    Post subject:  

Hi all, first post here, hopefully with some helpful tips for those that want to use transparency with Conky 1.6.1 in Puppy 4.0

I have a fresh Puppy 4.0 running on my small born again IBM 600E laptop with Conky 1.6.1 (My big 'puter runs Fedora 9)

I followed the instruction in post one, adding the two extra pets "libxcb and libidn" (I have qiv-2.0 in as well and haven't tried this below without it)

When installing Conky 1.6.1 an instruction file opens telling us to add two lines into /root/.xinitrc

Quote:
xli -fillscreen -onroot /root/Choices/ROX-background.jpg
conky -d


The trouble is, there is no "ROX-background.jpg" installed into that location while installing Conky 1.6.1

So I grabbed a second copy of my background pic and renamed it from nwosucks.jpg to "ROX-background.jpg", then adding it into the..

/root/Choices/

Reboot, then hey presto, zero blinking and clear transparency.

Below is my conky config geared towards wifi use (WG511 v2 card)
Razz

- - - - - - -

# torsmo configuration
# set to yes if you want tormo to be forked in the background
background yes
# X font used, you can pick one with program xfontsel
# font 5x7
# font 6x10
font 7x13
# font 8x13
# font 9x15
# font fixed
# font *mintsmild.se*
# font -*-*-*-*-*-*-34-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
# mail spool
# mail_spool $MAIL
# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
# If own_window is yes, you may use type normal, desktop or override
own_window_type desktop
# If own_window is yes, these window manager hints may be used
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
# Use pseudo transparency with own_window?
own_window_transparent yes
# If own_window_transparent is set to no, you can set the background colour here
own_window_colour hotpink
# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes
# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0
# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 1.0
# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 160 5
# Draw shades?
draw_shades no
# Draw outlines?
draw_outline no
# Draw borders around text
draw_borders no
# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 1
# border margins
border_margin 4
# border width
border_width 1
# Default colors and also border colors
default_color white
default_shade_color blue
default_outline_color red
# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right
# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 12
gap_y 12
# Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes
# set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
uppercase no
# Add spaces to keep things from moving about? This only affects certain objects.
use_spacer yes
# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen

TEXT
${color white}[${color #00ff00}PuppyLinux 4.0${color white}][${color red}$nodename${color white}] -
${color #888888}$sysname $kernel ${color #CCCCCC}on ${color #888888}$machine
${color #888888}Uptime: $uptime
${color #888888}${time %b/%a/%d} ${color #00ff00}${time %k:%M:%S}
${color white}${hr 2}
${color #ffccaa}Monitors:
${color #888888}cpu: ${color #CCCCCC}${cpu}%
${color #888888}${cpugraph 25 ff0000 ff00ff}
${color #888888}ram : ${color #CCCCCC}$mem${color #888888}/${color #CCCCCC}$memmax ${color #888888}- ${color #CCCCCC}$memperc%
${color #888888}swap: ${color #CCCCCC}$swap${color #888888}/${color #CCCCCC}$swapmax ${color #888888} - ${color #CCCCCC}$swapperc%
${color #888888}load: ( ${color #CCCCCC}$loadavg ${color #888888})
${color #888888}procesos: ${color #CCCCCC}$processes ${color #888888}running: ${color #CCCCCC}$running_processes

${color #ffccaa}Network:${color #BBBBBB} wlan0
${color #888888}IP: ${color #CCCCCC} ${addr wlan0} ${color #888888}wifi signal: ${color #CCCCCC} ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}
${color #888888}DOWN: ${color #CCCCCC}${downspeed wlan0} k/s ${color #888888}UP: ${color #CCCCCC}${upspeed wlan0} k/s
${color #888888}${downspeedgraph wlan0 25,100 ff0000 0000ff} ${color #888888}${upspeedgraph wlan0 25,100 0000ff ff0000}
${color #888888}TOTAL: ${color #CCCCCC}${totaldown wlan0} ${color #888888}TOTAL: ${color #CCCCCC}${totalup wlan0}

${color #ffccaa}Free Space:
${color #888888}root : ${color #CCCCCC}${fs_used /}${color #888888}/${color #CCCCCC}${fs_size /} ${color #888888}(${color #CCCCCC}${fs_free /} ${fs_free_perc /}% ${color #888888} free)
${fs_bar /}
${color #888888}hda3 : ${color #CCCCCC}${fs_used /mnt/hda3}${color #888888}/${color #CCCCCC}${fs_size /mnt/hda3} ${color #888888}(${color #CCCCCC}${fs_free /mnt/hda3} ${fs_free_perc /mnt/hda3}% ${color #888888} free)
${fs_bar /mnt/hda3}

${color #ffccaa}Running Processes:
${color #CCCCCC}Name PID CPU% MEM%
${color #ddaa00} ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color #888888} ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color #888888} ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color #888888} ${top name 4} ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}
${color #888888} ${top name 5} ${top pid 5} ${top cpu 5} ${top mem 5}
${color #888888} ${top name 6} ${top pid 6} ${top cpu 6} ${top mem 6}
${color #888888} ${top name 7} ${top pid 7} ${top cpu 7} ${top mem 7}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 488
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 01:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
So I grabbed a second copy of my background pic and renamed it from nwosucks.jpg to "ROX-background.jpg", then adding it into the..

/root/Choices/

Reboot, then hey presto, zero blinking and clear transparency.



aussierod - superior!! Very Happy I just wish i saw that two hours ago when i first started trying to install Conky... Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aussierod

Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 20:52    Post subject:  

Good stuff, Subito Piano

Update, I removed qiv-2.0 and it still works fine.

Thanks to Barry and all those for making PuppyLinux..

woofwoof Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gambero


Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Bologna, Italy

PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct 2008, 01:59    Post subject: thanks  

aussierod, thanks

I'm writing from a Puppy 4.1, full installation.
I followed your suggestions in these steps:

installed a clean Puppy 4.1, after Conky 1.6.1 and for last applied your trick about /root/Choices/ROX-background.jpg.
/root/.conkyrc leaved as the default

Now conky works well as expected.

Below you see my desktop attached.

Thanks again
gambero
my-desktop.png
Description  desktop with conky
png

 Download 
Filename  my-desktop.png 
Filesize  320.87 KB 
Downloaded  762 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sideburns

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 56
Location: Freedonia

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 23:30    Post subject:  

I would think that you could substitute any path and any acceptable image and it would work. I haven't tried it yet, but currently I'm using the .bmp that I'd used under Win98. If it has to be a .png, well, I can always use The Gimp on my Fedora desktop to change the format.
_________________
Registered Linux user #470359
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 488
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Sun 12 Oct 2008, 01:53    Post subject:  

I would think so. I tried using a wildcard (*.jpg) -- unfortunately, no go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sideburns

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 56
Location: Freedonia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Oct 2008, 13:06    Post subject:  

I was right. The location and filename used are just an example; you can use anything you want. (It makes sense, BTW; if it had to be a specific name and location, you wouldn't have to put it on the command line.)

However, there's one, small detail left: my background image is a B&W drawing, and Conky doesn't show up too well. Does anybody know where there's a listing of the names of the colors Linux uses, preferably with examples?

_________________
Registered Linux user #470359
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sun 12 Oct 2008, 13:42    Post subject:  

sideburns wrote:
However, there's one, small detail left: my background image is a B&W drawing, and Conky doesn't show up too well.

Another reason to forego the eye candy.

Quote:
Does anybody know where there's a listing of the names of the colors Linux uses, preferably with examples?


Short answer: yes.

Longer answers:

Click Menu > Graphic > gcolor2

Google (or your search engine of choice) is your friend, fgs. To wit, http://www.google.com/search?q=linux+color+codes.

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 12 Oct 2008, 14:10    Post subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
Another reason to forego the eye candy.

dual core
only 235MB available ram
no swap

What a strange beast, did you compile the kernel yourself? How can you sleep wasting all those cpu cycles on reporting the weather in rob's backyard?

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0955s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]